6/30 Purrcee +5.5 55 (fed) +6.25 80 +7 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
I would like to repeat the exact tests as yesterday but it is not possible today. Going to shoot at 8:15. Purrcee seems to feel pretty good and is eating good. Will test right before I leave.

Gonna be 108 today....
Wishing you all a good day!

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98791
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee AMPS 269 +1.75 323 seems high

+1.75 323 seems high even from AMPS?? Unfortunately won't get to test to see if it comes down.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee AMPS 269 +1.75 323 seems high

Hi Julie. The 323 might be a better number than a green number if you aren't going to be around to test. I'm sure PurrCee will come down to nicer numbers asthe day progresses.

What a great thing you and your sister did when you opened your no kill sanctuary for animals. The animals in your area are so fortunate to have you and your sister looking out for them.

Have a great day Julie.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee AMPS 269 +1.75 323 +7 110

Got home in time to test at +7 110. Glad to see it came down. Wonder how low it went but okay for now!

Thanks John for your mention of our sanctuary. Sometimes we wonder what possessed us to do this kind of late in life. We save the ones we can but we are pretty small as organizations go but very proud of how we do things.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 AMPS 269 +1.75 323 +7 110

Wasn't expecting this low of number today...Need your advice on what to do. Thanks.
Julie
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 AMPS 269 +1.75 323 +7 110

Julie,
Go back to your first post and edit the Subject line to put the PMPS 64 at the end instead of the beginning. That'll catch more eyes.

If you haven't fed yet, please stall and I'll see if I can get you some more experienced help.

Carl
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 AMPS 269 +1.75 323 +7 110

Edit the subject line of your original post with the PMPs 64

Someone experienced will answer you!

The 64 is not showing.

I see you took care of that~
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee AMPS 269 +1.75 323 +7 110 PMPS 64

Don't feed.

How about getting another test in 20 - 30 min. Let's see if numbers are coming up or if Purrcee is surfing.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64

I will wait 30 minutes and report back.
20 minutes to go.

Today's values:
AMPS 269
+1.75 323
+7 110

PMPS 64
30 minute stall 62
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 30 min stall 62

OK, Purrcee, make it more confusing....

You've never shot a green number right?
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 30 min stall 62

It looks like Purrcee is surfing. You have a choice. You can continue to stall until you see that numbers are heading up and then shoot. Or, you can shoot now. It looks like Lantus onset for Purrcee is at around +2. If you feed, that will bump numbers up and there will be the time until onset for numbers to rise.

That said, do you have plenty of strips and HC food if you need it? This is Purrcee's lowest pre-shot. I can understand if you're apprehensive. I leaning toward suggesting that you stall a bit longer if your schedule tomorrow can manage a late shot in the AM.

Also, you need to edit the first post in this thread to change where you have the PMPS info listed. It's still in front of your AMPS making it look like it's last night's PMPS. Whenever you update, you need to change the numbers in the first post of the thread. It's the only subject line info that's visible on the board.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 30 min stall 62

I don't have HC food...I thought Science Diet Turkey would do but I think someone said that wasn't very good. I do have Karo. i also have plenty of strips.

I guess I'm too uncomfortable to shoot in green. I will stall another till 8:45 which will be a 2nd stall of 45 minutes. I will be home tomorrow and can start later. So if number starts to rise should I feed first or shoot first or does it matter?

Kind of confused on the subject line. I edited it to the above and took out the AMPS info because no room to fit everything?
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 30 min stall 62

Julie,
Your subject line looks good now. The AMPS info is no longer there.

I guess I'm too uncomfortable to shoot in green. I will stall another till 8:45 which will be a 2nd stall of 45 minutes.

That is totally your call always, Julie. We can work with what makes you feel good about it no matter what.

There's 3 kitties all in the 60s at shot time tonight. Must be contagious. Someone will be here for your next number.

Edit to add: If you need higher carb food, you can mix a few drops of karo with the low carb food to "carb" it up. Just three or four drops per teaspoon of food should be okay.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 30 min stall 62

The subject line is fine now.

I test, feed, then shoot -- Gabby's head is in her food when I shoot. In general, with insulin, you want to know that your cat will eat before you inject. This order is far more important with the shorter acting types of insulin than with Lantus but you still need food to offset the effect of insulin. It's just with Lantus, since onset isn't for an hour or more, you have more time to get food into a kitty.

I'd love to see you shoot above an 80. At some point, you're going to need to start shooting lower numbers. If you're goint to be home tomorrow, tonight sounds like a good opportunity but you need to be comfortable with shooting lower numbers. If 80 seems to low, then how about 100?

ETA: I think you can take the 911 down.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 up to 81

Okay...going up so will feed/shoot. The troops are pretty hungry. I feel bad for Purrcee and his sore ears. So far very lucky with Purrcee wanting to eat when it's time.

Sienna do you think I should automatically shoot if he is above 80 and make that my shoot level now? Is there something I would be doing differently if I shoot above 80?

Got the info on karo with LC food...not sure if Purrcee would eat something that's has a sweetness to it. What would be a good HC food to have on hand? Would you ever give dry food as a HC food?

Sorry for all the questions...
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 up to 81

As far as the dry food goes, no, we usually don't suggest using that as your HC option. It takes too long to digest so it doesn't bring the numbers up quickly. And it also tends to "stick around" too long pushing the numbers up.

Normally, any food with "gravy" in it would be a high-carb canned option. I think FF has a "gravy lovers" menu. All of those are higher carb food. Sometimes just a spoonful of the gravy is enough to push the numbers up.

Sienna do you think I should automatically shoot if he is above 80 and make that my shoot level now? Is there something I would be doing differently if I shoot above 80?

Not necessarily "automatic". You do want to make sure that the number (whether it's 80 or 100 or whatever) is either a "Surfing" number or a "rising" number. You wouldn't want to shoot automatically at 80 if for instance your +11 was a 100, and your PMPS was an 80, because it might still be dropping rather than leveling off. Whenever you aren't sure, you can stall and restest in 30 minutes without feeding to see which way the number is going.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 up to 81

Thanks to all for your help. I guess there is a number where it's okay to shoot without stalling and retesting. I think that's where the 150 comes in...is that correct? I am not able to get tests throughout the day every day so is there an assumption that can be made if the test is 150 or above to proceed?
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 up to 81

I guess there is a number where it's okay to shoot without stalling and retesting. I think that's where the 150 comes in...

The 150 "line in the sand" is what is normally recommended for people at first. After that, it's all about having the data on your spreadsheet to look back on. With that data, each person is able to find a number that is their "level of comfort" number as to if they feel good about shooting or not.

What you will find is that the longer you do this, and the more often you see numbers like 150, 100, or whatever, the easier it will get. You'll feel more confident about giving insulin at lower numbers. It helps to look at the subject headings on the condos sometimes. Pay attention to the AMPS and PMPS numbers that are posted, and take a look at those spreadsheets.

You'll notice that the people who have been giving shots on what you would think are pretty low numbers have been doing this for some time. And you'll see why they are okay with that when you look at their mid-cycle numbers. Often, once you start to see lower preshots, you'll notice that the curves are not so "deep". You might have a pre shot number of 90, and a nadir of 80. The curves will look "flat". But a flat cycle of lower numbers is exactly what you want to see. It means the dose is good, the insulin is working evenly throughout the whole cycle, and in general, the doses are fairly small. That's pretty much the way the insulin is supposed to work over time, and it shows a kitty that is doing very well.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 up to 81

Carl did a great job with your questions -- and no need to apologize for questions. There's so much to absorb and learn and so few instances where the answers are cut and dry.

With Lantus, the idea is to "shoot low to stay low." However, for most of us, we don't wake up one morning an decide that today is the day that I'll start shooting low. Rather, we work our way down to shooting numbers that are above 50. It's a gradual process and one where you gain more and more confidence both in how Purrcee will respond to low numbers and to your using food to steer the numbers. In the beginning, we suggest you use 150 as your "post and ask for help" number. It's really not meant to be a "no shot" number. Rather, it's where we start the process of helping you to get comfortable with shooting low numbers.

In the beginning of the shooting low process, Carl's right -- we try to have you avoid shooting a dropping number. If numbers are heading down at shot time, there can be a fair amount of momentum and then adding more insulin can make for a stressful cycle. Once you and steer the numbers with HC food, it's less of an issue. I don't worry too much about shooting a dropping number with Gabby. I have tons of data and I know how she responds to HC. You'll get there.

I'd suggest taking a look at Cain's SS. He's on an OTJ trial. It will give you a feel for what happens when you start to shoot low
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 up to 81

Thanks Carl! I don't know if I will ever be good at looking at the data and knowing what to do.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 up to 81

Thanks, Sienne, for adding to my efforts to explain.

Julie, please understand that I never used Lantus. My cat, Bob, was on PZI insulin, and only for a relatively short time.

Everything I have learned about Lantus,has come from looking at spreadsheets, asking tons of questions, reading the protocol many times, and being helped with understanding how it works by terrific "tutors" like Sienne, Marje, Libby, Jill, Dyana and countless others.

And yes, you will be able to look at a SS eventually and say "ah-ha! I saw the same thing with Purrcee, and here's what I think is going on..." and you'll be able to help people who haven't even joined the board yet in understanding the process that we call the "sugar dance".
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee PMPS 64 up to 81

Great job tonight Julie. Purrcee is looking wonderful in green. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

When you shoot your lowest number yet, it's always a good idea to get a +1 and a +2 test to see how the cycle is shaping up. There'll be a few of us in your time zone up for a while up if you have any questions.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee +5 55 Feed???

For some reason I missed Wendy's message about +1 +2 but I fell asleep. I was going for a +2 because told I should get one as often as possible.
Now he is pretty low. Close to that 50 mark. If I don't hear from any one in a few minutes will feed to bring him up a bit and retest after that?
Hoping some one is awake! Thanks.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee +5 55 Feed???

Morning Julie

Great numbers for Purcee. Yes, I would feed her some of her LC food. Just a few tsp, and restest in 30. She is probably close to or at nadir, so this is a nice number.

Jane
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee +5 55 Feed???

Thanks Jane. I was torn between waiting 30 min and testing to see if he would go up on his own but I think at +5 it might be risky. I will give him a couple of spoons of LC and retest in 30.
I will take down the 911 after the retest or should I do that now?
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee +5 55 Feed???

Thanks Jane. I was torn between waiting 30 min and testing to see if he would go up on his own but I think at +5 it might be risky. I will give him a couple of spoons of LC and retest in 30.
I will take down the 911 after the retest or should I do that now?
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee +5 55 Feed???

My computer decided to give me problems! Had to reset. Hopefully didn't miss anything.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee +5 55 Feed???

I think you can take it down now. Hopefully the LC food will bring him up a little or he will surf. East coast is waking up now, so you will have more eyes on here to answer any questions that come up. You are doing great.

Jane
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee +5 55 Feed (fed) +6.25 80

I would do another test at +7. He's probably reached nadir and will be slowly (hopefully) coming up, now.
 
Re: 6/30 Purrcee +5 55 Feed (fed) +6.25 80

I'm half asleep. I will change subject line to +5.5 55 ... the rest is correct.
I will try for +7
Thanks.
 
Looks like Purrcee is on the rise at +7 97 so I think I can get some sleep. I think he is pretty tired too.
I would like to get him back on an earlier schedule so could use some advice. Moving him up 15 minutes per 24 cycle ok?

Thanks for all the help!
 
You can move the schedule up 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour once a day.

Very nice cycle for Purrcee. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Most of us have a bunch of cell phone alarms preset for those nights when we have to be up a bit more. Good to see the east coast was up when you needed it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top