Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
First, here is a link to Friday's thread/condo, where I explain why I reduced his dose.
Yesterday, after a week of high and flat numbers, Pumbaa finally came through with some blues late last night. He's had this pattern for over three weeks now...a Friday night of low numbers, followed by a bounce, followed by high flat numbers, followed by a dive on Friday night again. Very, very strange.
It was this pattern that Sheila (of Beau & Jeddie fame) noticed and commented that it could be that Pumbaa is getting too much insulin, instead of too little. This boils down to the chronic rebound/Somogyi Rebound effect.
At the same time, if you look at Pumbaa's SS, he was getting a lot more consistent low numbers when his dose was 2.25U (5/30/12 - 6/9/12). On 6/9/12, consistent with the "start low and go slow" protocol, I reduced him to 2.0U as his nadirs had been under 100.
Here's what I am now seeing in hindsight:
• On 6/14, I should NOT have increased him to a fat 2.0U because he had not cleared his bounce after his 6/13 lows. But, he had had 10 cycles at 2.0U, and the lowest point of his curves was below 90. I should have just let him ride at the 2.0U.
• On 6/16, I should NOT have decreased him to a fat 1.75U just because he dropped below 50 the night before. Mixing "start low and go slow" and TR protocols don't seem to work in Pumbaa's case!
So, I would LOVE some more input on Pumbaa's SS, with the understanding that it appears that he dives and bounces, and takes longer than 6 cycles to settle into a dose. From what I can see, Pumbaa is not overly carb sensitive, and I now have most of the %KCal protein/fat/carbs listed on his SS in the right Foods column.
I just need help figuring out my little guy, and get him to more regular, healthier lower numbers. Part of me agrees with the pattern of Somogyi rebound, but part of me thinks that he needed to go back up to 2.25U and stay there for a while until he really settled in.
Thanking everyone in advance for input. And trust me, I have no problem if you point out my dosing mistakes in the past so I can learn for the future. Pumbaa is very important to me, and I am not doing all of this for any reason other than to regulate Pumbaa, and give him a shot at remission.
Suze
Yesterday, after a week of high and flat numbers, Pumbaa finally came through with some blues late last night. He's had this pattern for over three weeks now...a Friday night of low numbers, followed by a bounce, followed by high flat numbers, followed by a dive on Friday night again. Very, very strange.
It was this pattern that Sheila (of Beau & Jeddie fame) noticed and commented that it could be that Pumbaa is getting too much insulin, instead of too little. This boils down to the chronic rebound/Somogyi Rebound effect.
At the same time, if you look at Pumbaa's SS, he was getting a lot more consistent low numbers when his dose was 2.25U (5/30/12 - 6/9/12). On 6/9/12, consistent with the "start low and go slow" protocol, I reduced him to 2.0U as his nadirs had been under 100.
When Pumbaa took a dive on Friday night 6/15, and I gave a BCS of 1.5U, but he still dropped to 38 at +2, I then decreased his dose (per the TR protocol) just to a fat 1.75U. I only waited 9 cycles before increasing him back up to 2.0U, he took a dive on Friday 6/22, and everything fell apart after that. He went high and didn't come down for a week, until last night...Friday night's dive once again.If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.
Here's what I am now seeing in hindsight:
• On 6/14, I should NOT have increased him to a fat 2.0U because he had not cleared his bounce after his 6/13 lows. But, he had had 10 cycles at 2.0U, and the lowest point of his curves was below 90. I should have just let him ride at the 2.0U.
• On 6/16, I should NOT have decreased him to a fat 1.75U just because he dropped below 50 the night before. Mixing "start low and go slow" and TR protocols don't seem to work in Pumbaa's case!
So, I would LOVE some more input on Pumbaa's SS, with the understanding that it appears that he dives and bounces, and takes longer than 6 cycles to settle into a dose. From what I can see, Pumbaa is not overly carb sensitive, and I now have most of the %KCal protein/fat/carbs listed on his SS in the right Foods column.
I just need help figuring out my little guy, and get him to more regular, healthier lower numbers. Part of me agrees with the pattern of Somogyi rebound, but part of me thinks that he needed to go back up to 2.25U and stay there for a while until he really settled in.
Thanking everyone in advance for input. And trust me, I have no problem if you point out my dosing mistakes in the past so I can learn for the future. Pumbaa is very important to me, and I am not doing all of this for any reason other than to regulate Pumbaa, and give him a shot at remission.
Suze