6/30 Philly AMPS 398 after another reduction

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
Recent

I didn't like reducing again. We didn't have great results at one unit when diagnosed a month ago. I want to shoot for remission, and I'm afraid of being too conservative. Then we have a 47 reading, and I'm ready to do anything to avoid lows.
 
I hear ya...been there.
You want to shoot for tight regulation first since that is what let's his body heal and get used to better numbers. Strong remission is better than fast remission :)
I had to try using different carb leveled foods to slow down those drops to avoid taking back to back reductions with my guy. Though... if they really need a reduction- better to take it and just go back up ASAP.
You may even be able to switch to TR at some point. But overall, too high for a few can be safer than too low....but we certainly don't have to like it.
 
You can pretty much look at our SS.
There were times in January of 2020( better examples in December 2019) where we has semi good regulation. Nice flat blues- under 120....and then my guy would drop under 90- or even 60 at like 3 in the morning on a ' good dose' I take the reduction one cycle and the next cycle he might do it again - since the depot from the previous dose is still in play some. So, I take another reduction and then lose some of those nice blue numbers we had before. A reduction, in my understanding , is to allow those numbers to hold and level out safely....but not to lose momentum towards regulation. That's why it's called a failed reduction.
So, I had to really think about back to back reductions and even adjusted my reduction amount in January to stay in a safe range but not lose regulation and go back into the pinks.

But then he got possible pancreatitis/ gastroenteritis and we fell out of it anyway. Cats :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
I hear ya...been there.
You want to shoot for tight regulation first since that is what let's his body heal and get used to better numbers. Strong remission is better than fast remission :)
I had to try using different carb leveled foods to slow down those drops to avoid taking back to back reductions with my guy. Though... if they really need a reduction- better to take it and just go back up ASAP.
You may even be able to switch to TR at some point. But overall, too high for a few can be safer than too low....but we certainly don't have to like it.
It's crazy. I was able to do tight regulation with a different cat a couple years ago, but he had pancreatic cancer and I lost him. Philly has yet to eat even half a can of wet food in a 24-hour period. I keep trying...another $60 in special cans this week. He reminds me of a meat and potatoes good old boy.
 
It's crazy. I was able to do tight regulation with a different cat a couple years ago, but he had pancreatic cancer and I lost him. Philly has yet to eat even half a can of wet food in a 24-hour period. I keep trying...another $60 in special cans this week. He reminds me of a meat and potatoes good old boy.

We started with just a teaspoon at a time of some MC food ( 14-15%) and just made adjustments. I had to heat the food at first- some people crushed freeze dried or dry treats over top of the food but there are definitely just some pretty resistant cats.
Hopefully it gets a bit easier for your boy to find something he likes or will tolerate at least.
 
Back
Top