6/30 Nikki PMPS 332; +4 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Relaxed Condo

Hi! I've been posting over in Relaxed but after getting some advice from Marje we're moving in here! :-D I've been a bit all over the place with Nikki's treatment and I think I want to figure out a better plan for her. She started on 1u of Lantus on 4/26/13 and I began regularly home testing on 5/29/13. There's lots of info in her profile, but long story short, she was on Hill's z/d at the time of her Dx for undiagnosed gastrointestinal issues. I was hesitant to change it as it was keeping the diarrhea (mostly) at bay so we were fighting an uphill battle against the carb load. After her first fructosamine, her vet recommended going from one to 2u BID, which I was uncomfortable with. I stepped her up over about a week, and found that her poo started to become normal for pretty much the first time since I've had her. It still seems miraculous.

At that point I decided to switch her over to a lower carb food and we tried a sample of dehydrated raw food. She didn't seem to have any issues, so we started a food change and completed it on 6/21. According to Dr Lisa's list, her old food was 34% carbs :o and her new is 10% carbs. At some point I may try and get her on a lower carb frozen raw diet.

After the food switch I dropped her insulin to 1u figuring it was better to be safe than sorry. That didn't seem to do much for her, so we're at 1.25u now. Marje suggested that I start posting here to benefit from the fabulous experience so many members have. One of my goals is to figure out if we can follow TR, even though I'm not home during the week.

I look forward to getting to know everyone and your sugarbabies! :-D
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298 - New(ish) Member

Good Morning, Alexis and Nikki :-D
That's great you got the food change over with. I would love to get my cats on raw.
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298 - New(ish) Member

The dehydrated raw seemed to go over well. It's on the pricey side, but so was the prescription food, so I think I'm spending about the same monthly. I'm not sure how she'll feel about actual raw food if I do try the frozen raw, but I'm lucky in that she's never really been picky! :lol: Of course, that *is* how she got to be almost 18 lbs.... :roll:
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298 - New(ish) Member

Welcome to the TR board. I hope you can figure out a good testing plan for Nikki. I post here but follow the SLGS protocol. Even if you don't switch to TR, you can still post here if you want to. That's great you've completed the food switch. You're lucky Nikki is not picky.

Some more experienced members will be on later. I'm sure they'll give you some great advice. Ask any questions you have.
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298 - New(ish) Member

Welcome to Lantus Land!

I had switched Gabby over to raw. It didn't transition, though, and she had loose stools for about a week and then everything went back to normal. She's back on Wellness and there was no issue with the shift back to canned.

I noticed on your spreadsheet that you're going to have a petsitter coming to take care of Nikki in a couple of days. Is there any chance of getting your petsitter to shoot closer to every 12-hours? It looks like her PM shot could be as much as 2 hours early. An early shot acts like a dose increase.
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298 - New(ish) Member

Unfortunately that was the best they could do with their scheduling. I've been considering having them just shoot 1u while I'm gone. It's not ideal, but so far it's the best option I have.

ETA: In thinking about it too, I could ask if the morning person could shoot as close to 7am as possible and have the evening person split her meal (she needs food distraction when getting shot) so that they shoot right before they leave around 6:30. That would at least keep the shots about 11.5 hours apart. I still think 1u might be best while I'm gone. I taught them to do the pre-shot test but I'm not sure how Nikki will be about someone else doing it. She's...difficult. :-D I don't mind getting bitten, but they do! :?
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298 - New(ish) Member

carfurby said:
Welcome to the TR board. I hope you can figure out a good testing plan for Nikki. I post here but follow the SLGS protocol. Even if you don't switch to TR, you can still post here if you want to. That's great you've completed the food switch. You're lucky Nikki is not picky.

Some more experienced members will be on later. I'm sure they'll give you some great advice. Ask any questions you have.

Thanks for the welcome. I started off thinking I wanted to follow SLGS but haven't always wanted to wait a week in between increases. I'm also not crazy about increasing in .5u increments. 1u has been too low for Nikki and 1.5u might be too high on her new food. What I do like about it is the higher reduction number. Since I'm out of the house all day, I'd rather she doesn't go much below 90. I think around 70 would be as low as I'd like her to be while I'm out. Of course, being a cat, who knows what Nikki has planned?! :lol:
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298; +2 321 - New(ish) Member

I tweak the SLGS protocol. I do my increases and decreases in 0.25 units and sometimes I don't take a decrease if she is just below 90. I've learned she won't hold the reduction. You can make adjustments to either protocol to make it easier and safer for you and Nikki. The more test data you can get on Nikki, the more you will learn how she does with each dose. The most important thing is to keep Nikki safe.
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298; +2 321 - New(ish) Member

Agreed! It's so hard to go out to work every day and have no way to check on her. I leave a little snack in her auto feeder most days, mostly because it makes me feel better. :lol: It doesn't help that we haven't really had many days with a clear cycle. She seems to start her drops late and then drop through the beginning of the next cycle before bouncing. She just did that last night....makes it hard for me to know what to shoot and when. ohmygod_smile

The girls are btb this morning and I'm jealous because I can't get back in bed! :lol:
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298; +2 321 - New(ish) Member

Anything you can do to get the shots within 30 min. of a 12-hour schedule will be great. Some petsitters who are familiar with working with diabetic cats may be thinking in terms of shorter acting insulin where you have a longer window with shot time. Lantus really needs you to stick as close to a 12-hour schedule as possible.

I would vote with both hands in favor of your reducing the dose if you have a pet sitter caring for Nikki. That's exactly what I do when I travel. If you can post a day before you leave and ask for input regarding dose when you're traveling, we can help you figure out what a safe dose will be. I reduce a fair amount. I hear you when you say Nikki is "difficult." Gabby won't allow my petsitter, who's a very experience vet tech, to test. My kitty is a diva

I'd also suggest you make up a sample syringe using a colored liquid (e.g., milk, juice, colored water) for your petsitter. It's the best way to avoid any misunderstanding about dose.

Just a note about SLGS: With Lantus, the dose increases are in 0.25u increment. The SLGS instructions say to increase by 0.5u UNLESS the type of insulin dictates otherwise. With Lantus, in most cases, dose changes are made in 0.25u amounts. There are exceptions but that's the general rule.
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298; +2 321 - New(ish) Member

That's great info, thanks! I will definitely post on Tuesday looking for dose recommendations. I'm hoping to keep it to a .5 or 1u just to keep it easier to measure. Hopefully by then my woefully bad day of timing on Friday will be in the rearview mirror. ohmygod_smile

I think I have some red wine open, I may have to use that as my colored liquid! :lol: It's a great idea though. They've both given shots before to other cats so hopefully all will go well. I notified my vet's office already that I'll be out of town and am leaving a detailed step-by-step list since I've got things in a routine now. I also am thinking of giving them a cutoff number if they can manage to get a blood test. I've shot partial doses below 100 but I'd rather they didn't shoot below 150 or so.

My neighbor is also going to pop in at odd times to check on her so hopefully all will go well. :-D
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298; +2 321 - New(ish) Member

Your plan is exactly what we suggest. You should be thinking about a "no shot" number. You are definitely safest if the petsitter is using a line on the syringe.

I leave my petsitter detailed instructions, as well. Is there a friend or family member who you trust with Nikki that the petsitter can contact if you're unavailable? Is the friend who's stopping by a good person for that responsibility?

If you don't have a timed feeder, that may also be a consideration. I leave instructions for loading the timed feeder. At least that way, I have some reassurance that there will be food available if Gabby's numbers drop (unless my other kitty polishes it off!).

I leave out corn syrup (Karo) in case of hypoglycemia. My petsitter knows my vet's office and how to reach people there in case of an emergency.
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298; +2 321 - New(ish) Member

Yup, definitely leaving my neighbor's number. She offered to watch Nikki in place of my petsitter, but I didn't feel right that she might have to call out from work sick in case of an emergency for *my* cat if something went wrong, so she's just a back up. In this case, she'll at least be off on Thurs/Fri/Sat so she's my emergency person. Leaving Karo out as well.

I do have a timed feeder. I'm going to make some catsicles and have them put one in the feeder for a midnight snack for Nikki. Luckily she's the dominant one, so Dee would never dream of eating her food! :lol:

I know I'll be nailbite_smile over being away, but at least I'll just be 2.5 hours by car. Unfortunately, my parents have 2 cats and a small house, so I can't bring Nikki with me. That would be the best option since she doesn't mind car rides, but mom's put her foot down. No grandcat visits! ohmygod_smile

When I come back on Sunday night, will I be able to go right back up to her regular dose?
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298; +2 321 - New(ish) Member

I go right back to the original dose. However, I have come back to Gabby being in dose reduction territory. So, in theory, you can pick up where you left off.
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki AMPS 298; +2 321; +4 343; +7 342

:lol: With FD, "in theory" seems about the best we'll ever get to what actually happens! :-D Seems like nothing is ever the same twice! :lol:
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki PMPS 332

Hey you!!!

So glad to see you found us....of course, we were all just right around the block! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I see you've been made welcome here in Lantus Land but I'd also like to add our hearty welcome to you and Nikki!!! You've gotten some great ideas today from Sienne who has had to leave Gabby with a DPS.

We love questions here so bring 'em on.

Nikki....time to do something with that dose increase! Gracie (aka Lil Stinka) says so :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/30 Nikki PMPS 332

Nikki's been very naughty today. :evil: She decided it would be good to be an attack cat and ripped a nice set of teeth marks on the underside of my wrist. It rather looks like I'm crying for help now. :lol: :? To top it off, I walked away after scruffing her (give her inch and all that) and she chased me across the apartment and latched on to my leg! She better find her better behavior or her new neighbors won't play with her! :lol:

Thanks for the welcome! Can't wait til these bounces mellow out a bit! :-D
 
Someone is surfing in the wrong color today! :lol: ohmygod_smile Betting (er, hoping) I wake up to a better number in the AM.

Have a good night all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top