6/30 Neko AMPS 340 +6 193 +9 121 PMPS 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Very Active Member
Moderator
Yesterday, we celebrated a Julie visit with the first green in a while.
6/29 Recap:
AMPS 228 +7 101 +9 89
PMPS 121 +5 228

And this morning we have the delayed budesonide effect piled on top of a bounce. :rolleyes: Neko didn't give me the AM test purrs, but did give them to me at shot time, which was followed by acupressure. I really like doing the acupressure to purrs, as you can feel the rumbling. :joyful::joyful:

Neko has decided she's no longer a fan of Primal pheasant. Theo tired of it when I was feeding it to him last year, but he did swipe some of hers at recently, so it might be OK to put back in his rotation again. Bad momma forgot to take some raw out of the freezer last night, so Neko got canned this morning. She was not complaining, canned is a special treat here. Fortunately I had put most of Neko's meds/supplements that go in food into the FoodFurLife turkey I had also had in the dish, so those got eaten.

I'm still waiting to hear what to do about Neko's meds for her proteinuria. I've been told I'll hear this afternoon. I hope it's before they close for the long weekend.

Vines to all in kitties in need today, and hugs to their beans. Too many feeling off lately. But we've got the start of Carter's OTJ trial to lift our spirits.
 
here's hoping your raw thaws faster than ours!
All I had thawed out was pheasant. :banghead: Must have back up plans. :banghead::banghead: I do have some of the frozen Natures Variety chicken small bites which thaw pretty quickly. And I do have some single flat vacuum sealed portions that thaw in less than 10 minutes in cool water so we are good for the PM.
 
Nice trip to the lagoon yesterday Neko...how about trying it out again soon. Glad she and Theo enjoyed the special treat even if it was accidental :joyful:
 
I had raw food thawed out for Theo. It's venison, one of his fav's. But it's a stringier meat that Neko with her mouth issues can't eat. Didn't stop him from wanting a sample of the good stuff (canned) though!
 
Glad to hear a happy report for Neko and Theo :bighug:Rock on kitties!
The worst thing about feeding raw is having to remember to that something out, the consequences for absent mindedness are so guilt inducing! :banghead: Do you always freeze yours in a vacuum sealed pouches? I am too lazy to do that... I put K.C.'s Radcat into ice cube trays and freeze- they that out overnight in the fridge(provided i remember to take some out that is :rolleyes: )

ETA: hope you hear from your vet as advertised!
 
Do you always freeze yours in a vacuum sealed pouches? I am too lazy to do that.
I'm too lazy to do that too. The home made stuff gets put in Ziploc containers that fit one meal, but the cube takes a little longer to thaw. The flat vacuum seal pouches are from a local raw manufacturer. One of many things I like about them is the packaging!

Got the call from the vet tech. We are increasing benazapril by 50% tomorrow morning and reducing budesonide to 75% of existing dose. Good thing I have a pill splitter. I'm curious to see what the budesonide change does to her numbers! Fortunately the tech got to me just before I filled the gelcap so new dose of that is today. :)
 
Last edited:
Nice going to the green side, Neko! When Neko goes between raw and canned, there aren't any gastro issues? Glad you the vet office got back to you and good luck with the increase and decrease. These meds are really mind boggling to me with timing from each other and such. :confused:
 
I would never be able to remember to take food out of the freezer lol.
Neko.....that was a great dip in the lagoon yesterday! Doesn't it make you want to go back? :D:D
 
Glad you were able to get the new dose of benazapril for Neko before the long weekend. Hope it sorts out the problem. How many kgms is she on now with the increase?
 
When Neko goes between raw and canned, there aren't any gastro issues?
Raw is processed faster than canned in the gut but I haven't seen any "evidence" of gastro issues. This from a cat whose only signs of IBD/lymphoma were the odd foamy vomit and mild constipation - both also signs of CKD. Going between canned (or raw) and dry is worse on their systems than raw and canned. And how many here used to feed a combo of wet and dry? :banghead::oops:
How many kgms is she on now with the increase?
She was on 2.5 mg Fortekor, which was a conservative dose for her size, and now will be on 3.75 mg. Fortunately the tablets have a line in the middle and are easy to split. The Fortekor is a "chewable" that Neko can't chew due to her mouth issues so I have to grind it. And it supposedly flavored to appeal to animals. How many kitties do you know have a hankering for vanilla?
 
Well...I like vanilla? LOL. Vines for Neko have been sent, for whatever she needs. Hopefully you can get the right balance of everything:bighug::bighug::bighug:

It's so mind boggling all you are juggling! I've been thinking of you. What a great bean you are! :) (((Wendy)))
 
What a treat to have real canned food! Enjoy it, Neko!

Good luck with the meds, Wendy. I agree with Rachel: it's mind boggling. Have a good evening,

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Shadow liked vanilla....:cat:

good that the bude is on the downslide now....
I agree it's not fun to have to think thru each day with all the med schedules and then that you keep on top of the raw food thaw cycles too.... I had a hard time , still do, with pulling it out ahead of time. The one cat here who begs for raw, I just set it out on a dish frozen and she can help herself....
 
She was on 2.5 mg Fortekor, which was a conservative dose for her size, and now will be on 3.75 mg. Fortunately the tablets have a line in the middle and are easy to split. The Fortekor is a "chewable" that Neko can't chew due to her mouth issues so I have to grind it. And it supposedly flavored to appeal to animals. How many kitties do you know have a hankering for vanilla?
That is interesting. Sheba weighs 6 kgms and she is on 5mg of Benazapril. We call it Vetace here. I crush it up and put it in her food and she eats it. It is not a chewable one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top