6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318, PMPS 315 +3 168

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
here's the new message, thanks.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46584

I tried to make a link to my other thread above for details.
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 New and need dosing advice

The link you included is to your entire thread (condo) from yesterday. I am not sure what your questions are. I do believe most of them were answered in your condo from yesterday. I know I answered your question about syringes and Libby responded to your question about dose.
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 New and need dosing advice

Oh, I thought we were supposed to include a link to previous day's thread, sorry, I'll get the hang of it eventually. :)
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 New and need dosing advice

Yes :-D you include your old thread as part of you new daily condo. So, today you open your condo for today and include yesterday's thread.

You are doing fine :-D

In your subject line however says need doing advice. If you dont need that, just delete it ;-) if you do, just ask away in here.
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 New and need dosing advice

Welcome!!! We have not stopped by to say hello before. Yesterday it looked pretty busy on your condo and we didn't want to interject since you were getting such good advice. You will get the hang of it.

Hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 New and need dosing advice

Hi April,
You were right to include the link to yesterday's full condo. Sienne thought you had a new question because you kept yesterday's question in your subject line.
In general, for each day we open a new condo and give the "standard" subject line: in your case today this would be "6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318". (see how all of the condos use this standard rubric)

Then in the body of the condo (usually at the beginning) you include the link to yesterday's condo. You can type "yesterday" and then put in the URL.

Then you can continue to write your first post of the day. This can consist of the Whole Cat Report (WCR): how she is doing, etc., and any concerns or questions you might have. During the course of the day, go back to the subject line of your first post and add any bg numbers you were able to get. If you need dosing help for the PM cycle, add this question to the subject line at least an hour before PMPS so that people will have time to respond. Also, it is important to keep in mind that just editing the subject box does NOT bump your post up to the top of the cue. You have to write a "reply" to your own condo thread to get it moved to the top, where there will be more eyes on it. The Lantus Forum moves very quickly, so if you have an urgent question, be sure to "bump" your own reply so that people will see your question.

It's all somewhat confusing at first, but take a look at some of the other people's condos and see what they do. You got good advice about your dose last night. Be sure to hold the new dose for the required amount of time to allow it to settle. If there are problems with it, ask for advice.

Have a great day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318

hi april! i haven't met you yet and wanted to stop and say hello. i read your condo from yesterday - you're getting lots of good advice.

in case you didn't pick up on it, you're going to stick with one dose for several days before any changes are made unless miss kitty goes below 50. libby suggested .75 - so it's important to stay with that dose (as best as you can measure it just be consistent) and to get lots of spot checks in to see how miss kitty responds to it. so you don't have to question how much you're going to shoot before every shot unless you get a number that feels too low or unsafe to you. if that happens, don't feed miss kitty, and post here with the number and wait for advice on shooting it.

you mentioned that in the past you've seen the lowest numbers at +4-4.5 - nadir can slide around some, so if i were you, i'd try to get an hourly check around there until you have gathered more info. like check +4, +5, +6 if you can. if your husband doesn't test, do you come home and check? or does miss kitty get checked during the daytime?

glad you're here! when you have free time you might poke around and read other condos - i always learn a ton from them!
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318

Hi Julie, I work full-time, plus I do some work at home too, so I cannot check her Monday - Friday other than the amps and the pmps and a couple after the pm shot and I'm too far away to go home at lunchtime. This weekend is a long weekend, so I can check more frequently then. I wish my husband would lean how to do it, but he absolutely will not.
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318

Sorry if I confused you. (I'm easily confused in the mornings and the subject line had me scratching my head.)

Do what you can regarding testing during the work week. If you can get a test before you walk out the door or one when you walk in the door (and it's not 15 min. from your shot times), that's great! Getting tests during the evenings and weekends are also very helpful. Basically, any data you can collect will help you make better decisions regarding dose.
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 +1 318 too

Ha..thanks Siena, that's just what I did now before I ready your post, isn't that funny. I checked her at +11, an hour before time for her shot, and she is exactly the same number as this morning. So, I should keep it at 0.75 units?
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 +11 318, PMPS 315

I have a question now. In order to check Miss Kitty's BG, I have to put some tuna in front of her and now that I am doing so many tests, that's a lot of tuna adding up. Do you think this would be bad for her at all? The vet says it's ok to give her some tuna. Also, she threw up today on the carpet, not sure how concerning this is. She has thrown up occasionally at times, sometimes it's hairball, sometimes I can't tell. Vet says if it were pancreatitis, she would be throwing up constantly, but her episodes are weeks apart.
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 +11 318, PMPS 315

Hi again, April,
A lot of us use freeze-dried chicken bites as a treat for testing. You can get the 100% freeze-dried chicken bits in the dog section at PetSmart or PetCo and in many other pet-food stores (break them apart to make them cat sized). Freeze dried Salmon bites can also be found in pet-food stores. And then there are "Bonito Flakes" (dried tuna flakes available in Asian markets). If your cat likes tuna she'll love these. The Bonito flakes made especially for cats are "Cat Man Do", available from the Cat Connection: http://www.thecatconnection.com/cat/Cat-Man-Doo-Halfoz-6pk.html

YOu're doing great,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 318 +11 318, PMPS 315

Thanks, I'll check those out, she is a tuna freak for sure.
 
That's a big drop by +3. Please get a +4.

Gabby isn't a big fan of the freeze dried treats. There are also jerky style treats that are low carb. Wellness makes the ones that my guys are very fond of.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top