6/30 Latte AMPS- 442, PMPS~457

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS-500
+2.25- 394
+3.25- 396
+5.75-369
AMPS- 442
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18478

Good Morning. Latte did not eat well yesterday. Its been almost an hour and a half since her shot and she is refusing food, licking her lips at the smell and sight of it. I gave pepcid early, in hopes it will help. Not much more I can do because she is obviously nauseated and forcing food on her in any other way will likely cause vomiting. Great set up for a big drop/bounce.

The new plan is to increase her on Thursday PM, back up a drop to a f1.5. I can hold the dose and monitor for 9 cycles. If Im real brave and/or she is doing well I can hold it another 12 cycles, mostly monitored and reassess at the end of that time. At any point after the initial 9 cycles if she is going to low and/or bouncing into black as much as she is on the current dose I will back off. I will then call the game over. No more studying her ss, worrying about how to 'fix' things, testing frantically, etc. Its really not worth putting any more energy (emotional, mental, financial) into something I cannot change. No amount of effort is helping her. We can just start calling her a well regulated cat in the 300-600+ range

I suspect her UTI is still present. It may be the recent bacteria they found, or the resistant one coming back. Im just judging by her behavior and LB habits. I could be wrong, or it could change by her recheck on Friday. My guess is I will have to find a way to check her urine every few weeks for the rest of her life. Between the steroid and high numbers, I dont think any a/b is going to keep any infection away too long.

I dunno....not feeling devestated, or frustrated, angry, or sad. I dont know if Im numb or feeling acceptance of the fact that there is little to be done. Im neither hopeful, nor pessimistic that an increase will change anything. Its going to be what its going to be no matter what kind of emotion or action I put into it.

I AM glad to see her out of the bathroom and on her throne this a.m., with a little ray of sun shining down on her. Have not seen her sit there by her own choice since she started having a hard time walking a few months ago.
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442

latte, this is to high! Come on down pretty girl .... I know you don't feel like eating right now, your tummy is upset .. but you need to have something in it .... even a little bit will help ...

I don't have any advice in the dosing category .. but I guess you know what you are doing there .... I'm sorry to hear you think her UTI is still around ... poor baby ....

Carolyn, even though mocha's numbers are not as high as latte's, I do understand when you say you feel neither hopeful, nor pessimistic that an increase will change anything. Its going to be what its going to be no matter what kind of emotion or action I put into it. Sometimes I feel that way as well (like yesterday!) But miracles happen every single day .. and our girls have a chance at that miracle .. we can't forget that ... it's what will get us through till tomorrow, right?
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442

Morning you two....was wondering if you changed the pen yet? This would be a good time to start on the new one, no?
maybe keep the old one just in case ~~but I do think the new ones are okay even if they weren't ice cold. I didn't see it on your SS so I am assuming that you are still on the old pen....
All I can do is send HUGS to you both....you are so good with Latte and with all the things tht you have on your mind, I am in awe of how you handle everything...all the meds and the eating, and just everything! You are such a GREAT Mama!
:YMHUG:
Hope you have a good day....
(and thank you Carolyn....you say such sweet things to us...thank you for taking time to visit....hugs!)
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442

(((Carolyn))) I have to thank you so much for being there for me and Blackie the last few days. It has helped us so much. I wish I could return the favor and get Latte eating again and get her back in better numbers. All I can do is send prayers and eating vines to Latte. I'm glad you'll have a few days off. I hope you get some fun in there too.
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442, +2~238

So here's my wonky sense of humor: Latte's pancreas may not be cooperative but her liver is clearly operating well!
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442, +2~238

Morning Latte keep up that progress you are making lovely +2 thats the kind of numbers your Mama Bean wants to see :-D
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442, +2~238, +3~120

I bet she does this nearly everyday.
Im home another hr and then gone until her pm shot.

Ya, liver seems to work just fine...Im sure it will get some overtime pretty soon.

Still not eating great, but a little.

Why do I think an increase is only goin to make her go too low?
Cant feed a curve w/ a cat that wont eat in the first place half the time.

I can switch the catridge tonight pat.
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442, +2~238, +3~120, +4-89

I changed my mind...
I think today is the day to call the game over.
I cant comprehend how an increase is going to even her out. Its only going to make her go lower and bounce higher (if thats possible).

So...no increase, ps/out the door/nadir tests only - I personally dont care to see another number on the meter ever again. No more worrying and wracking my brain. No more. No more. No more!

There, I feel better now!

ETA: And best of all for the group...no more whining from me! :lol:
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442, +2~238, +3~120, +4-89

carolynandlatte said:
I changed my mind...
I think today is the day to call the game over.
I cant comprehend how an increase is going to even her out. Its only going to make her go lower and bounce higher (if thats possible).

That's where my mind was going when I saw her numbers for the day just now, but I don't know Lev like Lantus. How would an increase NOT make her go lower than she is now?
 
Re: 6/30 Latte AMPS- 442, +2~238, +3~120, +4-89, +4.75~76

((((Carolyn))))

You give Latte so much love. Cutting back on your stress and worry is just another way of giving her love. And you both likely feel better for it.

Venita
 
Sending good appetite vines
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
to Latte. Feel better pretty girl. No more nausea.
 
(((((Carolyn & Latte))))) No words for you tonight, just hugs and moral support. I hope Ms. Latte feels better soon.
 
(((Carolyn and Latte)))

I know the bouncing is hard - but even so, it's better than the steady high numbers, I think. At least you know she's responding to this dose, and that's a good thing. It was good to hear she was on her throne in a little ray of sunshine.

I know nothing I can say will make it better, but I for one am glad to see some blues and greens for Latte...

Take care, Carolyn - I wish there were some way you could take a little mental vacation to restore your spirit... I'm sending healing vines, snowflakes and happy healthy thoughts to both you and Latte...
 
ok, let's sorta go back to square 1.
what's she getting now for nausea?
have you tried cerenia, ondansetron, anzemet?
i know you're doing pepcid.
how about bupe for pain? does she still have some?

there's definitely something to say re an infection that hasn't gone away. we've gone thru that for months. is there a possibility of switching antibiotics? is the antibiotic causing some of the nausea?

yes, with those numbers and inappetance i wouldn't be raising the dose right now either. really feel for you, carolyn. cleo and i are going thru the same thing in a smaller way, and now we're thinking she has an infection in the liver. very hard to tell sometimes where it's coming from, tho, in order to find the right antibiotic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top