6/30 Jupiter AMPS/121 PMPS/61 +2/52 feeding HC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98804&p=1056261#p1056261

We had a very very hard time getting him to eat this morning. I tried a few different flavors of food… I tried treats on top….(We have 2 small containers with some chicken dust in one and turkey dust in other) and since he didn’t seem interested I tried feeding him a plain treat and he wouldn’t eat a chicken one… he would only eat a shrimp one but I only had 1 more piece of shrimp – put it on his food but still wouldn’t eat it. We only have about 15 small pieces of treats left – so I am going to try to get another bag of shrimp treats as soon as I can since he seems to like those better and sometimes I can get him to eat his food by putting a few shrimps on top. Dane had to run to the local grocery store and he got 2 Fancy Feast appetizers (Jupiters 2 favorite flavors)… So I put some tilapia appetizer on top of his FF pate food and he took 1 lick and walked away. So I tried feeding him some plain tilapia - this usually always works and he will always atleast eat some plain appetizer…but not today!! Boy was I getting really frustrated at this point. So I opened the other appetizer which was a tuna flavor… put it in front of him still in the little tray it comes in… and he started eating it… So I got a new spoonful of pate on a plate and put most of that appetizer on top… and thankfully he ate a few bites… but mostly just the tuna on top… better that then him eating nothing though.

I was unable to pick up the food (free feeding) from last night so I am not sure when Jupiter last ate prior to the shot… maybe that’s why he wasnt hungry this morning…. But I am not sure… plus we are rarely able to pick up the food 2 hours prior to AMPS (we are usually only able to do this at night – we pick up food 2 hours prior to PMPS)… but even if he doesn’t seem hungry in the mornings I can usually get him to atleast take a few licks of pate… or if all else fails… he will always eat some of a FF appetizer. Just weird because this is the first time he wouldn’t even eat the tilapia appetizer which is normally his favorite thing to eat. So sorry for the long long long explanation – but wanted to share how I tried so many things and he still wouldn’t eat – not even his favorite food – which kind of worries me.

Other then the bad appy this morning he seems to be doing good. He is laying on his cat perch by the window – and he is sleeping.

I am so happy with all these lovely numbers!!!!!! 60 and under makes me nervous - but I am starting to get a little more comfortable with these numbers - so I am going to try to test a little less often. His poor ears look so sore.


Todays Numbers:
AMPS-121
Shot 2.5u @ 9:02am
+2-83
+3-64
+4-55
+4.5-65
+5.5-53
+6-47
+6.5-63
+7-65
+8.75-61
+9.75-59
PMPS-61
Shot 2.25u @ 8:57pm
+2-52
+3-75
+4-93
+6-98
+9-99

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-108
Shot 2.5u @ 9:00am
+2-61
+3-50
+3.5-54
+4.25-62
+5-58
+6-68
+7.75-56
+8.75-72
+9.75-63
PMPS-79
Shot 2.5u @ 8:57pm
+1.5-77
+3-78
+4-84
+5-66
+7-94
+9.5-117
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AMPS/121 +2/83 +3/64

Hi Jamie,

I can so sympathize with the no eating thing, even Jupiter's favorites. It is frustrating and worrisome. We are sending tons of good appy vines, and feel good vines just in case. Hopefully it was just a late snack, and Jupiter is full. Those are some really great numbers though :-D

Hope you have a good day. Jupiter, go eat some fuds.

Kathie
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AMPS/121 +2/83 +3/64

Hi Jamie,

Beautiful numbers for Jupiter! Hope he just ate alot before his AMPS. Also, not sure if this applies to Jupe, but once Cleo's numbers began staying lower, her appy really did come down quite a bit. I had to get my mind to adjust to this new "normal" appy.

Hope you have another beautiful surf for him today! Has it cooled off for you?

Jane
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AMPS/121 +2/83 +3/64

Jupiter! EAT YOUR FUDS! KT! EAT YOUR FUDS! You boys are worrying us - this not eating thing stinks!

I've resorted to dog food some mornings as he'll come over to eat Sassy/Sasha's food while DH is fixing it. He only likes one kind - Pedigree chopped combo pate. Right now I'm even pouring chicken broth over it and warming it - I just got another maybe 2 tbsp in him. I hate starting syringe feeding but that's what I warned him would start if he didn't do it on his own!

HUGS JAMIE!!! And another 'cos I need an extra one too....
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AMPS/121 +2/83 +3/64



This is a picture of Jupiters back paw. It was smaller before though. Looks like it has gotten a lot bigger. I brought it up to the vet around the time Jupiter was diagnosed with Diabetes and vet said sometimes diabetic cats will get this.

I am concerned though as it is looking much much worse now......There was also a small amout of smeared blood on the window ledge where he was sitting.... I wiped off the abscess and it looks like it was definitely from that because it looks like a little bit of blood on baby wipe I used to wipe off back paw


Any comments/thoughts/advice would be greatly appreciated
 

Attachments

  • jupespaw.JPG
    jupespaw.JPG
    22.4 KB · Views: 369
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AM/121 +4/55 +4.5/65 +5.5/53 pic-sore back

Everytime he doesnt eat for an hour he drops back into the 50's... do I have to keep trying to coax him to eat LC all day?
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AM/121 +4/55 +4.5/65 +5.5/53 +6/47 Question

+6 was 47..... since he earned a reduction can I just feed a little HC? Its really hard to keep getting him to eat LC every hour
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AM/121 +4/55 +4.5/65 +5.5/53 +6/47 Question

Yes...give him some HC although he is at midcycle. It might pop him up quite a bit.

Ooh...I don't like the way his foot looks. I am not aware of FDs getting sores like that. Could you put some neosporin and a vet wrap on it but keep checking it.
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AM/121 +4/55 +4.5/65 +5.5/53 +6/47 Question

I fed him a few tsp of HC.... and hes still at 61? Shouldnt he be up a little more by now....?

What is a vet wrap?
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AM/121 +4/55 +4.5/65 +5.5/53 +6/47 Question

I hope this gets better, Lucky has a thing with his toe I don't see anything and I keep nails trimmed wonder if the DB is doing that to him on his back paw
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AM/121 +4/55 +4.5/65 +5.5/53 +6/47 Question

I cant afford to take him to the vet right now...I feel so horrible about it and I am so worried- but vets require immediate payment and I just dont have the money.... should I try treating it at home for now? What is a vet wrap?
 
Re: 6/30 Jupiter AM/121 +4/55 +4.5/65 +5.5/53 +6/47 Question

I don't know it by that name but I think she's talking about the medical wrap that they use now to hold gauze in place with medicine on it.....especially in difficult places.

Shadow comes home from surgery with that on her legs where they take the iv out. They've also used it to hold a pain patch in place.
It sticks to itself. Looks like this http://www.walgreens.com/store/c/jo...vy-duty-first-aid-wrap/ID=prod2146519-product


It would hold medicine in place so Jupiter wouldn't be able to lick it.
 
I am going to feed him HC now... its getting so hard to control these numbers with LC and I need a break. I have to coax him to eat every hour or his numbers keep dropping. I am going to give him a few spoonfuls of the gravy of HC
 
OK but don't panic with this number. It's only 9 points lower, and that could just be meter variance. Let's see what the gravy does for him.
 
Dont worry I am not panicking yet :-D I am getting better at staying calm - as long as I can test and have strips and food here - I am so much more calm

I am just not comfortable sleeping... not even taking a nap when hes at 60 or lower... and I really need sleep tonight. I am falling asleep sitting up again... I havent gotten any sleep lately... reallllly need just a few hours tonight
 
Understand that. You've been making a habit out of late nights this week. :smile:

Hoping the gravy bumps him up so you can at least manage a nap or two.

There's three kitties at the moment with PMPS numbers in the 60s. And full moon was last week...
 
What you're seeing is a depot that hasn't caught up with this evening's dose reduction. I think it's fine to feed HC. You can't really reduce the dose again since Jupiter just got his dose reduction. So, if you're exhausted and want to get some sleep, it's fine to abort the cycle and feed some HC to prop up the numbers.
 
I just took some nyquil. Im coughing so much that my chest is starting to hurt. Dane said he will do his best to set alarms and wake up during the night to test. I can also leave out some HC tonight. I really need sleep - please do not think I am horrible for wanting to feed HC and sleep instead of staying up all night to test. I would normally but I feel horrible tonight
 
Jaime,
Nobody is ever going to thing you're "horrible". Don't even think it. Bottom line is that if you aren't in top shape, it's not good for you, for Dane or for Jupe. Feed HC, carb the heck out of him and get some much needed sleep and rest. The effects of HC food are not long term. The carbs go away by the next cycle. This isn't going to cause any sort of "setback". It's just one cycle of higher and safer numbers. It gives everyone at your place a break.

Feel better. Summer colds suck.
 
Is all this HC tonight gonna mess up these wonderful numbers.... I dont wanna ruin this streak of great numbers. I will be so sad tomorrow if hes in yellows again
 
scroll up to my last message.

If you see yellow in the AM, it'll be a bounce, not the HC food, that's caused it.
 
:lol: :lol:
Nope, can't read minds. But you aren't the first person to have that concern. ;-) I've never used Lantus, but I've been doing the "late night PJ party" routine here for a year or more. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top