6/30 Junior PMPS 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Junior was hysterical again when I tried testing him this morning. He bit all over both hands and had more than enough blood to test myself (I learned I was @ 120).

I don't think I can test him again for a few hours and when I do, I want to try and burrito him. Should I shoot blind? Last night's +6 was pretty good.

Thanks all,
Bonnie

EDIT: Now that things have calmed down and the fur has settled and my wounds don't sting anymore, let's do this properly: GOOD MORNING LL!

Remember yesterday when I said:
I'm going to give his ears a break today
and
I don't think I got enough R&R yesterday so I'm going to try and stay off the boards today.

I must've jinxed myself b/c Junior said, "I don't think so Bonnie Bean!"

He wound up getting poked just as much as the day before, dipping to 48 at +12, fighting my pokes with his jaws of death (not good when you keep sneezing with a sharp object near his eyeball), and then forcing me to stay up past 1 to get a +6.

Oh Junior, you don't understand. You will get poked. Oh yes, you will get poked.

Hope you guys have a great day!
Bonnie
 
Re: 6/30 Junior - Shooting Advice

Oh Bonnie! It is not getting any easier with him huh? I would definitely burrito him. When you test do you hold him? I found that Tarragon would freak out if I tried to hold him. Now, I put him on the couch and sandwich him between me and the arm of the couch and test him that way. I'm not sure if Junior would even let you do that, but that has worked for us.

Hope you get answers soon about shooting. I don't know what you should do.
 
Re: 6/30 Junior

Just fed him 1tsp LC with his Hyperthyroid meds while waiting to hear from the board and I just remembered that I shouldn't have fed him in the first place.

I've had to straddle him, which he hasn't been fond of. I'm not sure if doing that on the couch will work. I hope one day we'll be straddle-free!
 
Re: 6/30 Junior - Shooting Advice

If you have to shoot blind, you can but it makes me very nervous. Do you think you'd be able to try for a +2?
 
Re: 6/30 Junior - Shooting Advice

It makes me nervous too, esp on this new dosage!

I think I'm not going to shoot blind. If I shoot and he starts dipping, that means more testing. The number is going to be skewed from the stress and the 1 tsp LC I fed him.

I was giving his HyperT meds and then realized I shouldn't have fed him if I wanted to test him.

Will try +2. Or really, whenever he'll let me!
 
Re: 6/30 Junior

I'm sorry you and Junior are having such a hard time with testing. Tray wasn't having any of it the first few days I did it but eventually he became calm with it. Hope the burrito effect helps you both get through it.
 
Re: 6/30 Junior

i would definitely burrito him. really - it's not hard on them and i thought it made punkin accept the whole thing better. he was far better than trying to hold him down. i think it's like swaddling a baby, they feel very secure. either that or they realize they're imprisoned and they give up. we wrapped for a couple of weeks and he gave up, so we stopped burritoing.

the trick is to get the beach towel tight around their upper arms so the arms are flattened out against the chest. i just put the towel across my lap and chest, picked up punkin with his back to me, and sat down. that first wrap around the upper chest and legs is the significant one.

good luck. i think better to wrap than the alternatives! go for it!
 
Re: 6/30 Junior PMPS 145 Dosing Question

With the 145, should I go back to .5u or stay at .25u? I'm thinking .25u b/c Lantus likes consistency and you should hold the dose. Then again, we didn't shoot this morning.

Thoughts?

EDIT: I leaned towards consistency and gave him .25u.
 
I hope Junior isn't upset by all of the noise. My guys just had their last installment of dinner and Gabby is in the cubes. Gizmo is wandering around, talking, and using the scratching post as a means of trying to get Gabby's attention. In other words, they could care less that there's thunder and lightening.
 
Hi Bonnie - wow, and I had so hoped that testing junior would be getting easier. Does the burrito help? I have no suggestions, and almost feel guilty when I think how easy Mannie is to test. Good luck. Good thinking on the dose.
 
Relieved to hear that I gave the right dose! Yay!

Junior wasn't bothered by the lightning but did get skerred by the hail.

The burrito did help but I still have to wrap him better. Both of us were so frustrated that when we were done, I just let him walk away, towel and all. Problem was he didn't know how to get out of the towel so it was funny seeing this big ball of beach towel moving across the floor. That made him mad even more. I didn't care at that point.
 
Willie is cross. I guffawed at your last post and awakened him from his slumber. :) Poor Junior. Willie got the burrito treatment when we started as well. While he has no teeth or front claws, he's a big boy who can be quite squirmy when he puts his mind to it!!

Good luck with the new dose... hope you get some quality rest tonight!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top