6/30 Johnny AMPS 271 PMPS 197 +2(242)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
I guess we've got another bounce on our hands. When should we plan out his reduced dose for the upcoming week? Friday?

Man, I hate travel anxiety...esp with this being the first time away from Johnny with diabetes. Why didn't I enjoy the simpler times?!


Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18547
 
When are you leaving? Generally, you shoot the reduced dose the day you are leaving or you can shoot a reduced dose the night before if you are worried about shed action the same day as you're traveling.
 
I seem to be the travel queen around here. If you got any questions let me know - I"d be glad to try and answer as to what we do when we are gone.
 
We're leaving Saturday a.m. We'll be here to do the a.m. test/shot and the pet sitter will come over that evening. Tell me more about "shed action." Is it the shed trying to hold onto more insulin? Can we expect a bigger drop than normal? I'm so completely nervous about this. I don't want Johnny to be "high" while we're gone, but this is all just really freaking me out thinking of him going low at night and sleeping through it. I hope his little body is prepared.
 
The shed is like your storage locker or Gayle refers to it as a spare gas tank. If you think about when Johnny started on Lantus, his numbers didn't immediately drop from the insulin. They came down gradually. With shorter acting types of insulin, numbers drop then swing back up. With Lantus, a little bit of each dose goes toward forming the shed. It takes about 5 - 7 days at first to get all of the Lantus into the shed.

When you decrease a dose, the amount that's in the shed is based on the dose you had been previously shooting. It takes about a cycle to bleed off the excess insulin and for the shed to empty to the amount needed for the new dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top