6/30 Jenks AMPS 103 +7 163 PMPS 114 +6 32 +7 37 +8 59 +9 54 +11 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
6/29

Jenks is still chugging along in good numbers. We've been blue or better for at least the last 36 hours. I'm not sure what gave rise to the midday hump, but he resolved that pretty quickly. After hitting that 48 early last night, I'm surprised and pleased that he didn't bounce really high.

Tail situation is mostly unchanged. I'm seeing the occasional flick every now and then, so that's good. It means all the parts still work. He was also able to hold it up when he went to the litterbox.

The vet is closed on the weekends, so there's not much I can do anyway. I'll probably need to wait for OH to return because it usually takes both of us to get him into a carrier. Now we'll have to invent a new technique because we usually have to tip the crate up on its rear so the opening faces the ceiling while I lower Jenks into it like the mouth of a volcano. But we can't exactly do that now as he goes in rear first, and I don't want to aggravate his already tweaked tail.
 
Now we'll have to invent a new technique because we usually have to tip the crate up on its rear so the opening faces the ceiling while I lower Jenks into it like the mouth of a volcano

You might want to invest in a carrier with a top door....they are a lot easier!!

Come on Jenks...shake that tail for your bean!!
 
Whoa Jenks, shark week isn't until next month buddy.

I meant to check him at +4 like last night, but I slept right through it. Otherwise, I would've caught him at a more manageable number.

Anyway, Jenks scarfed the MC. I went to go add a little corn syrup to it but found my bottle completely seized up. Lovely. I'll have to replace that tomorrow. So he gets emergency treats instead.

Normally, I let him go a couple of hours between testing because his BG just doesn't move very fast. But at this number, it will be every hour on the hour until he's back on shore.

Looks like he's getting a full unit reduction in the AM.
 
Thanks @carfurby :) I think I see small improvements every day, but I don't know how long a tweaked tail (if that's what this is) takes to resolve itself before it's time for the vet.
 
5 whole points in an hour. Stubborn number there.

Deploying the higher carb gravy now.
 
Hmmm, so much for relaxing. 54 at +9. I know 5 points is within the 20% margin of error for the meter, but I feel like it's more accurate at the lower numbers than not. The paranoid part of me thinks the gravy is starting to wane.

I cracked another can and this time added a squeeze of honey to it. It has more sugars than corn syrup and mixed easier, so I thought, "Why not?" Jenks too one sniff and pushed it away. Guess he doesn't like honey.

Out comes the second can. This time I got a very viscous blob of corn syrup and put it in a separate container with a little water and whipped it up until it was as mixed as I could get it. Then I mixed that into the gravy and offered it to him and he happily lapped it up.

It is clear that he's going to be low at AMPS today and that any number I get is going to be influenced, at least to some degree, by simple carbs. Given that he's dropped below 50 two nights in a row, I'm worried that the depot will make it happen again today even with the one unit reduction. That makes me lean toward a reduced BCS dose for this morning followed by the new reduced full dose in the evening.
 
Hmmm, so much for relaxing. 54 at +9. I know 5 points is within the 20% margin of error for the meter, but I feel like it's more accurate at the lower numbers than not. The paranoid part of me thinks the gravy is starting to wane.

I cracked another can and this time added a squeeze of honey to it. It has more sugars than corn syrup and mixed easier, so I thought, "Why not?" Jenks too one sniff and pushed it away. Guess he doesn't like honey.

Out comes the second can. This time I got a very viscous blob of corn syrup and put it in a separate container with a little water and whipped it up until it was as mixed as I could get it. Then I mixed that into the gravy and offered it to him and he happily lapped it up.

It is clear that he's going to be low at AMPS today and that any number I get is going to be influenced, at least to some degree, by simple carbs. Given that he's dropped below 50 two nights in a row, I'm worried that the depot will make it happen again today even with the one unit reduction. That makes me lean toward a reduced BCS dose for this morning followed by the new reduced full dose in the evening.
What about trying some white sugar in warm water in a pinch?
 
Whether it was the syrup or him suddenly running out of gas, his BG doubled in the last 90 minutes or so. If it holds into AMPS, I may wait to see how much he eats before deciding on a full dose with the one unit reduction versus a 2/3 dose to drain the depot a bit so it's not another rollercoaster night.

@Kris & Teasel - good idea!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top