6/30 Jake AMPS 290 still hanging in there

Status
Not open for further replies.
(((((lydia and jake)))))
i hope your vet will be able to get to the bottom of this, but in the meantime...
sending blizzards of snowflakes and healing vines.
 
To Jake from Jake - Hang in there buddy! Sending you many positive thoughts, vibes, and prayers!
 
I'm glad to hear that the vet doesn't feel Jake is in pain. At least you can feel good about that. Sending a hug to you, Lydia and a blanket of snowflakes and some fighting vines to Jake.
 
Thank you for all the kind thoughts and support. I started Jake on prednisolone today along with the megestrol and also subQ fluids twice per day. For the first time in a couple days he stood at the front door and looked out and meowed at me because he wanted to go on the patio. He is so weak and can barely walk that I didn't take him out. I'm hoping he gets a little strength back and that his glucose doesn't go crazy from the pred. It did though tonight it was 445(PMPS). I'm going to give him some fluids right now and hope that helps him feel better.
 
You can adjust the insulin to offset the rise the steroid may cause. There are several people here who do that. Getting Jake feeling better, whether it's steroids or making sure he's eating and it's HC food trump the diabetes. Insulin doses are adjustable. If he needs more, he gets more.
 
Thank you for anticipating my question! I did increase his dose a bit from a 1.00 skinny to a 1.00 fat. I figured I would check it again in the morning and give him 1.25 assuming he is high, which I know he will be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top