Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi", PM +3 is 101 - Yikes!!
First, Temptations are not the best thing to give when you're trying to steer numbers. Use HC wet food. With an 81, you could try LC, test in 20 min. and see where the numbers are.
Heart is neither crashing nor can you cause or stop rebound.
Remember that dose reductions are earned when numbers fall below 50 in a newly diagnosed (i.e., less than 1 year from diagnosis) cat. If this wasn't safe, we wouldn't do it nor would the research behind the dosing protocol ever get published. We steer the numbers by using HC food. We don't let them get too low because you're testing and have HC food at your disposal. Dry food or treats do not give you the same predictable response as canned food. The dry stuff takes too long to work and hangs around way too long.
Rebound is the body's way of protecting itself. All of our cats have become used to functioning with higher than normal BG levels. Their systems interpret these high numbers as their new "normal." So when numbers are in what is really a normal range, the liver panics and dumps glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the system. This shoots BG numbers up thereby protecting against the "danger" of low numbers. You can't control this. Rather, the more time Heart spends in normal BG ranges, the more his body will stop reacting to those normal numbers.