6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi", PM +3 is 101, +4 81 - Yikes!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/30 Heart "Hi" again - Rebound?

What you're forgetting is that you don't know if Heart went lower than the yellow. It's actually possible to bounce on any number that is lower than what your cat's system is used to. Right now, Heart is not used to numbers that are lower than pinks. From some of the numbers on your SS, it's hard to know where nadir is. Without that information, it's hard to interpret whether numbers went lower, like last night, and then there's a bounce.

One thing that will help is if you can get a curve or two in -- especially when Heart isn't bouncing. You've been great with getting spot checks but there are some gaps in the SS. Having a few curves will help to flesh out the picture.
 
Re: 6/30 Heart "Hi" again - Rebound?

We can hope it is the high before the break. Many, many, kitties go high right before their numbers break.
Paws crossed you have a better day today.
 
Re: 6/30 Heart "Hi" again - Rebound?

My yummy yellow was at +3, so I figured it would go lower since nadirs on Lantus seem to be between +4 and +7 from what I've read here. I didn't worry at the time though, just thought the new insulin does was finally kicking in, so I didn't want to poke his ear again.

So should I continue on the current dose (3.5) or lower it again in case he's rebounding?
 
Re: 6/30 Heart "Hi" again - Rebound?

In my opinion, and per the protocol, you stick with the same dose until you have enough data to increase or until you have enough data to decrease because the cat is showing you that he/she's outgrown the dose.
Have a look around at other SSs, you are not alone. Have a look at Sienne/Gabby's SS or Tizon's for that matter.

Basically put, the body of the cat has forgotten what normal numbers are. The reference point has been changed and the liver has to re-learn to accept new numbers. Eventually, the liver stops dumping sugar into the system (counter-regulatory hormones) and bouncing diminishes.

Getting a few additional spot checks in there would be helpful... if you can.
 
Re: 6/30 Heart "Hi" again - Rebound?

I'm off for the next five days, three of which I'll be at home, so I'll try and get some curves. The other two days I have to leave town, so I'm a little nervous about the two blind shots my parents will have to give him. I unfortunately have no choice but to leave him (court - happy happy joy joy)
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi" again - Rebound? PMPS 279 - Huh?

Okay this is weird.... His +8 was 385, but then his PMPS was down to 290. I didn't believe it, so I checked again and 268 (entered the middle in the spreadsheet).What is going on? Gets a black firs tthing in the morning, now his PMPS is the lowest I've ever seen at a yellow?

He hasn't eaten much all day that I can tell (not too interested in his wet food and no longer has dry food). But, his behaviour is better than in weeks - even started playfully biting me again
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi" again - Rebound? PMPS 279 - Huh?

As D mentioned, your AMPS may have been a high before a break in the numbers.

If you are going to be away and your folks are shooting blind, do you want them to be shooting your full dose? When I travel, my cat sitter, who's a vet tech, isn't able to test Gabby (basically, because Gabby will take her hand off if she tries). She shoots blind. BUT, we establish a reduced dose. It sounds like you'll be home at night, so it may be less of an issue especially if your folks can make sure that Heart will eat.
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi" again - Rebound? PMPS 279 - Huh?

Okay, NOW I'm worried. His +3 is 101 :shock: Too much of a drop in one day - from one extreme to the other
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi", PM +3 is 101 - Yikes!!

Hope you can catch a test before bedtime - looking great!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi", PM +3 is 101 - Yikes!!

Which shots will your parents be giving him? Do you have time to get a curve before then?
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi", PM +3 is 101 - Yikes!!

You just caught the break after the high numbers.

Please feed a teaspoon or so of LC and can you get a +3.5?
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi", PM +3 is 101 - Yikes!!

Got a +3.75 and it's at 81. Gave him food right after that +3 reading, and now just gave him more plus some Temptations treats. Did I finally catch the break, or am I really messing him up now causing him to crash and then rebound?
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi", PM +3 is 101 - Yikes!!

odiesmom said:
Which shots will your parents be giving him? Do you have time to get a curve before then?

I'll do a mini curve tonight (kind of panicking), and then one tomorrow and I can do one Friday and Saturday, too. I leave Sunday morning and get back Monday night, so they will be giving him his Sunday evening and Monday morning shots. He's at 3.5 units now.
 
Re: 6/30 Heart AMPS "Hi", PM +3 is 101 - Yikes!!

First, Temptations are not the best thing to give when you're trying to steer numbers. Use HC wet food. With an 81, you could try LC, test in 20 min. and see where the numbers are.

Heart is neither crashing nor can you cause or stop rebound.

Remember that dose reductions are earned when numbers fall below 50 in a newly diagnosed (i.e., less than 1 year from diagnosis) cat. If this wasn't safe, we wouldn't do it nor would the research behind the dosing protocol ever get published. We steer the numbers by using HC food. We don't let them get too low because you're testing and have HC food at your disposal. Dry food or treats do not give you the same predictable response as canned food. The dry stuff takes too long to work and hangs around way too long.

Rebound is the body's way of protecting itself. All of our cats have become used to functioning with higher than normal BG levels. Their systems interpret these high numbers as their new "normal." So when numbers are in what is really a normal range, the liver panics and dumps glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the system. This shoots BG numbers up thereby protecting against the "danger" of low numbers. You can't control this. Rather, the more time Heart spends in normal BG ranges, the more his body will stop reacting to those normal numbers.
 
Just letting you know that I'm still up, you know how to reach me if needed.

Just keep testing... feed little bits of can food at a time - you don't want him to get too full all at once.

Hopefully this means he's finally going to start responding properly.
 
His PetCetera food I gave him could be high carb, not sure. It's not listed on that food chart unfortunately. Either way, he's lying beside me right now licking himself, so he seems fine. I'll do another test around 1am (a +5), but I'm pretty whiped. It's hard staying up right now. So tired...
 
Can you set your alarm to check? You kind of want to know that he's heading back up rather than down before letting your guard down.

What are the ingredients in the PetCetera food?
 
80.2% Red Tuna meat
18.998% water
0.7% tricalcium phosphate
0.1% vitamins and minerals
0.002% sodium nitrate

Actually looks pretty good to me ha ha! That's why it smells and looks so much like real tuna. Almost tried it once because I was curious :mrgreen:
 
Yeah I don't think that has much (if any) carbs!

I was looking for like wheat gluten, sweet potatoes, stuff that sounds "carb-y"...
 
Here it is:

http://www.petcetera.ca/Products/Cats/F ... preme.aspx

AND, there is still a petcetera on Tenth Line! I guess it's just the central one that shut down. And it's on sale. And it's open tomorrow. Guess where I'll be going!!

He used to get this stuff every day. Guess that is why he turned diabetic when he moved in with me - I switched him to dry food. Maybe putting him back on his daily Tuna Supreme regime will fix him :)
 
"Gourmat cat food Tuna Supreme entrée with 80% real tuna."

Their marketing makes you wonder if it's 20% FAKE tuna :roll:
 
In order to know the carb content of food, you need the "as fed" values of the contents. Generally you have to call or write the manufacturer to get this info. What's on the can is the "guaranteed analysis" numbers.
 
+5 is up slightly to 94. I guess this means I can stop worrying and go to bed now that it's heading up again!

Wonder what tomorrow will bring...
 
Get ready for bed and do one more if you can, just to make sure?
It's a good sign, you just don't want it to have been within the margin of error and not really heading upwards. Seems like the regular advice for people dealing with potential hypo situations are 2 increasing numbers in a row before letting your guard down.

Yes, morning will be interesting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top