6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +5/54

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46619

Here we go again! Why is it always at night that he is so low? Looks like we may be doing another dose reduction tomorrow morning!
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83

Many cats do run in lower numbers at night. I guess Gizzy just likes PJ parties!!

I'd suggest feeding a small amount of LC to see if it slows things down a bit.
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83

for some reason kitties like to drop at night. it's not unusual.
that's quite a drop. lots of momentum. stay on top of this, k?

i'm so glad you've stepped up the testing...
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83

I gave him a tsp of LC - may give him a bit more. I can always tell when he's going low because he yowls for food! Glad he lets me know!!
I guess this is good that I can keep reducing! I bet I have been overdosing him for a long time since I wasn't testing at night! Ugh. Ugh. Ugh.
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83

Yes, I will stay on top of it. I knew I should have napped today! :YMSIGH: I am so EXHAUSTED from the last few days. I hope I can get his dosage corrected sooner than later.

So get this....I took my other cat to the vet yesterday for his regular checkup. He gained THREE pounds in the last 6 months - apparantly he has been taking full advantage of all the extra feedings Gizzy gets! Holy Moly - I have to get his weight down because I do not want to do this with him too!
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83

I bet I have been overdosing him for a long time since I wasn't testing at night! Ugh. Ugh. Ugh.
that would be my guess. like i said before, i'm so glad you're testing more often these days!

So get this....I took my other cat to the vet yesterday for his regular checkup. He gained THREE pounds in the last 6 months - apparantly he has been taking full advantage of all the extra feedings Gizzy gets! Holy Moly - I have to get his weight down because I do not want to do this with him too!
wow. 3 pounds in 6 months is a lot. smaller portions works around here... for both the four-legged and two-legged varieties. :lol:
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83

Yes, he needs to be on the diet plan big time. The hardest part is that we sold our house in December and are renting an apartment until we find our next house. They are getting absolutely no exercise! I finally got Gizzy to walk the halls twice a day - seems to have helped with his arthritis/neuropathy a bit. Now i just have to get scaredy cat Myles to do the same thing! :smile:
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42

42 at +4! Yikes. Just gave him some HC FF w/ gravy.
I will test more often now.
This is scary stuff.
Should I be lowering his dose more than just .25?
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42

let's talk about dose later, k?
retest in 20 minutes. that's another big drop in an hour...
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42

Crap - he's at 31.
I gave him more HC FF w/ gravy.
What should I do? Karo syrup?
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42

yes, add rub a little karo on his gums and then add a little bit of karo to hc.
retest in 15 minutes...
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

Yeah, he's acting just fine - very hungry
I hope I gave him enough karo syrup
5 more minutes before I test him
My whole body is shaking.
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

take a deep breath... maybe two or three! :-D
let's see where he's at next test...
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

You don't need huge amounts of Karo. Usually several drops (maybe 1/8 teaspoon) will bump numbers up. It's also helpful to give Karo with a very small amount of food. Don't over feed -- you don't want Gizzy to get too full.
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

OK - just whipped up a karo cocktail with 1/8 tsp karo and 1 Tbsp HC FF.
Will test in 15 minutes
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

If you're using HC FF, use more gravy than solids. Again, you may be at this for a while and you're feeding every 20 min. or so. While Gizzy may be hungry due to low numbers, too much food means a full kitty who may refuse food.
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

lori, i have to test and feed here. sienne's here for your next number.
brb...
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

OK - will need to open a new can so will have plenty of gravy coming up! He just jumped up on the counter looking for more....haven't seen him jump in quite a while! :smile:

Hope his numbers spike this next test...
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

I just gave Moonie that cocktail, FF hc gravy & karo, hoping she'll come up too!
Hope Gizzy comes back up for you soon--These cats can make you ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Come back up Gizzy!
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

54 @ +5 Coming up slightly....I'll take it.
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

That's good. It's also the HC talking. Still give some more HC and re-test in 20 - 30 min. If the numbers aren't coming up on their own, the HC will wear off and numbers will drop again. You need to see a couple of rising numbers before you can really relax.
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

Just the HC (with mostly gravy) and no Karo this time - right?
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

good to see him coming up, but like sienne said... this is the hc + karo talking.
tonight's like a couple nights ago... don't let your guard down until you see a nice consistent rise.
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

Thanks Michelle! Looks like you had a couple of these nights this week too! Super fun - huh?!
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

Looks like a few of us are having these nights!!--glad he is coming up!
Hope it's all up from here--Have a good ni ni!
 
Re: 6/30 Gizzy AMPS/384, PMPS/231, +3/83, +4/42; +4.3 31

Must be a full moon or something! Sheesh.
 
Before you guys log off tonight, will you give me your best advice on dosing Gizzy in the morning? I'm guessing his dose is still too high if his #'s went this low. Right now he's at 2.75u (been at this dose for 2 days).
 
i would definitely reduce the dose to 2.5 units.
remain vigilant about testing. you know i've suspected gizzy being over dose. there's no way of knowing what dose he'll level out on. sooooooooo, testing is important in case he continues to throw these low numbers.
 
Thanks - will reduce to 2.5 tomorrow. (I can't believe I wasted so much time having him on the wrong dose. So mad at myself!!)
+5.5 = 82 :thumbup
 
yes! good to see him coming up.
i'll be signing off soon. are you comfortable managing his curve from here?



ps - congrats on the reduction!
 
Yes, I think we are out of the woods, but when do you think I can safely go to sleep?
How do I know that this isn't all HC and karo? I suppose because we are getting later in the curve?
 
pistull said:
Yes, I think we are out of the woods, but when do you think I can safely go to sleep?
How do I know that this isn't all HC and karo? I suppose because we are getting later in the curve?
if i were in your shoes i would feed him some lc now, cat nap for an hour, get up and retest. if he's higher than 81, feed him some more lc, leave some food out for him to nibble on, and go to bed.

if he's lower than 81, you'll probably have to continue testing until you see a nice rise.
 
Part is that it's later in the curve. If you set an alarm for an hour, will you be able to wake up and test? I extend out the time. If the test that's an hour out is a surf or rising, you're good. You can always leave out some MC/HC food.
 
Yes, I will feed and retest in an hour. I think Gizzy thinks he won the lottery or something with all this food tonight! (AND GRAVY NONETHELESS!!!)

THANK YOU LADIES - AGAIN!!!!!! YOU'RE WONDERFUL!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top