6/30 China PMPS 162,+1.5 181,+2.5 206,+5 279 Bouncing??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/30 China +12 65, +12.5 65,+13 75 No Shot or Stall?

At +12.5, still 65 and +13 BG 75

I have to leave home in a couple hours and be gone for 3-4 hours (at least) so can't be around to test. What's the best thing to do?
 
Re: 6/30 China +12 65, +12.5 65,+13 75 No Shot or Stall?

I'd be inclined to shoot. You can always leave out HC food if it looks like China's numbers warrant.
 
Re: 6/30 China +12 65, +12.5 65,+13 75 No Shot or Stall?

If you stall, and don't feed for another 30 minutes, can your schedule handle that for tomorrow?
 
Re: 6/30 China +12 65, +12.5 65,+13 75 No Shot or Stall?

Chris --

Do what you're comfortable with. China's been seeing some great numbers and I would hate to see you lose momentum. You know your cat. If you're concerned that you won't be home, then skip. She'll get back on track.
 
Re: 6/30 China +12 65, +12.5 65,+13 75 No Shot or Stall?

OK...here goes ....went ahead and gave her insulin and fed. Can't really stall anymore. Will retest before I have to leave (and maybe before then too) so I can see where she might be going (but she's fooled me before too)

Now I need some advice on how to report today's results....is it AMPS 75?? or AMPS 65 since that's what it was at the actual AMPS time?
 
Re: 6/30 China +12 65, +12.5 65,+13 75 No Shot or Stall?

Sienne, that's my concern too....Finally seeing some really good numbers for China after several weeks of craziness and I want to do what's best for her. IF I can get her OTJ at some point, it'd make our lives so much better since I don't see my need to be in 2 places at the same time stopping anytime soon. I have to go when Mom needs me, but I also want a healthy China

Thank you for all your advice and support
 
Re: 6/30 China +12 65, +12.5 65,+13 75 No Shot or Stall?

The pre-shot number is always the number you use when you shoot. So if the 75 was when you shot, that's your AMPS. Remember, your PM shot will need to be a little later. You can move the shot time back by 30 min. tonight and then move it back again tomorrow night. Or, you can move the shot 15 min. every time you shoot until you're back on schedule.
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79

Just stopping back in to report that I gave China a baby teaspoon of HC before I left the house (didn't know how long I'd have to be gone) and just got home...at 5.5 she's at 79 so she must not have gotten much of a spike from the tiny bit she got..but it made me feel better knowing I'd fed it to her

If she keeps this up, may be a reduction in her future!?!?
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

Something just didn't feel right so I did a quick test....only 32, so gave her a couple drops of syrup and a tiny spoon of HC....anything else I should be doing right now?
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

You reacted perfectly. Test again in 30 minutes and post. That'll help with what to do next.

And congrats on the dose reduction! Time to come up a bit now China. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

Wow, Chris, well she got her reduction. I would retest in 20 minutes and post. Good catch!! :-D
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

Usually I give a good size tsp full of HC at this point, but adding the syrup will help. Did you give just the gravy or the HC food as well?
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

She hasn't had a dose reduction yet Wendy, but if her numbers stay where they've been the last couple of days, I think it might be a good idea! I'm hoping she comes up enough that I feel comfortable giving her ANY Lantus tonight, but that's several hours off yet

Will retest at 30 minutes
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

Did you give just the gravy or the HC food as well?

A little of both...she LOVES the gravy part...not so much the little pieces of food in it (it's FF Gravy Lovers Salmon)
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

Thanks Cleo...she was sitting on my leg and started acting a little weird, kind of hacking a little...so it was time to test..I'm just glad I didn't pass it over as a hairball or something
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

Chris, China has now earned a dose reduction of .25 units with that 32 today.

Is China otherwise acting fine now?
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

Great catch!

A drop below 50 warrants a dose reduction for a newly diagnosed diabetic cat. Unless she bounces to the moon at PMPS, you'll want to shoot your new dose of 0.75u.
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32

Up to 93 now...that syrup is wonderful, but I'll retest in another 30 to make sure she doesn't take another dive. I'll remove the 911 for now, but may be back

Thanks everyone! I'll definitely go with the .75 tonight if she's doing ok
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+1.5 97,+5.5 79, +8.5 32,+9 93

Nice! Good to keep testing. The HC can wear off.
 
Re: 6/30 China AMPS 75,+5.5 79, +8.5 32,+9 93,+9.5 157,+10.5

Recap of 6/30

+12 65
AMPS 75
+1.5 BG 97
+5.5 BG 79
+8.5 BG 32 (2 drops syrup, baby tsp HC, 1/4 can LC)
+9 BG 93
+9.5 BG 157
+10.5 BG `151

Going to reduce to .75 at PMPS if she doesn't have a big bounce
 
Re: 6/30 China +5.5 79, +8.5 32,+9 93,+9.5 157,+10.5 151PMPS

Something just didn't feel right so I did a quick test....only 32

Amazing instincts! People should always "trust their gut". Great catch, and it looks like the bounce didn't happen either, which is fantastic. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 6/30 China PMPS 162,+1.5 181

Just a quick note to THANK YOU! It's been a stressful day, with me having to leave after China getting her 1 unit and not being able to test several times..she started so low compared to where we're usually at, it was just uncomfortable. I know I'm never alone when I have questions or am scared, and that means so much.

If it weren't for everything I learned here, I'm not sure I would have trusted my instincts and done the test that scared the living daylights out of me! If there's one thing I've learned well from here, it's if ANYTHING is even a little different about China, do a test

Think for safety's sake, I'll get some tests overnight to make sure we don't have a repeat of earlier today!
 
Recap of 6/30

+12 65
AMPS 75
+1.5 BG 97
+5.5 BG 79
+8.5 BG 32 (2 drops syrup, baby tsp HC, 1/4 can LC)
+9 BG 93
+9.5 BG 157
+10.5 BG `151

PMPS 162
+1.5 BG 181
+2.5 BG 206
+5 BG 279

Are the higher numbers tonight probably a bounce from the 32 earlier?
 
That's what it looks like. I said earlier that it didn't look like you were seeing any bouncing, but it looks like I was wrong? It does seem to be a "delayed reaction" bounce though.

The bright side is that it looks like you can get some sleep tonight. ;-)
 
looks like I was wrong?

Yeah, she seems to enjoy confusing things

I keep trying to get China to read the manual on how it's supposed to work, but she's much more of a TV cat than one who enjoys reading....LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top