6/30 Callie AMPS 99, +2.5 61 AT, +3.25 74 AT - nervous about reducing and photo :)

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-25-callie-amps-68-1-114-both-at.262448/#post-2941735

Hi everyone! It's been a while since I posted. Things are going well with Callie. She's been in good numbers and I have been tweaking her dose up and down between .75 and .25 since the end of February, reducing after 3 drops below 50/68 and increasing when her #s and nadirs started to trend higher.

Today we had our third drop below 50/68 on .25 for the first time. (I triple-checked the AlphaTrak reading just to be sure lol.)

I plan to reduce her to .1 tonight but I am nervous about the reduction since the majority of Callie's preshot numbers are still in the low blues and she has occasional blues at other times. I think some of these blues could be mini bounces after fast drops but they could be lack of duration. Or maybe Callie just tends to be on the higher end of normal naturally...

The recent blues are mostly in "normal" range and within meter variance of green but I have noticed that the majority of cats here are in all green by the time they are at .1 so I wanted to check in with you all to see if there is something different I should be doing.

Note re SS: Since our Relion tends to read higher than our AlphaTrak in low numbers, you'll see that Callie's SS has AT numbers recorded in most of the day cycles, which is when she tends to drop hard and fast. (I stopped giving her higher carbs to slow the drops at +1 because it seemed to shorten duration and keep Callie higher for the last half of the cycle.)

Thanks, as always, for your input/ advice :bighug: Huge thanks from Callie too!! :cat:

upload_2022-6-30_13-15-3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-30_13-15-3.jpeg
    upload_2022-6-30_13-15-3.jpeg
    73.7 KB · Views: 193
Jessica, Cali of California and I were just thinking about you and Callie, hoping all was well with you. Good to see her, cute as ever with her catitude. We tout how Bhooma [Bandit’s mom] supported you in an awesome way. While we lurked and quietly cheered you on. Bhooma and Elise are helping us now and we are holding the course as we do the sugar dance up and down the charts.

HAVE a happy and safe 4th of July.
Cheers, carlascalico
 
Your next dose will be 0.10. I will attach a picture.
upload_2022-6-30_15-32-3.jpeg


Callie looks great! Good luck with the decrease.

The amps/pmps is often the last to come down. Try giving a small snack at +9. That often helps because a working pancreas brings the bg down 3-4 hours after eating.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-30_15-32-3.jpeg
    upload_2022-6-30_15-32-3.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 207
Jessica, Cali of California and I were just thinking about you and Callie, hoping all was well with you. Good to see her, cute as ever with her catitude. We tout how Bhooma [Bandit’s mom] supported you in an awesome way. While we lurked and quietly cheered you on. Bhooma and Elise are helping us now and we are holding the course as we do the sugar dance up and down the charts.

HAVE a happy and safe 4th of July.
Cheers, carlascalico
Hello California Cali and Carla :) :cat: Thanks for stopping by! It is great to see Cali doing so well.

You are definitely in the very best hands with Elise and Bhooma. Both have helped us so much and having Bhooma’s guidance and support into the wee hours of so many mornings has been absolutely priceless to me and Callie.

Wishing a very happy and safe 4th to you and yours! And happy and safe surfing to your beautiful girl!! Callie and I will be checking in on you both :bighug:
 
Your next dose will be 0.10. I will attach a picture.
View attachment 64672

Callie looks great! Good luck with the decrease.

The amps/pmps is often the last to come down. Try giving a small snack at +9. That often helps because a working pancreas brings the bg down 3-4 hours after eating.
Thanks, Elise! Time to pull out those calipers I think.

We usually do a snack at +8 or +8.5. I’ll try moving it a little later to +9 to see if that makes a difference.

Might just be Callie’s stubborn streak holding on to these remaining blues. She does like to be different :rolleyes: Hope all is well with you and your girls :cat: .
 
Hi Diane, thanks so much for the tags and Callie love!

She’s my ♥️ so I’m definitely biased but I cannot resist that face. (And she’s got plenty to say when I try! She’s a calico through and through — personality for days :p )
You're very welcome ,my sister has 2 Calico's so I know what you mean about their personalities . Good luck with the new dose she is looking great :bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hi there! Just wanted to say what a bee-yoo-ti-ful spreadsheet Callie has, and what a lovely girl she is :)
Thank you! Credit for our much-improved spreadsheet (and our much-improved Callie :cat:) really goes to all of the wonderful people here on FDMB. We would have been completely lost without you all! I am sooo soooo grateful.
Plus...I tried not to say this but I can't resist...you mean "callie"pers (sorry) :facepalm:
Ha! Love it! ;)
 
Hello cutie! :kiss:

Good to hear from you, Jessica :-) Elise said it all, so I have nothing to add except congrats and good luck with the reduction!

I may have already said this before, but check the syringes before you use them to see that the top of the plunger aligns with the zero mark when fully pressed. Callipers would be the best way to accurately measure 0.10U.
 
Hello cutie! :kiss:

Good to hear from you, Jessica :) Elise said it all, so I have nothing to add except congrats and good luck with the reduction!

I may have already said this before, but check the syringes before you use them to see that the top of the plunger aligns with the zero mark when fully pressed. Callipers would be the best way to accurately measure 0.10U.
Thanks, Bhooma :bighug: That's a good reminder about the plunger and zero mark. I can't even tell you how many syringes I've tossed because the lines were so uneven or I couldn't twist drops out properly to fine-tune dosing. I guess all of that matters less for humans since they aren't dosing such small amounts of insulin.

I haven't quite mastered the calipers yet but will try to get some practice in tomorrow. Hope you, Bandit and Budge are doing well!!
 
Back
Top