6/30 Cali amps 274, +5 199, PMPS 239

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Don't worry I feel like a PJ party is in the near future ;)

Hey Angela, thanks for that. Looks like we are going up to 2.5 U in the AMPS. So PJ party will probably come over 4th of July weekend. Happened last 4th of July just as we were readying to go to friend’s house for BBQ. Cali throws us a lime, I panicked and threw her big blob of karo syrup. Yep, big bounce for next couple of days. Hope Cleo is doing well. HAPPY & safe July 4th weekend to you and loved ones. BTW, check out Callie of New York [Jessica posted picture of that calico beauty, another with a catitude!
 
PM+2 snack
PM+5 [215] 1Tbsp LC seems she has flattened out.
Lower PMPS, so hopefully some greens tonight.

Wondering if anything else could have caused the higher numbers - any food she shoudn't have had? furshots? anything else bothering her?

NOT aware of anything causing the stream of yellows - her food is consistent, Friskies pate [we did try a can of chicken&tuna pate variety which I can check the carbs], always on the lookout for crumbs she may have confiscated from DH snacks, very careful about shots, all else seems good - we try soothing her when tests now even if higher # to keep her stress down.

If one didn’t look at her numbers, you wouldn’t know she is diabetic now. More active and engaged, less grumpy [less pain].

one question nags at me from OLD OLD advice pre LEVEMIR on that FB group that seemed to constantly suggest to people that “they may have overshot that right dose, that too much insulin might look like too little, and the person should reset dose back to some minuscule amount and start over”. I am paraphrasing but I don’t understand that thinking or rationale. I know we do not do this, but why would that action be employed ever, what evidence or experience would even suggest that. Yet back then I read people were advised and doing that, although you never saw data that demonstrated success with that methodology. Any insight on this Bhooma? Is it simply not unlike different veterinarians advising different clients with different treatments for the same symptoms? We know the TR protocol is a demonstrable proven, repeatable successful technique enjoyed by the hundreds of cats in a controlled level of BGs or ultimately remission.
 
one question nags at me from OLD OLD advice pre LEVEMIR on that FB group that seemed to constantly suggest to people that “they may have overshot that right dose, that too much insulin might look like too little, and the person should reset dose back to some minuscule amount and start over”. I am paraphrasing but I don’t understand that thinking or rationale. I know we do not do this, but why would that action be employed ever, what evidence or experience would even suggest that. Yet back then I read people were advised and doing that, although you never saw data that demonstrated success with that methodology. Any insight on this Bhooma? Is it simply not unlike different veterinarians advising different clients with different treatments for the same symptoms? We know the TR protocol is a demonstrable proven, repeatable successful technique enjoyed by the hundreds of cats in a controlled level of BGs or ultimately remission.
There is an FB group that loves recommending resets. And it almost never works. It just leaves a cat in higher numbers for too long leading to glucose toxicity. Why they continue to recommend that, we don't know. Similarly, when switching between insulins, some vets/groups recommend switching at a much lower dose and that too leads to the same problem.

With the amount of testing we do, we know how low the dose is taking the cat and so there is no chance of too much insulin looking like too little insulin. When following the TR protocol and testing as much as we do, the chances of bypassing a good dose are near non-existent.

Not sure what's causing Cali's higher numbers. I guess you go up in dose tomorrow morning!
 
Thanks Bhooma for your input. I did/do have concern for those kitties that may not move forward. You are right, our data is reliable with so many tests. Other formats don’t show past or future context, just a moment in time - and we know that can change drastically, even within days.

Cali gets a snack @ +8 or +9 and we will increase to 2.5U at AMPS. Also based on your reminder to Jessica, I am going to triple check those syringes for the zero line and continue to press toward confidence with those calipers. I do notice that the syringes little rubber plunger can sometimes appear to not be level inside the syringe. Also I use mark where the bevel is on each syringe before using to give an easier insertion into Cali’s scruff so she doesn’t jerk. Those tiny bevels are sometimes hard to see, I feel cross eyed staring at them. :banghead:

Hugs to your girls and you. See you at AMPS :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top