6/3 Tuxie AMPS-491;+2-450; +5-306; PMPS-437; +2-371; +3-245; +4-202; +5-193; +6-139; +7-130 blue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
ALPHA TRAK 2 PET METER Reads higher than human meter

Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-256-9-337-pmp-445-getting-frustrated.138843/

This is Tuxie's 8th cycle of the dose increase and finally he is showing a bit of action. I have found in the past that it can take 5 days (10 cycles) or even more for him to adjust to dose changes.

His morning numbers were not remarkable. His PM +3 showed 125 drop from his +2 so I gave him a drop of syrup with regular food to keep him from dropping too fast. Fingers crossed for some more gentle drops through this cycle.
 
Last edited:
Looking much better tonight. Almost blue. :) It does look like another case of Tuxie taking his time with a new dose.
 
Hi Mary Ann,

Good idea to give that syrup to try and slow that drop. Hopefully Tuxie won't bounce with a drop of 125 in one hour but he could. This happened to me a lot. Sheba used to beat me to it....still happens. Just keep testing around the time the insulin kicks in. You will get to know when the insulin starts to ease off and taper. You are doing a good job monitoring it...I know how frustrating and time consuming it is. Tuxie drops in big numbers like Sheba!
Its great he is responding to the dose!:)
Come on Tuxie...come on down to blue
 
Hi Mary Ann,

Good idea to give that syrup to try and slow that drop. Hopefully Tuxie won't bounce with a drop of 125 in one hour but he could. This happened to me a lot. Sheba used to beat me to it....still happens. Just keep testing around the time the insulin kicks in. You will get to know when the insulin starts to ease off and taper. You are doing a good job monitoring it...I know how frustrating and time consuming it is. Tuxie drops in big numbers like Sheba!
Its great he is responding to the dose!:)
Come on Tuxie...come on down to blue

I liked your idea of the syrup rather than MC or HC for fast drops. If Tuxie were going too low (been awhile for that) I would give syrup and carbs, but with his numbers still higher I just want to slow the drop. I expect a bounce tomorrow...hopefully not too much.
 
Looking much better tonight. Almost blue. :) It does look like another case of Tuxie taking his time with a new dose.

Tuxie just squeaked into the blues on his +5 reading. He definitely takes his time. I really need to allow a minimum 5 days for dose changes and bouncing even though the TR really calls for 3 days for dose adjustments. I guess Tuxie never got that memo :)
 
Go Tuxie!! Mary Ann, hope your bronchitis is better as well! :bighug:

Thank you. The ventolin inhaler my son brought me yesterday seems to be helping along with lots of little (what else) cat naps!

I hope Tuxie is stable for his +7 test...I really want to get some more sleep.
 
I know it is not a great plan but I gave Tuxie a teaspoon of 14% at +7. His numbers seems to be stable, but I really need to get some sleep. I will probably be sorry in the morning but I need to finish getting better too. Good nit all!
 
You have to do what you have to do. If you are not well, you can't look after Tuxie.
Hope you can get a good sleep. That 14% carb will wear off in a few hours anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top