6/3 Tidus AMBG 257 /4:52am PMBG 322/ 10:30pm, BG 326/4am

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72261

Of course I can't sleep...went to sleep at 1am and he was doing fairly well. Still following me around every time I go up looking for food. I woke up at 4:30 to find him laying next to food/water bowl in the bathroom. He didnt even move when he saw me. I fed him 1/3 can and he ate it all but can barely stand up. His BG was 257 but that was AFTER he ate by about 15 min. My initial instinct was to feed him, not even thinking to test because he hasn't been that high.

Suggestions on when to test again to see if BG is food induced?
 
Re: 6/3 Tidus BG 257 at 4:52 am

It depends on what you fed him.

Is he dehydrated. Vomiting and diarehhea can cause dehydration very quickly. If he is lethargic my first instinct would be to pinch test to see if he needs fluids.

Pinch by the scruff and if it doesn't snap back he needs fluids. You can compare by doing the test on your other cats.

I just read yesterday's condo...did your vet do a canine parvo quick test? To check for panleukopenia? All those symptoms sound very familiar to me. Vomiting, not eating, blood in the stool, ...
 
Re: 6/3 Tidus BG 257 at 4:52 am

I think he was dehydrated. Gave him 100ml subq and about an hour later he was "back to normal" (not sure what normal is). He went from looking lifeless with no meow, no energy, ears super hot...now His meow was back, jumping on the toilet, and starving, cold hears. Fed him 1 tbsp. Paws crossed he just needed fluids and he will be ok the rest of the day
 
Re: 6/3 Tidus BG 257 at 4:52 am

Sending some healing vines for Tidus. I'm glad the fluids helped and Tidus will be okay thru the day.
 
Re: 6/3 Tidus BG 257 at 4:52 am

I'd test again at your "usual" AMPS time.

Unless you fed Tidus a large meal of HC food, I doubt that the 257 is entirely a food induced high. Tidus may need a bit of help to get those numbers back down. (It's also possible that it was a bad test.)
 
Re: 6/3 Tidus BG 257 at 4:52 am PMPS 322

The Vet said to give insulin if over 220. He was 257 this am and I didn't give it to him and did not test him today :sad:

He is now at 322. I'm thinking to give him .5u (that is what I had started him on the other day ) or should I wait until the morning and clarify with my vet? Since we still don't know what is wrong with him I'm kind of afraid to give him insulin it being at night.
 
Re: 6/3 Tidus AMBG 257 at 4:52 am PMBG 322

Jenn:

It's pretty clear that Tidus needs insulin. I'd be careful about skipping shots. You could be setting Tidus up for DKA. Please test for ketones.
 
Re: 6/3 Tidus AMBG 257 at 4:52 am PMBG 322

I sure hope little Tidus feels better soon and they figure out what''s going on with him so they can fix it already.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 6/3 Tidus AMBG 257 at 4:52 am PMBG 322

Because of the time I decided NOT to give insulin. Calling vet this morning to verify to give insulin and will post update in new condo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top