6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 +5.5 = 110 PMPS = 589???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351

Hey there neighbor--great you joined us at Lantus Land; there are so many people here that will help you.

I see your dilemma re: food, but can offer no advice. Maybe you should put a ? in your subject line as you'll get more attention to your post. To do this, you can maybe make your subject line as follows:

6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 ? no food after nadir

and then click the ? icon....

You're doing a fantastic job~have a wonderful week :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351

It can be difficult in a multiple cat household to know who's eating what. If Tashie needs to gain weight, then making food available may need to trump other issues. Fundamentally, it's important that you're aware that feeding late can influence a pre-shot number so you can factor that in if you don't like the way Tashie's numbers look. The other thought is that as long as you know that Tashie is getting the necessary amount of calories on a daily basis, it doesn't matter if you are feeding prior to +6 or allowing her to free feed.

When Kat suggested you add a "?" to your subject line, you need to edit your first post in the thread. The only subject line that's visible on the Board is the one from your first post. So, when you test and have numbers to add, have a question, want eyes on your condo (thread), you need to edit that first subject line.
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351

Thanks Sienne. I am taking food AWAY +10 so there is a 2 hour no food down.

Gosh, I'm thick - I THOUGHT I did "edit" subject line - can you tell me exactly how to do this. I added the ? no food after nadir plus the "?" but it didn't "hold" ????

I have "blonde" days! .....I can say that!
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 ? no food after nadir

Change it in your first post then in your subject line to look like the above
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 ? Dosing Question

Thanks! Have a DOSING question.

Tonight we will be at 3 days / 6 cycles of .5U.

What do I know- but wondering if we need to go up to .75U?

Will be doing +6 test at 1:30 EST

Thanks!
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 ? Dosing Question

I would hold the dose.

If you are following the TR protocol:

Increasing the dose
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

The bold is mine but its where Tashie is right now....her nadirs are less than 200 so we suggest you hold the dose ten consecutive cycles unless she earns a reduction by going below 50.

The other thing I need to add, and I do understand that Tashie is very shy and isn't acclimating so well to testing, we a all going to be reticent about suggesting a dose increase without having some idea of what she is doing at night. With no tests, you are missing half your data and cats like to go low at night. I am only suggesting a before bed test....just one...that's all. But every night. I'm sorry but she could be going lower at night and if you don't catch that she's dropping, and we increase the dose, you will be back where she was before. She is still bouncing but not so high.
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 ? Dosing Question

Okay, thank you . Just want to make sure I'm following at least some of the protocol! Will do a AM +6 and a PM +4 or so and post. Going to try some shrimpies for her - just because I won't eat them I shouldn't deprive my children!
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 ? Dosing Question

BorisV said:
Going to try some shrimpies for her - just because I won't eat them I shouldn't deprive my children!
:lol: :lol: :lol: You're doing a great job!
Liz
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 ? Dosing Question

BorisV said:
...Will do a AM +6 and a PM +4 or so and post. Going to try some shrimpies for her - just because I won't eat them I shouldn't deprive my children!
Purr-fect on the testing. And surely you know that if that PM+4 is low, you may be in for a pajama party :lol: :lol: :lol: On the shrimpies--gross, but I do the same thing for Gobbles--some of the catfood flavors are the stinkiest thing in the world, but anything for The Gobby
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 +5.5 = 110

Just ran home to test. it was at +5.5 and she was 100. She seems to have the "blues" again - she likes GREEN more as she feels much better then :roll: ........I'm tryin'!

Back to work and then get some of those stinky shrimpies - Ewwww! HATE ALL SEAFOOD! Ick!

And I am off to procure some "Yeowwwww Stinkies Catnip Sardines" - they've never really done the catnip thing but these come highly recommended - my pristine house is gonna stink! Oh, well! What the princess needs is what she will get!


Off I go.......
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 +5.5 = 110

BorisV said:
Just ran home to test. it was at +5.5 and she was 100. She seems to have the "blues" again - she likes GREEN more as she feels much better then :roll: ........I'm tryin'!

Back to work and then get some of those stinky shrimpies - Ewwww! HATE ALL SEAFOOD! Ick!

And I am off to procure some "Yeowwwww Stinkies Catnip Sardines" - they've never really done the catnip thing but these come highly recommended - my pristine house is gonna stink! Oh, well! What the princess needs is what she will get!


Off I go.......
Wow--awesome dip in the pool Tashie!!! And as Marje said, a lot of cats go low into the night, so getting that PM+4 is going to give you some very good data :-D I'm with you on the seafood--I abhor it; and absolutely gross out when I see someone gobbling up sushi...yuk!!! Tashi is certainlys royalty; though you must obey the queen (if you value your head)!!! I don't know if you knew it, but Gobbles was knighted a few months back.... Princess Sabrina (who co-starred with him in his OTJ video) bestowed him with knighthood though he surely didn't earn it (er, does the name Dudley mean anything to you?) :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm sure she'll bestow him as a lord in his own right and probably bump him up to earl-hood: probably the "Earl of Yum-chester" :shock:

We have several princesses here in the Kingdom of LL; Sabrina, Gracie & now Tashi !!! and I'll bet there are many more little preenies out there :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/3 Tashie AMPS 351 +5.5 = 110

Thanks neighbor! I need ALL the support I can get! You are fab! I only hope that one day, I can do the same! Merci!

HATE fishies! Hate them!
 
Tashie is bouncing. It's a very annoying, but normal, phenomenon. Here's the scoop. Bounces occur for at least 2 reasons: a kitty that's not used to being in lower/normal numbers drops into that range or there is a fast drop in numbers. Numbers don't have to be unusually low to trigger a bounce. Rather, they need to be in a range that your cat's body has "forgotten" is normal. When this happens, the liver and pancreas overreact. When this overreaction occurs, a stored form of glucose, glucagon, and counterregulatory hormones are released which causes BG levels to spike back up. (Hence the term, "bounce.") It can take roughly 72 hours for a bounce to clear. The more time Tashie spends in normal numbers the less frequently bounces will occur.
 
SO, just continue to dose @ .5U and watch her. Maybe I'm nuts but it seems that she is a bit "dazed" after her insulin shot - for a couple of hours - she is not hitting LOW but she seems spacey?
 
I have to wonder, based on other days, if Tashie's issue might be that she is diving down to these nice, blue numbers.

The best way to know? A +2 test. If you catch the dive and flatten it, you might be able to keep her from bouncing so hard.

How do we flatten and stop the dives? Food management. Many cats, including Gabby and Gracie when she was on lantus, like to drop early and feeding them on a schedule early, helps slow the drop.

Or, as Sienne said, she could have come down into green numbers after +5.5 and just isn't sure she likes those numbers yet.
 
I've been feeding her BEFORE bed so she has something through the night. Bought them new food today - could that be it? It is ALL LC - under 8% just some different stuff to keep her interested - and she WAS! Even gave them "shrimpies" - EWWWW! Hate that - even touched them (now THAT is LOVE) and they haven't touched them! Like - Ewwww, Mummy! What ARE you thinking!
Marje, I'll do a +2 but that is all for tonight - I just get too worked up - will that suffice for now?

But why does she seem so "down" after her shot?
 
Ok so what do you think I am going to ask next? Bearing in mind she is bouncing off a low number... And although lantus usually has a nadir at 5-7, every cat is different..
 
Sounds good. If she seems off, then let's see if her BG reflects that in any way.. Higher or lower.

You should routinely get a before bed test anyway..

Wendy
 
Will do in 18 minutes and update SS and post - THANKS! Please stay with me - I'm getting wobbly (again)
 
Eh she is probbaly going to be high. This is just a test to see if she acts "low" and how her BG is... I would be more interested in a +2 and wondering about a low, when she is yellow or blue at preshot.
And also it's a good habit to get Into..
 
FWIW, my cat always went into a very deep sleep after her shots.... ( she slept better then she ever has in her entire life- very deep like she had been given a sleeping pill)
She doesn't sleep that soundly now that she's not on insulin.
I think it was just the insulin's affect on her.

You can make notes for yourself so you can observe when different behaviours happen or how she responds to different foods.

Insulin is a hormone. So I think different cats have different responses to learn.
 
Thanks for that Rhiannon! She seems to be almost in a "trance" - yet I KNOW she is not having a LOW. She is a very little girl so maybe this is just a lot for her? She's 15 1/4 and only 5 pounds and her world has been turned upside down
 
Hold on!!! Just test her before bed tonight.

She seems to be going down fast during the day. The +2 in the morning is the test I'd like to see if possible. And then if you could do the same thing you did today.....+5.5/+6?
 
I know mine was not feeling very good when her numbers were high....
but I don't think she liked being real low either.... ( in her unique circumstance, she doesn't seem to like being under 70)

And there isn't any data out there about how long it takes them to become diabetic....
it seems to take a while...
most of us don't catch it right away....
many of the cats lose several pounds before diagnosis....
so there is a lot going on in Tashie's body right now.... she has a lot of healing to do....

My cat went otj from the collective wisdom here....
and Marje was my personal guide....
She knows her stuff....

It's scary at first... an awful lot to absorb and read and learn.....
and unfortunately, the only way you know how your cat is doing is by testing.... and seeing those numbers....


Tashie might be hiding because she's not liking the way she is feeling inside.... it might not be the testing, that's just something else new happening now....
As long as you give a treat with the testing, they start looking forward to that part.
But while their numbers are high, they aren't feeling like their old selves.... they know something isn't right and their cells are starving.... without the right nutrition ...
so over time...
and getting to at least the regulation numbers is key to their body healing....

My Shadow hid a lot in the early days....
 
OOpps! Just I need to get into the habit of updating my subject line - sorry! Just did PM +2 = HIGH. Why? She's gone up. I know that on the Lantus chart they can be "similar" to the PS # ........just SO confused and worried.
 
Lots of posts....you might want to read back through them for the info.

Just based on what my diabetic friends have said, it doesn't feel good to go from a high number to a much lower one. I think she took a big dive today somewhere in there.

ECID but I've noticed that Gracie actually bounces worse when she dives then when she's been in low numbers.
 
And what did you mean when you said "feed her early" .....sorry - I should use the quote - just a tired wreck right now
 
How do we flatten and stop the dives? Food management. Many cats, including Gabby and Gracie when she was on lantus, like to drop early and feeding them on a schedule early, helps slow the drop.

Please clarify - I have been REMOVING ALL FOOD 2 hours PRIOR to PRE shot testing - right?
 
You might want to read this when you are not tired from work. And since you got a +2, don't get a before bed. Just call it a night on the testing and save your strips.

To answer your question, first, you find out when they are diving. My guess is that Tashie is dropping early....+2/+3 timeframe maybe?

When you have a kitty that does that, you "frontload" the feeding. If you know how many calories Tashie gets per day, divide it into two (two cycles, right). Many cats respond well to feeding at PS, +1, +2, +3.

Example: Tashie gets 4 oz of food per cycle (I'm, obviously making this up). If you feed her at PS, +1, +2, +3, then you would feed her 1 oz at each feeding. OR, you might find, as I did with Gracie when she was on lantus, that feeding her a larger portion at PS and +1 and smaller ones at +2, +3 works. The idea is to have food on board when the insulin kicks in at +2.

Manage the curve with food---->flatten the curve----->adjust the dose (if necessary).

How do you do this if you work? An auto feeder....many members use them. How will Tashie adjust? Well, before FD, I free fed Gracie. Whenever she walked in the kitchen and squawked, she got a small portion of food and we did this all day and evening until her total portion was done. She adjusted just fine to the switch. In fact for quite some time now, if I don't have her food ready ON TIME, she is letting me know. She knows exactly when she is supposed to eat.

A couple caveats: it can take time to see a change and you might have to mess with it to find the schedule that works best for Tashie because she hid her "caregiver's manual" right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top