6/3 Simon AMPS 83 +6/76 +10/86 back on the wagon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
yesterday

All-righty, folks. Today it looks like Simon is back on the wagon. I will try a trial tomorrow if you guys think I should! I can only think of one lower dose--I would basically inject the insulin left in the needle by pushing firmly (with the stopper at the bottom before injection). I guess that would be a "drop." Or I can just try the trial.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I think this is entirely your call!! (Wasn't that helpful?!)
That was totally helpful :lol:

But tell me--how does one do a trial (when to test?) I know it's ten days. What are the criteria for "passing?" Is it staying below 120 the whole time?
 
Kim

It's fourteen days. :-D

Here are the instructions:

---Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
---If Simon is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
--If, after 2 weeks Simon has stayed in normal numbers, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Congratulations and we will all be cheering him on!!!
 
I did the drop left in the needle dose for about a day. But then Atticus was easy and throwing me 49s all the time. But you could lower to that for a few days if you want. I doubt it will make a huge difference either way. Simon's been feeling a trial coming on for some time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top