6/3 - Noodle AMPS 82 (Non-pressing ? about BD syringes inside)

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
Last Condo

Man, has it been a busy few days! Work has been non-stop and I haven't been getting many tests over the past few days between AMPS and PMPS. I thought working from home was supposed to give you more time :banghead:

Noodle got her stitches removed on Saturday and, though they were braced for a fight from her, she was perfectly behaved and it took only a few minutes! She's out of the onesie and nearly back to normal. One thing I've noticed giving her shots on her shoulders and sides again (I've been using her flanks when she was in the onesie) is it somehow feels different? I don't know how to describe it, but it's like I'm getting more resistance and not able to tent her skin as well as before. I wonder if its tightness from the incision making it more difficult? I'll keep paying attention to it I guess.

Overall, she seems to have bounced back really well and I'm so pleased with her recovery so far. Had a couple back to back issues on Thursday PM/Friday AM when she missed two shots in a row, but looks like she stayed pretty stable despite that. Now that we're a bit removed from surgery and getting back to normal I want to start thinking about her insulin dose and how to approach that. I do think I've been testing enough in general to tackle TR, but it's hard at a low dose where all reductions/increases have to be measured in drops. I've been looking for a new set of calipers that might make it easier to measure her dose more consistently with the BD syringes.

In that vein: does anyone know if the BD syringes hold any insulin in the "cap" and how much if so? I guess I could try to test it and see if any comes out after I push most of the insulin out so the plunger is flush. Hmm..

Hope everyone is having a nice week so far!
 
I never found a problem with insulin in my BD syringes (Ultrafine II, there isn't a hub), but the zero line was often horribly misplaced. Often had as much as a 1/3 of unit above the zero line. So I made sure to press the plunger in to find out where true zero was, and measure from there. Neko's dose for a while was measured under the zero line. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top