6/3 Newman AMPS 427

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Linda and Newman, Jun 3, 2022.

  1. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2022
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  2. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    How’s Newman doing today?
     
  3. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I haven't gotten any spot checks today. He has not joined me on my desk as he usually does. Otherwise, his behavior is typical. He eats and naps and eats and naps....... While he may be a little less social, his moves around the house are quite normal.

    And then as if on cue, he was there. I poked him and got 249 @ +8.5
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2022
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  4. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    PMPS 326 I think it is okay to shoot the 1.25. @Suzanne & Darcy Sound okay to you?
     
  5. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. Perfect.
     
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So we need to look at whether or not he is bouncing or needs an increase. Count the number of cycles at 1.25. He saw blue on the 1.25 dose. We hold doses with blue nadirs for 10 cycles (not 10 days). The same caveat applies as always: unless he drops low and needs a reduction.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  7. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Today was the 5th cycle. He got blue on the 3rd cycle, but it was skewed when I fed him some high carb because I had to leave him alone for a few hours. I'm not sure how to count that since we don't know how he would have done without the carb boost.
     
  8. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    It would seem to me that the 10 cycle has to start over on 6/2/22.
     
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Why? Because of the food intervention?
     
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    When counting 6-10 cycles, we count from the first cycle on a dose and not from the first time blue (or green) is seen.
     
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    If Newman doesn’t come back down by this morning (sixth cycle since the blues and we assumed he was bouncing). I would then assume that he’s not bouncing anymore and increase his dose. Bounces can take up to six cycles to clear but Newman doesn’t seem to take that long normally.
     
  12. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m going offline now until a little later.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  13. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, my comment was based on the food intervention.

    My understanding was that we count cycles on a dose holding for 10 cycles. The first cycle on 1.25 units was on 5/30/22. Held the dose over to 5/31 and continuing on 6/1 we saw blue. That looked good to me, so I would have been thinking that holding the dose was the correct action, but unfortunately because I had to keep an appointment, leaving him alone, I decided to give him some higher carb food as a buffer while I was gone. I saw that as interference in Newman's use of the insulin, resulting in skewed dose trial and results. I asked myself, how would he have done had I not interfered? Perhaps we should stay with the 1.25 dose giving him a chance to get blue again and 'restart' the 10 cycle trial. That would make the first cycle begin with the next cycle which was 6/2/22. There has been nearly all yellow since then. I'm thinking stay with the 1.25 and see if he can get settled back into the blue.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    The carbs that you gave on that day would not be influencing his numbers now though. But perhaps that’s not what you mean at all.
     
  15. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And we would not start counting cycles from the first blue but from the first day at 1.25
     
  16. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No, not what I was trying to say. I mean the carbs skewed the 1.25 unit trial.

    Let's erase my comment to restart the cycle count.

    If we are to hold the doses with blue nadirs for 10 cycles, then wouldn't increasing the dose at this point, be too soon?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  17. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    PMPS 307 shot 1.25 @ 8:00.

    I'll check him at bedtime.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2022
  18. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay, so to me this cycle looks like a normal cycle where he started pink, spent a lot of the day in yellow and is back up to pink. I don’t think there’s any bouncing involved, just not enough insulin to get him into lower numbers. What do you think?
     
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Excellent job grabbing those tests today, by the way, so we saw what was going on. That’s so helpful to our analysis.
     
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Now, I personally don’t like doing increases during nighttime cycles. I’m not saying I never did it, but usually I tried to do them in the morning. Although, a lot of the time my boy had “new dose wonkiness,” which means he went higher after an increase (usually the second day after an increase, which isn’t uncommon.)
     
  21. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So you are all set for tonight with the 1.25.
     
  22. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    :bighug: Hope you’re okay. Talk to you later. :bighug:
     
  23. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, I am comfortable with the 1.25 for the evening dose.

    I agree that there is a pretty clear pattern as you described. If he is in pink or a high yellow number tomorrow morning, I will feel comfortable with an increase to 1.5

    If you can, I know you will look in on us in the morning. Have a good night, that's what I am aiming for!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  24. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You too, Linda. I hope you had a good Saturday.
     
  25. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    See new thread 6/5 Newman AMPS
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  26. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m looking. Can’t find it. Maybe there’s a delay?
     

Share This Page