6/3 MIMI AMPS 68

I'm not sure with no insulin and AT2 meter! I would do another test now to make sure she's not going down! It's safer to test more than not enough! Is she eating?

Maybe change your title adding "advice please, 68 without insulin, AT2 meter" and choose a ? in the prefix, that will draw more attention! That way, you will get someone with more experience to guide you, if needed!
 
Most people here use a Human meter. I'm not familiar with the difference between the 2. ( might want to tag one of the expert advisors) @Wendy&Neko . @Marje and Gracie

Are you still feeding dry food? Have you read the info about Dry Cat food? ( In the Yellow sticky notes. )

It looks like Mimi goes the lowest at about +6 You don't want to feed for 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced. Check her again at +6

From what I understand a normal Blood Glucose in a cat without insulin is 80 to 120 . I found this (Rarely, a cat who does not have diabetes can become hypoglycemic. This is often due to problems with the liver or pancreas, and in some cases can be caused by an infection of the blood. ... When levels of glucose in the bloodstream drop below 60 milligrams per deciliter, a cat is referred to as hypoglycemic.)
 
As I've said before, it is not uncommon for cats to run even in the 30s and 40s (human meter), some people have tested their non-diabetic cats and seen numbers like this. As Wendy said 68 on AT2 is fine. As also said before on a previous condo when Mimi was getting insulin, there is no way to correlate between human meters and pet meters. All that we know is that human meters run lower than pet meters, and the difference between the two is greater at higher numbers, and the variance between the two reduces at lower BG ranges.

Don't forget, since Mimi isn't getting insulin, you should be noting AMBG and PMBG so it is clear you are not shooting.

Lastly, just to clarify, it is usually recommended to withhold food 2 hours before preshot so as not to have a possible food influenced number when you do give insulin. That can artificially inflate the BG only to then end up having a very busy cycle thereafter. This is mostly recommended for people who are new and do not have a good idea of how their cat responds to insulin and how carb sensitive their cat is. Once the caregiver has enough info, even this too can be relaxed.

That said, it doesn't apply in Mimi's case since she is not being given insulin;)
 
Back
Top