6/3 Meadow AMPS 243 - QUESTIONS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Active Member
First let me say thank you to everyone who responded to my first "condo". :)
I appreciate the encouragment and kudos Peter, Pat, Paige and Ella. And thank you so much Gayle and Sienne for explaining things better regarding the Nadir and the spreadsheet.
I had no idea that the Nadir was not a fixed number at a certain point. Color me embarrassed! ;)

Gayle, I did NOT give Meadow insulin at the +3 mark. Since I am so new at this and her numbers have been bouncing so much, I was too nervous to give it to her at the normal time, so I fed her and rechecked her BG 3 hours later and then gave her the insulin. The next shot did come 12 hours after that, which switched her dosing times from 6am/6pm to 9am/9pm. The 6/6 timing works well while I am working.....I drive a school bus for special needs....but with my upcoming summer off, the 9/9 split may work better for me, but am not sure.
Therein lies the problem and a question.....does the insulin always have to be given at the exact time of her meals? Or can she have breakfast at an hour she is used to and get the insulin with a snack maybe 2-3 hours later? My cats wake me up and expect breakfast right away, usually between 6 and 7am. But if I stick to the 9/9 split, it means she won't get her insulin at the time of her normal breakfast. And making them wait several hours to eat is not an option. They are relentless in their yowling and pestering until they get fed! I can deal with the 6/6 split during the school year, but when I am off, I am usually out later in the day doing my rescue work and wouldn't have to rush home to give insulin at 6pm. So now I don't know what the heck to do.
So, originally, the AMPS and PMPS was at 6am/6pm on the spreadsheet. I was not sure how to enter the numbers now that the timing is all different. They are so used to eating breakfast and dinner at the 6/6 timetable, that I think I should just stay with that. Which begs the question...how do I get her back on that schedule? I am not home between 6:45am and 9am to add or subtract times until the weekend. Is she can eat breakfast before I leave for work and wait until I return at 9am for her shot, then there is no problem and I can leave her on the 9/9 split schedule. Let me know if that is possible and then I can edit the spreadsheet to reflect the proper times.


Thanks for being here to help!
 
Re: 6/3 Meadow AMPS 243

no, not a bad start to the day .. lots of kitties go places when they start out mid yellow .... can't help with nadir as mocha's can be +4 or as late as +8 ... but mocha is a crazy cat ...
 
Re: 6/3 Meadow AMPS 243

Just to help you and to help us with your spreadsheet...

If you shoot late, whatever the time was that you gave that late shot is your AM or PMPS. So if you shot at what would be your +3 time, that +3 is now your new AMPS. Your PM shot should be 12 hours from that time. Thus, delaying a shot throws your entire schedule off. It looks like you are trying to figure out how to do that. You can move a shot 30 min. early once a day or 15 min. early each cycle (twice a day).

With a late shot, it's going to throw the cycle off and it may be hard to get a good read on when the nadir is. The nadir is not a permanently fixed point -- it can move from day to day. It might also help to do a full curve (testing every 2-hrs) rather than a mini-curve (every 3-hrs). It may help to give you a feel for when the nadir is.
 
Re: 6/3 Meadow AMPS 243

The first thing I noticed is that you have changed the dose times, so it would be a good idea to note the times. Yesterday, your 2u was at +3, but you have added another shot at pmps on the ss. It looks as if you gave the shot 3 hours early, but I can't tell without the times.
If you gave shots at 6am/6pm, then gave the late one at 9pm and 9am, are you permanently changing to the late time for your 12/12, or did you really give that last shot on the ss 3hrs early?

I think until Meadow gets settled again, with the shed properly topped up, you will not really get a good picture/idea of where Meadow's shed is at and you also have to keep in mind that the nadir can and will change over time. By giving no shot, Meadow would have used what was in that shed, so then the shots you gave would have to fill it up again.

Slowly but surely, Meadow will come around and settle, showing you where that nadir really is. Now, don't forget to look to Meadow and how Meadow is feeling and acting; watch for her signs because she's the one in the driver's seat and will let you know what she needs.

I see the ss and now you can add the link to Meadow's profile into your signature as well.
Have a good day at work.
 
Re: 6/3 Meadow AMPS 243

Good morning :mrgreen: Awesome job at getting all the 'technical' stuff down. It seems to be the hardest part here :lol: Have a great day!!!
 
Re: 6/3 Meadow AMPS 243

Good job with the spreadsheet, Dottie. Now it will be much easier for the dosing experts to help you. The AMPS 243 is a good way to start the day.

Ella & Stu
 
paige said:
How is it going this evening? :mrgreen:

I was only able to take a couple of periodic readings, Paige. Busy day! The readings were all between 242 and 274. Guess it's going ok. ;)
 
No problem, just checking on you. Most of us post the AMPS and PMPS in the daily condo's so I was just bugging you. ;-) Everything sounds great.
 
paige said:
No problem, just checking on you. Most of us post the AMPS and PMPS in the daily condo's so I was just bugging you. ;-) Everything sounds great.

I didn't realize you posted the AMPS and PMPS in the condo. I thought since it would on the spreadsheet, I didn't want to be redundant. ;)
 
No need to worry about redundant here. Lol. Take a look at some of the other subject lines of others condo's. Some post all their readings. It gives us a quick way of checking how things are going, without having to look at the ss. And questions....ask as many questions as you can. There is a learning curve but you'll get it quick. There are always people on this board willing to help out. We all lean on each other and support the kitties and beans (human owners).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top