6/3 Max AMPS 63 DOSING ADVICE STALLING

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119687

HE'S ONLY AT 63, and I was up with Max until 3. I made a mistake and fed him a tablespoon of baby food with his BP med and a tablespoon of ff lc.
 
First time low preshot?
I was there last week!
If you are giving him Lantus, make sure you read and UNDERSTAND the different alternatives you have here in this document viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Especially that part :
If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

Beyond the general guidelines, there are other factors we consider when we are helping someone with a low preshot.

If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative.
If the cat is not a food spiker or tends to have an early onset/early nadir then they may not want to shoot as low. If the cat has a late nadir, then they will HAVE to learn to shoot low.
We will also be more conservative in some cases because of the person – if you are not able to monitor then you want to be more careful, or if you are not sure that you can get back to the board to keep us updated throughout the cycle. Trust me, if you shoot low, we will be watching for your updates and we will worry if we don’t see them.
We have to be a lot more careful with the cats who eat only dry food, because they don’t have access to the tools the rest of us use to keep our cats safe.
Also, when it comes to very low preshots, there is an unwritten rule that whoever helps that person shoot low should expect to sit with them through any low parts of the cycle. There have been times when I knew a cat’s number was likely shootable, but I also knew that I could not be around to help if the shot resulted in low numbers later in the cycle. For safety’s sake, if I could not find someone else who would be available to support for the next several hours, I would most likely suggest that the shot be reduced or skipped. I will not encourage someone to shoot low and then abandon them.
There are a lot of other scenarios, and you always want to keep your cat in mind.
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 68 DOSING ADVICE STALLING

Thanks. It's not my first time but it's my first time this low after a evening nadir of 59. I muddied the waters by feeding. Fortunately I can be home all day and can test often. Thanks for responding. If you are new here and using Lantus, I haven't seen your posts. Are you posting on the tight regulation board? If not I invite you to do so.
 
Well my own cat has been of the juice for 3 years now, but you can find many of my posts in the Lantus forum. I've been asking many "newbies" question especially for the cat I am currently helping (you can see his spreadsheet in my signature) : his nadirs occur anywhere between +2 and +13! Really complicated to be data ready with such a cat!
This cat recently had his first low preshot. So I followed the protocol and stalled to collect data. The next preshot wasn't looking nice! And so I learned that as long as you are there to test and observe, and know around what time the next nadir will occur, you just have to make sure the cat's numbers are rising (a +10, +11 helps a lot!) and adapt the dosage if needed. When you feel there's a risk, you can always lower the insulin dosage and carefully test throughout the following cycle. Maybe the cat NEEDED its insulin to be lowered, maybe not, you'll find out! But if you're not comfortable giving the usual dose, it means that you haven't face that situation yet, and in that case you should always play it safe!

Condo's ss looks great! Be prepared for those green values as he's getting better and better!
:)
 
Thanks. I have the extra problem of changing syringes and the amounts vary from syringe to syringe. After I have some coffee I am going to see if I can locate any of the monojects with 1/2 unit markings that I have been using. I'm changing to terumo. When I decided to do this he was running high so it wasn't an issue. The monojects I am using have insulin in the hub so he's likely getting more than the 2.5.
 
I have the extra problem of changing syringes and the amounts vary from syringe to syringe
What do you mean? The amounts are not supposed to change! As long as you stick with U100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings, the amounts are supposed to be the same.

And also, what do you mean by :
The monojects I am using have insulin in the hub so he's likely getting more than the 2.5.
That doesnt sound good at all!
 
Which syringes are you using? Since I started here I learned that not all syringes are the same even with the same manufacturer. The monojects store extra juice in the hub, as much as .5 , so if using them you are giving more juice than you think. That's why many dose with calipers.
 
OH!! I see what you mean!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79851&hilit=calipers

The 2 people I am helping currently use BD syringes. One uses BD Micro Fine, the other uses BD Ultra-Fine II.

I am not going to tell you that you shouldnt worry about the consistance of the dosing, but from what I personnally know, if using BD syringes, and if making sure there is no air bubble stock in the syringe, and if you make sure you press the plunger completely before drawing the insulin, you should be able to have a very steady dosage! And by steady, I mean STEADY! One of the person I am helping is currently giving 0.10U of Lantus with his BD Ultra Fine II syringes, with NO calipers, and the cat is perfectly well regulated on a daily basis.
Here's a little video he made to show me how precise he can be when there is no air bubble in the syringe:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zyfKq-hY_Q
* Make sure you watch the video in HD and in full screen to really see the details!

I dont know anything about Monojects, so I'm not going to tell you that you shouldnt keep an eye on your dosage! If you keep using those and are used to using calipers, make sure you understand everything in the link I already told you about :
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79851&hilit=calipers
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top