6/3 Max 301 +2 254 +4 256 +6 263 +7 300

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Here are the results of Sunday's curve:

AMPS 301 +2 254 +4 256 +6 263 +7 300 +8 392 +10 344 PMPS 385 +.5 361 +1 390

We dipped down a bit at +2 and stayed nearly level for 4 hours. It's that strange? Also, nadir was not shown, but we were back at 300 by +7. Then there was a dip between +8 and the next 4 hours, and we ended up a bit higher than we started. Very strange. Lantus is not suppose to work this way. I tested him at .5 last night, and got 361, then again at +1 and got 390. If the shed was depleted past the point of being full by the shot being given an hour later yesterday when he kept steady at 300 through to +1, I wouldn't expect to see this holding over to +1 would I?

Could I be seeing overlap? That's not nearly as much "overlap" as I saw yesterday.
I was too tired to get up and test him in the middle of the night.
I'm getting ready to give him fluids.

BJM, Thank you very much for the suggestions. You have been really helpful and thoughtful about this carefully. Ha, ha, I am not a "math person," but I understood what you said. He was pooing outside yesterday, which is a good sign. So, I'm going to have to go and find it.

Link to yesterday's posts and Saturday's curve: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=72361
 
He may be one of those cats that has a very shallow curve.

You'll just need to be obsessively consistent on fluids, Miralax, feeding, testing, and shooting in order to see if this is true.
*sigh* It can be really difficult to do; been there, done that.

Only if you can get 3 days in a row where all of it is stable (poo, pee, eating, drinking), you may be ready to increase his dose at that point. If so, add another 0.25, taking it up to 3 units.

If you find, however, that keeping him stable is nearly impossible with days you can't shoot and others when he is too high, despite a consistent shot and food pattern, then I would suggest having a discussion with the vet about ProZinc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top