6/3 Max+12=68 AMPS 83 PMPS 111+1.5=126+3=113+4.5=124+9.5=181

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119687

I'M WORRIED. Did he drop lower after I called it a night. Should I stall? Should I shoot?

I screwed up and fed him. He had a tablespoon of baby food and about the same of lc ff.
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 63 DOSING ADVICE STALLING

Don't worry about feeding a little...it's not ideal, but you can't change that now, so don't worry!

If your schedule can handle stalling, I would give that a go, although you may very well see some minor food influence in his next number.

Are you going to be around today for lots of testing if you do shoot?
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 63 DOSING ADVICE STALLING

I can be here all day if necessary. Okay, I'll shoot. Thanks, Amy. Should I test in 30?
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 63 DOSING ADVICE STALLING

Elise

I'm confused....are you stalling and testing in 30 or shooting and testing in 30?
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 68 DOSING ADVICE STALLING

I fed him. Then I realized that I shouldn't have done so. Then I stalled because I didn't know what to do. It's 30 minutes past insulin time. I tested again and he's now 83. I think I should shoot. I will be home all day if necessary.
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 63 DOSING ADVICE STALLING

I would shoot and get a +1 and +2.

Because he nadired at 59, I bet the 63 is a second dip, not a dropping number. So you should be good to shoot and probably could have shot the 63 on time but it's scary and we don't think about those second dips when we wake up to that kind of a number.

Great job! See you at +1.
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 63 DOSING ADVICE STALLING

Sounds good! You're great at testing so I'm sure you'll be fine. This is an awesome opportunity to "shoot low to stay low". Surf safe, Max!!

I would probably test 1 hour after shooting, but no longer than that. Testing at 30 minutes isn't a bad idea, either, though...when it comes to keeping our kitties safe, there's no such thing as over-testing!
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 68 Stalled 1/2 hour +30=83

Thanks, Amy. When I did the second test I saw the first number and it actually was 68. I know there is a food spike but I think he is also on the rise.

I didn't see your post before Marje. A second dip makes sense. So he got the insulin half an hour late when all is said and done.

I'm going to call around and see if anyone sells monoject with 1/2 unit markings but I wasn't able to find them when I needed them the first time. I can order more on line but they won't arrive before I start using the terumo. Does anyone know if Target or CVS or RiteAid sells them?

Does anyone know if the BD or relion are more similar to monoject? I have both without 1/2 unit markings and could use the calipers correctly this time to figure out what I have been giving. Am I making any sense? I need to get a cup of coffee and calm down a little.
 
Re: 6/3 Max AMPS 68 +30=83

I don't know the answer on the syringes. I'm really sorry.....I think, though, that you will be dealing with the same issue with all the syringes. You can dial in 2.5u on any syringe and it's likely to be "close" to 2.5u. The issue here is that we don't know how much MORE than 2.5u he is getting if the MJs are drawing insulin from the hub like they used to. That's really the issue. So it doesn't matter if you switch to BDs, Relions, or Terumos.

On the subject line, could you please update so it reads: 6/3 Max +12 68 AMPS 83

Thank you . :-D see you soon. Breathe :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83

Shame on me for forgetting that you earned these:

bos_zpsb029e400.jpg


Great shooting! And thanks for editing the subject line. It's perfect :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83

What a morning, Elise! Sending Max some happy surfing vines!!!! Hope you have a wonderful, drama-free day!
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

Great shooting, Elise! Congrats on the BOS! :lol:

Will be keeping an eye out to see how this cycle goes for Max. Hopefully, you get a gorgeous flat green surf! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

Looks like it was a double dip and I could have shot on time if I hadn't given him the food. So I've learned for next time. I wonder if he will bounce from this?

Now that I have a little coffee in my I think I might be able to get some syringes from my vet or another vet's office. The first ones I ever got were given to me by him and I know they use monoject because I bought a box of 22G needles from them when I started home testing.

I give up, Marje. I can't figure out the picture. Give me a clue.
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

Elise

I would do what you are most comfortable doing and try to be as consistent as you can. If the calipers are confusing, don't use them. Tons of cats have gone into remission where the CG never touched a caliper. It isn't worth the stress :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

I actually think I understand how to use the calipers and if Max is starting to dive they will definitely come in handy. As long as I am consistent in how I use them his dose will be as well. I'm just confused now because of the change in syringes and because I didn't use them correctly before. If I can get about 10 monojects from my vet, I can measure using calipers and then the transfer will be easier I think, I hope. If not I will switch. I am thinking if anything he is getting more than 2.5 so I should give him 3.80mm (1.25 per unit plus .76 for the half, right? If he earns a reduction today he would get 3.42mm I think. If his numbers go up then we know to increase. Does this make sense?

How do I show the +13 on the ss?
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

The thing is, we don't know if EVERY MJ syringe has close to 0.5u in the hub. I did those measurements two years ago and I had complained significantly to the company. I haven't looked at an MJS syringe since then so I don't know if they corrected the problem or not. OR if they didn't, do different lot numbers vary in what is in the hub.

If you just assume there is 0.5u in there, you could way overdose Max when you switch if there is not that much. So when you convert, I would encourage you to disregard what amount might be in the hub. I don't want to set Max back but it's safer to convert and give him too little insulin, and go up, then to give him too much and risk a hypo.

How do I show the +13 on the ss?

In the +11 box in last nights cycle, put "68 @ 11.75" because I believe you test a little early, right? Mid you tested right at +12 then you can put "68 @ 12". In the AMPS box for today, put "83 @ 12.5" or if you actually shot at 8 instead of 7:30, put "83 @ 13". That shows us you stalled.

If you only stalled 30 mins this morning, then just shoot at your regular time tonight.
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

Marje, I wasn't going to add anything to what I shoot. I just meant that he is likely getting something more than 2.5, whatever that is that is in the hub. So I was thinking of shooting 2.5 on the terumo which is likely less than he is now getting. We just don't know how much less. Do you think I should shoot less than the 2.5 if he doesn't earn a reduction to play it extra safe?

Thanks for the info for the ss and of course for your help as always so appreciated more than words can say.
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

I'm sorry I misunderstood. Not enough ~O) ~O) today ;-)

If he doesn't earn a reduction today, I'd just shoot 2.5u with the Terumos (if those are the ones you want to switch to), and then we can go from there. If he shoots up in numbers and it doesn't look like a bounce, then we can increase appropriately for how much he goes up.

How does that sound? And if you decide you don't want to use the Terumos, I'll buy them from you and pay the shipping. :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

That sounds good. I'm not functioning with a full deck, though. If I don't switch, the terumos are yours and no need to pay the shipping. I'm actually thinking of just switching. Of course I could change my mind at any time. I'm feeling a bit uneasy right now. Is my calculation right that I should measure 3.80mm to get 2.5 units?
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116

Sorry :roll: :roll: yes...you are correct that 2.5u on the Terumos would measure 3.8mm.
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94

Thank you Marje. It looks so far like he is coming down again. Not the best day for my every other week cleaning lady to be here but I just checked and he did eat after his BG test. He's back under the bed now. No furniture moved today for a good cleaning because I've been too busy on the computer. I got so frazzled that I couldn't find where I put the meter,LOL. Not quite sure if steel is apt here. My heart is still racing.
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94

He's not dropping super fast so that's good. I think you should test as often as you are comfortable. It's possible he will be ok until +4 since the 94 is at +2.5 but it's up to you if you test in an hour at +3.5 or at +4.
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110

Ok Max...surf here (or a little bit lower) so the house can get cleaned!!
 
Re: 6/3 Max +12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110

It's as clean as it will get. She's gone already. She comes around 8:15 and is gone by 11. I usually clean with her but not today. He's under the bed again. Marta thinks he looks sad but I think she might be projecting based on what I told her about his BG. She of course doesn't understand any of this.

Max just ate a little of the food I put out an hour ago.

I just realized I was giving him the Young Again 0 carb treats and not the food yet. Jury is out on whether he likes them as Marta was still here. I just checked and he ate them now.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12= 68 AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+4.5=98

Max has a beautiful surf going so far today!!!

I'm sure many people think our cats are "sad" because they have health issues. Most don't understand people like us...thank goodness for LL!!
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+4.5=98+6.5=93

Thanks for checking in on us Amy. It looks like I can give his ears a rest until tonight.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+4.5=98+6.5=93

Perfect!

I'd get a +10 so you can see if he is routinely getting a second dip at PS. :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+4.5=98+6.5=93

I love those flat cycles you get when you shoot low. :mrgreen: :cool: :cool: :cool: I hope you get a nap in Elise. Afternoon naps were essential for me when Neko was on Lantus.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+4.5=98+6.5=93

wow - elise! you go girl! look at that awesome shooting that resulted in a perfect cycle today! i am noticing that Max has now been more than 12 hrs in normal numbers. :mrgreen:

if i were you i'd make the switch to the Terumos at the dose you think is the 2.5u, and adjust the dose from his numbers after that. i think you'll find the Terumos easier to see the smaller dose adjustments with. to me it is a plus having the narrower barrel when it comes to adjusting the dose a tiny bit.

good luck with whatever you decide.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+6.5=93+10=105

Hi Julie and Wendy. I am switching to the terumos. I was going to anyhow but actually the decision was made for me because my vet doesn't have any monojeçts. At least that is what the receptionist said when she looked. They sell the monoject needles for fluids so that seems suspect to me. He did so well for 3 days and I suspect he will go up now because I will shoot 2.5 and it is likely he has been getting more with the monojects. The difference now is that we know he can maintain for some time so I feel more hopeful that he will regulate. I asked a friend to come over and we looked at the syringes together. It's impossible to know how much is in the hub but she and I agreed on how to measure the terumos from now on. He got his morning dose 1/2 hour early but I will shoot on time tonight so that should help for tonight. I wasn't able to nap though. I just am no a daytime sleeper. I'm sure I will dose a little watching TV and depending on what Max does I will set alarms to make sure I test when needed.

As for what happened this morning I saw the 68 and was afraid he would drop which in retrospect is crazy as it was the end of a cycle. I was so worried he would need a reduction that I went right for the food.

:!: Feeding him might have prevented a bigger drop this morning. What do you think?
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+6.5=93+10=105

Nice surf for Max. Let me know how it goes with changing to terusmos. I still use monojects. I wanted to change but haven't had the patience for an extra step lately.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+6.5=93+10=105

Will do Catherine. My friend and I played with them for about a half hour this afternoon. I just wish there was a way to know how much is in the hub. One thing I will say is that the lines are easier to see on the monojects.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68 AMPS 83 PMPS 111

Well, he didn't do a double dip tonight. I shot a half hour late this morning but am going to shoot on time tonight. I'll give the 2.5 with the terumo which is likely less than he has been getting. So let the experiment begin. I hope he keeps up his blue/green cycle.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68AMPS 83+1=116+2.5=94+3.5=110+6.5=93+10=105

Perfect +10. Now I can't wait to see if he drops back down a bit at PMPS?
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68 AMPS 83 PMPS 111

Bummer but he could still get into green tonight.

Paws crossed on the Terumos. Try not to get upset if he goes up. We will just fine tune the dose.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68 AMPS 83 PMPS 111+1.5=126

What an awesome cycle today, and what a great looking PMPS! All that time in nice healing numbers! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You did an awesome job shooting that AMPS this morning. I was watching while I was at work. :-D Hopefully, he'll stay nice and flat again tonight.

tiffmaxee said:
Marta thinks he looks sad but I think she might be projecting based on what I told her about his BG. She of course doesn't understand any of this.
Non FD people don't get it, do they? - I sort of avoid telling people what kind of work goes into doing tight regulation, because they automatically assume that if you're devoting that much time and effort, that your cat must be dying. :roll:
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68 AMPS 83 PMPS 111+1.5=126

Good point, Jen. Thanks for checking in with us and watching at work!! Max must have felt all these good vibes.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68 AMPS 83 PMPS 111+1.5=126+3=113+4.5=124

Looks like our string of green has ended this cycle. We are still blue though.
 
Re: 6/3 Max+12=68 AMPS 83 PMPS 111+1.5=126+3=113+4.5=124

Hi Elise:

You had a heck of a day, but you did a great job. Isn't it so wonderful to have so many knowledgeable, kind, helpful people at your fingertips when you need them? We are so blessed to have found FDMB and LL.

I hope you get a good night's sleep tonight - you've earned it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top