6/3 Mali AMPS 463 .5 dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/3 Mali AMPS 463 .05 dose

I wonder if the 92 was on her way up? She might have gotten lower earlier. Lev nadirs can be as early as +8. And..since every cat is different (ECID), she could have an even earlier nadir.

Remember the TR protocol states:
Increasing the dose
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Her nadirs are below 200 so I'd hold the dose ten cycles unless you catch her going below 50.

I would sure like to pinpoint that before you increase. If you increase, you will need to test more to catch her lows.

I have another SS I want you to look at but I'm on my iPad. I will get it shortly and link it for you.
 
Re: 6/3 Mali AMPS 463 .05 dose

You are right keeping the dose according to protocol. I get caught up in her numbers and forget TR protocol. I just got a 179 at +6. Wonder if it's coming up from nadir or going down...think I'll get a +7 to check it.

Just got some ugly words from the BW saying that Mali decided to dump in her office :evil: ...that has happened recently when she leaves the door open..don't know why she does that. She also threw up some liquid like she does when she finds some plastic to chew and swallow..she does that when she is hungry and thinks its past time for her to eat.
 
Re: 6/3 Mali AMPS 463 .05 dose

Poor Mali!!

yes...I would do a +7 because she's probably onset a little earlier. That is still a pretty big drop and I suspect that has something to do with these bounces.

You are dosing .5u and not .05u right? There's a huge difference and I'm not sure anyone could consistently dose .05u ;-)

Here's Tucker's SS that I wanted you to see. It always amazes me. He was started on too high of a dose of Humulin N by the vet. It dropped him to 24 and so Jill/Libby told him to stop the insulin and let him clear the bounce and see where he was. Look how many cycles it took to clear that bounce...about 10. He had three doses of lantus and went OTJ. Chris was testing enough for us to see what was going on.

I think if you can narrow the spot checks down to +4 to +9 on the tests during the day, we might be able to catch her at the low.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Poor Mali!!

yes...I would do a +7 because she's probably onset a little earlier. That is still a pretty big drop and I suspect that has something to do with these bounces.

You are dosing .5u and not .05u right? There's a huge difference and I'm not sure anyone could consistently dose .05u ;-)

Here's Tucker's SS that I wanted you to see. It always amazes me. He was started on too high of a dose of Humulin N by the vet. It dropped him to 24 and so Jill/Libby told him to stop the insulin and let him clear the bounce and see where he was. Look how many cycles it took to clear that bounce...about 10. He had three doses of lantus and went OTJ. Chris was testing enough for us to see what was going on.

I think if you can narrow the spot checks down to +4 to +9 on the tests during the day, we might be able to catch her at the low.

Yes, .5 not .05...i will change that in the subject...as you can see at +7 she was only up to 189 so that's not bad and she had a little to eat after her +6 check.
I will definitely get a +4 and + 9 tomorrow to see where she is then.
 
Re: 6/3 Mali AMPS 463 .05 dose

Marje and Gracie said:
Poor Mali!!

yes...I would do a +7 because she's probably onset a little earlier. That is still a pretty big drop and I suspect that has something to do with these bounces.

You are dosing .5u and not .05u right? There's a huge difference and I'm not sure anyone could consistently dose .05u ;-)

Here's Tucker's SS that I wanted you to see. It always amazes me. He was started on too high of a dose of Humulin N by the vet. It dropped him to 24 and so Jill/Libby told him to stop the insulin and let him clear the bounce and see where he was. Look how many cycles it took to clear that bounce...about 10. He had three doses of lantus and went OTJ. Chris was testing enough for us to see what was going on.

I think if you can narrow the spot checks down to +4 to +9 on the tests during the day, we might be able to catch her at the low.

Wow! That is amazing that it took 10 cycles of NO insulin to clear the bounce.
 
Let's hope she doesn't decide to get overdramatic at PMPS!

Yeah...that's a pretty amazing spreadsheet. Talk about patience!

Darn...just saw her SS...she did get overdramatic.

To go from 463 to 179 in 6 hours is a pretty fast drop and I think that is what is making her bounce so high. The experiment is going to find WHERE she drops.

Gracie is on levemir and quite often she takes a big drop early in the cycle between +2 and +4. I wonder if it might be worth your while, one a.m. cycle, to check those three hours. So tomorrow, instead of checking just at +4, what do you think about testing at +2, +3, +4? I'm not recommending you do this every day....I'm just trying to find where the heck she is diving. If we know when they dive, we can come up with a feeding plan to slow the dive down and flatten it out.

Manage the curve with food ---->flatten the curve---->adjust the dose
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Let's hope she doesn't decide to get overdramatic at PMPS!

Yeah...that's a pretty amazing spreadsheet. Talk about patience!

Darn...just saw her SS...she did get overdramatic.

To go from 463 to 179 in 6 hours is a pretty fast drop and I think that is what is making her bounce so high. The experiment is going to find WHERE she drops.

Gracie is on levemir and quite often she takes a big drop early in the cycle between +2 and +4. I wonder if it might be worth your while, one a.m. cycle, to check those three hours. So tomorrow, instead of checking just at +4, what do you think about testing at +2, +3, +4? I'm not recommending you do this every day....I'm just trying to find where the heck she is diving. If we know when they dive, we can come up with a feeding plan to slow the dive down and flatten it out.

Manage the curve with food ---->flatten the curve---->adjust the dose


Hi Marje,
Just got back on board after her AMPS :-x , but i will get a +3 & +4. She is really being a stinker about leveling out isn't she? You would think I'm feeding her Blue Bell Homade Vanilla between shots :lol:
 
Good morning!

Just a housekeeping note: You'll want to start a new thread (we call them condo) for Mali for today (Tues.) We have one condo per cat per day and we link the threads together.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Good morning!

Just a housekeeping note: You'll want to start a new thread (we call them condo) for Mali for today (Tues.) We have one condo per cat per day and we link the threads together.

Thanks, Sienne...just got back and answered Marje on this condo. Will do now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top