6/3 Lucky AMPS 264 PMPS 375

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone! I've given it a lot of thought, and after really looking over Lucky's spreadsheet, I've decided to fully go forward with the Tight Regulation protocol. Lucky seems to be very sensitive to the insulin, and I think the smaller unit changes in Tight Regulation will be better for his health overall. I've also been surprised to find that the 24-hour curves I've been taking so far haven't been as informative/helpful as I thought they would be, and I'm getting the sense that my fear of hypoglycemia has been keeping Lucky in the higher numbers much much longer than he really should be.

That said, I'm pretty sure I won't be able to post every day, but I will try to at least pop in every 3 days when it comes time to consider Lucky's new dose. Everyone's help so far is greatly appreciated, and especially now that I'm stepping into new territory, any future help will also be a great help for the both of us. :smile:

Here are Lucky's numbers for today:

AMPS 264
+5 41
+6 61
PMPS 375
+3 379

It looks like Lucky might have bounced this afternoon. :sad: Today is the fourth day being at 1.75u bid, and from what I've read in the protocol sticky it seems like it's already time to consider a dose change.

Here's what I'm wondering: Lucky hasn't dropped below 40 in any of the readings I've taken, but the 41 seems to be a close call, and I wonder if he might have dropped lower after the +6 reading considering it seems that he had a bounce this afternoon. I guess my question is whether I should reduce the dose --- he was staying in the high range when he was at 1.5u bid, so to go back so soon doesn't seem quite right. I'm also wondering how I should take the afternoon bounce into consideration too.

Thanks again everyone for all your help, it's much appreciated! :smile:
 
High welcome to LL! :-D :-D Actually the TR protocol calls for a reduction for a BG under 50 not under 40, so Lucky has earned his reduction. You can shoot through the bounce but don't delay more than a cycle or two.

Add dose advice to you subject. This will give you a bump up for more eyes.
 
You've done a really good job of testing and I don't see a night when it looks like he might have gone low. Ann is correct that he's earned a dose reduction and I see you shot through the bounce. That's great....you can take The reduction in the morning.

I know you just decided to start TR...hopefully that will get him where he needs to be. One thing is that I would not be shaving his doses or fattening them. He's newly diagnosed so you should be going up and down in .25u increments unless his nadirs are over 300.... Then you would go up in .5u increments. I think you lost some time there.

Lucky might have just hit is bark through dose today :-D Good luck with the reduction.
 
Thank you both for the dosing advice, it's much appreciated. :smile: I decreased the dose for this morning's shot, and I'll track how his numbers flow for the next 3 days. I was a bit overly cautious before, and I think I've lost time getting him where he needs to be as a result. Hopefully following the TR protocol strictly will work better, we'll see.
 
Re: 6/3 Lucky AMPS 264 PMPS 375 Dosing Advice

I couldn't agree more with what the others have already posted. What is key to remember is that Lucky's dose is reduced if his BG drops below 50. So, congrats on the dose reduction.

Since you're not going to be posting daily, you may want to bookmark or print out the following 2 posts:
They are useful to have on hand if you can't post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top