6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5 68, +6 110... PMPS 316, +2.5 434

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe and Jinx

Member Since 2012
Going to pick up a Relion glucometer soon and compare with the AT. Maybe Jinx is really in the 200s now but the AT is reading higher? Or maybe I'm just wishful thinking...

Either way, hope you all have a great Sunday!
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68 (AT)

That was a shock! Just fed him his afternoon meal but will check again in a half hour or so. Around +2 today, he was flying around the house acting like crazy. Which I've found usually means his BG is going to be high. Not today!

Will keep a very close eye on him. He's eating up his food right now and is acting normal.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68 (AT)

Wow! That woke me up too. You may check every 15 mins since he has never gone that low. Do you have some HC food and karo/ honey?
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68 (AT)

I would test again in 30 minutes to be sure the food brought him up a little.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68 (AT)

Will test at +6 which is in 15 min. I have some FF Gravy Lover's on hand in case he drops below 50. If needed, I'll follow how to handle low numbers from the link provided under Marje's signature block.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68 (AT)

just keep in mind that AlphaTrak tends to read higher than human meters. In this range, we usually consider that the AT is reading about 30 points higher than human meters, so your 68 could be more like a 38 on a human meter.

You fed him, which is exactly the right thing to do. If his next test isn't higher, then I would give some gravy. You want him to be over 80 on the AT.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68 (AT)

Phew... Will check again in an hour just to be sure. Did not feed any HC. Just regular afternoon (+5.5-6) meal of LC. Thanks for the help and for responding so fast Libby and Melissa!
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110 (AT)

Going to pick up a Relion glucometer before PMPS tonight. Is there a favorite among the four types they sell (Confirm, micro, Prime, Ultima) amongst members here?
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110 (AT)

Hi Joe, I also use the ATrak, and it does read higher than the human meters. I have the Relion as my back-up just to compare when I get a low number on the Atrak. Hopefully more will weigh in on which meter is their favorite, as I've only had experience with the Relion.
Way to go Jinx, looking good!
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110 (AT)

Wow! Good catch, Joe. I think you should go back to getting those +2 tests. ;-) :-D You get a green face for that number!

Under 80 on an AT earns a reduction!! If he bounces way up by PMPS, you can shoot through the bounce with the same dose as you shot this morning. You can then take the reduction tomorrow morning.

If he stays down, then take the reduction tonight. I suspect he's going to bounce ;-)

I think alot of members use the Confirm.

Jinx, did we finally hit your breakthrough dose???? :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110 (AT)

good!

Technically that 68 is supposed to be a dose reduction. I suspect he'll bounce tonight, so if he bounces then I would shoot 3.25 at least for tonight, then reduce the dose.

About meters, I have a ReliOn Micro and I like it. It was cheap and it sucks up the blood quickly, and doesn't seem to give many error messages. I had an older ReliOn that I didn't like (I want to say it was Ultima). I'm fairly sure they have redesigned it since then, because it was several years ago, so it might be better now.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110 (AT)

Thanks, Ann!

One more question for everyone. Should I consider a bounce as anything over 400?
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110 (AT)

I would consider a bounce anything that's above 300.

You may also want to print out these instructions (or bookmark them) on handling low numbers. You do want to test a bit more often when you see low numbers like today so you are certain that numbers are on the rise and don't wobble back down.

Congrats on that green!
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110 (AT)

Just checking in again to see where Jinx is....nothing on SS after +6 so I hope all is ok :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110 (AT)

Everything is fine, Marje. Thank-you for checking in. Just measured 253 at +10 so I'm hoping he'll be below 300 for his preshot so I can give him the reduction to 3.0u.

Also, decided on the OneTouch UltraMini so I will start using that tonight.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110, +10 253 (AT)

Thanks, Sienne. I will print off those instructions and will only give him a reduction to 3.0u if he's below 300 for his PMPS.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110, +10 253 (AT)

Congrats on the dose reduce Joe. That is great progress for Jinx! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110, +10 253 (AT)

I hate to say "I told you so" but I did say 3.0u was going to be Jinx's lucky number. ;-)

I used to use an AlphaTrak and now we use a ReliOn Confirm monitor. You will save sooo much money on test strips!

Great job on managing that drop today. :roll:
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110, +10 253 (AT)

We use the Arkray Vital meter, which uses the same strips as the Relion. If you order through American Diabetic Wholesale, you can order the Arkray strips for your Relion and they are even cheaper! Then if you use mrrebates.com you get a % back. I get the order in about 4 days so they are fast. That's where I order my syringes too.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110, +10 253 (AT)

Joe

My guess is that he is going to be above 300 by PMPS. If he is, I'd shoot the 3.25u through the bounce and take the reduction in the morning.

I have a OT ultra mini primary and backup and also a Contour backup (I'm a standing member of Glucometer Addicts Anonymous). I LOVE my OT...and the Contour is a really great meter, too. Only thing is the strips are pretty
spendy so I order them off ebay. I can usually get them for less than $25/50 with free shipping. And I do the "buy it now" so if you bid, you can get them lower. Just watch the expiration dates.
 
Re: 6/3 Jinx AMPS 336, +5.5 68, +6 110, +10 253, PMPS 316

Thanks, Marje and everyone. Just gave him 3.25u and will reduce to 3.0u in the morning. I'll also do a check at +2 to get an idea of what to expect tonight.

The 316 is from the OT; he was 351 on the AT. I forgot to buy the control solution for the OT so I wanted to make sure I had a comparison tonight. Based on what I've read from members, the AT can be a lot higher than the human glucometers at the high numbers and still high but not as much so at the low numbers. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. Either way, I plan on picking up the control solution tomorrow unless members advise otherwise. I will probably also buy some more AT test strips to compare periodically.

Marje, thanks for the info on getting the strips through Ebay. They were a bit pricey but I picked up the OT b/c of its review on Consumer Reports and the fact that certain members here have the same one.

Cathy - I thought of you when he went low today. I think you were right as well that 3.0u is his lucky number. I really hope he proves us right!
 
I guess it won't hurt to get the control solution...are you sure it wasn't with the meter? Mine was. You mainly need to be sure the strips are coded right. I really am happy with this meter...I hope you like it. I have found amazing consistency if I double check the primary OT with the backup.

Good night Joe.....baby steps. :-D
 
No, the control solution is listed under "available separately." I'll pick some up tomorrow. Definitely made sure it was coded right too.

I do like the meter although it does require a little more blood than the AT. Based on the Consumer Reports review and recommendations from members such as you, I know I'll be very happy with it and confident I'm getting accurate and consistent results.

You're right about the baby steps and I'm doing better with patience. Was a good day overall and I feel like we're making progress. Thanks for checking in on us, Marje. Good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top