6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83, +5 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
5/29 second from last post http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72076
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72346

So, first, I'll explain the 5/29, it is the last post before I skipped post for 5/30, and 5/31.
"Yesterday" is as it reads, yesterday but it was not attached to my last post, so that is why the 5/29
Sorry didn't mean to confuse.

And now the amazing Daphne, :o :shock: :o what she did for me, my beautiful baby girl, knows how hard this has been on me and I talked to her last night, and told her how much I loved her, but also asked her to please make this easier on me because I'm hurting so bad.

Next weekend my DH and I will be going away over night and my DS will be home, but I don't want him to shoot or test. Daphne is only on 1 drop so, I figured it would be ok for two skipped shots.

So I thought it would be a good idea to see what she may do next week. So this morning I set the feeder for her regular time of AMPS @ 5:30 AM, but did not give her the one drop,(no insulin). DH woke up at 8:30 and tested her, and she was 102, :o so of course I said she probably has some insulin in her shed, but I told DH to shoot if she was higher then 120, but she wasn't, so he didn't. Then he feed her a tsp. of EVO at that time…tested again, @ 9:30, +1, and she was 82 :shock: . At this point I said lets see what happens at PMPS, so at 5:30, she was 152, but we gave no insulin and made sure she ate her regular 1st, 2nd, 3rd dinner and tested at 8:30, +3 and it was 83 :o

PLEASE DO NOT DO WHAT I DID TODAY. Daphne is very, very, closely monitored, I'm home all day, and I practically watch her breathe, and of course she is down to one drop.

So I guess today was an OTJ trial for the "temporary" OTJ next weekend. I know she did not earn it, in fact I was wondering why she has been a bit higher in the AMPS and PMPS, she usually always has green PMPS's. So my theory is that her insulin was old and she may not have been getting the dose anyway for a while, and also, the syringes were so hard to get the dose right, sometimes the drop was less then a pin head, and sometimes it was a real drop, (I recheck each dose after I shoot her).

I won't get too excited about this, because first it has only been one day (3 cycles) and two, I don't like the higher PMPS and some AMPS's. But I wanted to report this as it happened for any comments or just fyi to anyone who finds it interesting. Daphne has never looked like other kitties on her SS and I always wondered if a piece to the puzzle was not discovered yet.

I keep the SS updated and of course LL will be the first to know what happens next.
AS I SAID ABOVE, PLEASE DON'T DO WHAT I DID, IT DOES NOT FOLLOW PROTOCOL, it was done as a temporary thing for myself and because we have to skip two shots next weekend.

Oh and if Daphne wasn't amazing enough, SHE HAD THE 83 RIGHT AFTER THE THUNDERSTORM, that usually send her sky high.

I hope you won't be mad at me LL. I know I went off protocol, but my own health has been so bad, I am getting pretty desperate and Daphne really has been doing well for so long, I kind of just wanted to nudge a bit more... :oops:

Sorry this is a late post. Have a good night kitties and beans.
 
Re: 6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83

I'm not surprised at all by what Daphne is doing for you...she is a very special girl! I'm keeping this low key, though, just because I'm a bit superstitious...congrats on Day 1 of Daphne's OTJ trial.
 
Re: 6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83

Hi Barb,
This is an inspiring story. It would be great if Daphne could be diet-controlled. (I'm not sayin' nothin', either!! )

I sure hope that you will be feeling better soon. Sending lots and lots of healing vines.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
How's that?


Hope you are feeling better, Barbara.
 
Re: 6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83

Wonderful progress on Daphne !

But how are you doing Barb? Is that the back pain? Worried about you!
 
Re: 6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83

Thank you guys, I'm actually touched to tears that everyone asked about me. I honestly don't think about my pain, even though I mentioned it, I put it to the back of my head, and put my family, including Daphne first. So it is touching that a kitty board asks about how I feel, so thank you, Amy, Ella, Dyana, and Helen. LL is a true family isn't it? :YMHUG:

I'm keeping this low key, though, just because I'm a bit superstitious…
(I'm not sayin' nothin', either!! )
No one is more superstitious then I am, so you know how scared I was to write this? I had to, of course, I could not just keep it to myself.

I have no idea what tomorrow will bring, but I can only hope.

I'll test Daphne before I go to bed at about 2:00AM.
 
Re: 6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83

Wow!! Very nice numbers indeed....what you thinking Miss Daphne???

I hope you are doing better, Barb. I know some days are next to impossible but you keep chugging along.

Smart experiment...she may have ideas for next weekend. ;-)
 
Re: 6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83

Thanks Marje, your comments made me feel a little better. I'm the kind of person that stays the course and always follow, "by the book", so I was feeling pretty guilty that I didn't give Daphne her insulin today.

For my own health, I really have no choice but to just chug along, because I love the people around me, so I do…
 
Re: 6/3 Daphne AMPS 102, +1 82, PMPS 152, +3 83

Doing well, Daphne! (What a pretty, fluffy cat you are!)
Good luck to you also, Barb. (I'm chronically ill, so I know the struggle of dealing with all this cat stuff in spite of one's own illness.)
 
Thanks Vidya for your kind words and I'm so sorry you also struggle with chronic illness. I took a look at your profile for the name of your illness, saw you did not post it… but noticed you use alternative treatments for Boo. I have considered some of the same things for myself, but didn't know that some of that can be used for kitties. I read a lot on my own illness to try and "fix" me, since the regular Drs. are not doing much. I just wish my memory was better, because I forget what I read so fast. :roll:

I hope you have some good days...
 
Sorry, I missed your post Ann, thanks! nailbite_smile I actually don't have a plan for tomorrow. I didn't really plan this day, I guess Daphne will let me know :-D
 
WOW and very impressive. Somehow our kitties seem to know what we need. Well done Daphne. She's looking good Barb - and I think your experiment was a success, and good to go for the day you will be gone. It's only a couple, I am sure she will be fine. I hope you are feeling better too.
 
Oh, there's a bunch of things wrong with me. :? Boo and I are now on many of the same supplements! :-D As a person who relies on natural medicine, it was admittedly a big decision for me to agree to use insulin for my little guy, but there just didn't seem to be any other way. Thankfully, it appears he's nearly in remission, and we can hopefully rely on the various alternative treatments he's receiving to keep him healthy. I absolutely believe that it's the supplements that have given him such good results -- nice flat curves, no hypo episodes, and quick and steady progress.
 
I think your experiment was a success,
Michelle, you kind of answered a question I had rolling around in my head… yes, I have to remember this was just an experiment for next weekend. I was thinking to keep the OTJ trial going, but I do think Daphne's numbers are not quite ready, with some of her AMPS #s 142, 155 and some PMPS hight blue… I will leave my DH a note for AMPS, if she is under 120, maybe skip again, but any higher, I think I will give her regular dose… the rest of this week.

It really was a good day, but we'll see tomorrow, I guess fingers and paws crossed and maybe another talk with Miss Daphne.

Vidya, I'm sorry you have a lot of stuff, I do too, I didn't even mention all of it. :roll: I am on a lot of supplements also, after all my reading, I really did put one of my issues into remission, (anti jinx). It was the hardest alternative treatment I ever did, most of it was just a hard diet, but anything is better then harsh drugs the Drs. just want to push on you. I will be looking into some things for Daphne. I research things to death, and I don't take supplements lightly at all…

Thanks Liz!
 
Hi Barb, I am just catching up to your condo this morning, as I logged off early! Sometimes you just have to follow the kitty's lead, and so glad you tried it! Daphne's numbers have always been so impressive. She is amazing, and I will have fingers, paws crossed, vines and prayer for you and Daphne. I understand with the chronic illness. We'll all be watching tomorow, oops today! Hugs to you and Daphne.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top