Daphne#5 GA
Member Since 2011
5/29 second from last post http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72076
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72346
So, first, I'll explain the 5/29, it is the last post before I skipped post for 5/30, and 5/31.
"Yesterday" is as it reads, yesterday but it was not attached to my last post, so that is why the 5/29
Sorry didn't mean to confuse.
And now the amazing Daphne,
:shock:
what she did for me, my beautiful baby girl, knows how hard this has been on me and I talked to her last night, and told her how much I loved her, but also asked her to please make this easier on me because I'm hurting so bad.
Next weekend my DH and I will be going away over night and my DS will be home, but I don't want him to shoot or test. Daphne is only on 1 drop so, I figured it would be ok for two skipped shots.
So I thought it would be a good idea to see what she may do next week. So this morning I set the feeder for her regular time of AMPS @ 5:30 AM, but did not give her the one drop,(no insulin). DH woke up at 8:30 and tested her, and she was 102,
so of course I said she probably has some insulin in her shed, but I told DH to shoot if she was higher then 120, but she wasn't, so he didn't. Then he feed her a tsp. of EVO at that time…tested again, @ 9:30, +1, and she was 82 :shock: . At this point I said lets see what happens at PMPS, so at 5:30, she was 152, but we gave no insulin and made sure she ate her regular 1st, 2nd, 3rd dinner and tested at 8:30, +3 and it was 83
PLEASE DO NOT DO WHAT I DID TODAY. Daphne is very, very, closely monitored, I'm home all day, and I practically watch her breathe, and of course she is down to one drop.
So I guess today was an OTJ trial for the "temporary" OTJ next weekend. I know she did not earn it, in fact I was wondering why she has been a bit higher in the AMPS and PMPS, she usually always has green PMPS's. So my theory is that her insulin was old and she may not have been getting the dose anyway for a while, and also, the syringes were so hard to get the dose right, sometimes the drop was less then a pin head, and sometimes it was a real drop, (I recheck each dose after I shoot her).
I won't get too excited about this, because first it has only been one day (3 cycles) and two, I don't like the higher PMPS and some AMPS's. But I wanted to report this as it happened for any comments or just fyi to anyone who finds it interesting. Daphne has never looked like other kitties on her SS and I always wondered if a piece to the puzzle was not discovered yet.
I keep the SS updated and of course LL will be the first to know what happens next.
AS I SAID ABOVE, PLEASE DON'T DO WHAT I DID, IT DOES NOT FOLLOW PROTOCOL, it was done as a temporary thing for myself and because we have to skip two shots next weekend.
Oh and if Daphne wasn't amazing enough, SHE HAD THE 83 RIGHT AFTER THE THUNDERSTORM, that usually send her sky high.
I hope you won't be mad at me LL. I know I went off protocol, but my own health has been so bad, I am getting pretty desperate and Daphne really has been doing well for so long, I kind of just wanted to nudge a bit more...
Sorry this is a late post. Have a good night kitties and beans.
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72346
So, first, I'll explain the 5/29, it is the last post before I skipped post for 5/30, and 5/31.
"Yesterday" is as it reads, yesterday but it was not attached to my last post, so that is why the 5/29
Sorry didn't mean to confuse.
And now the amazing Daphne,
Next weekend my DH and I will be going away over night and my DS will be home, but I don't want him to shoot or test. Daphne is only on 1 drop so, I figured it would be ok for two skipped shots.
So I thought it would be a good idea to see what she may do next week. So this morning I set the feeder for her regular time of AMPS @ 5:30 AM, but did not give her the one drop,(no insulin). DH woke up at 8:30 and tested her, and she was 102,
PLEASE DO NOT DO WHAT I DID TODAY. Daphne is very, very, closely monitored, I'm home all day, and I practically watch her breathe, and of course she is down to one drop.
So I guess today was an OTJ trial for the "temporary" OTJ next weekend. I know she did not earn it, in fact I was wondering why she has been a bit higher in the AMPS and PMPS, she usually always has green PMPS's. So my theory is that her insulin was old and she may not have been getting the dose anyway for a while, and also, the syringes were so hard to get the dose right, sometimes the drop was less then a pin head, and sometimes it was a real drop, (I recheck each dose after I shoot her).
I won't get too excited about this, because first it has only been one day (3 cycles) and two, I don't like the higher PMPS and some AMPS's. But I wanted to report this as it happened for any comments or just fyi to anyone who finds it interesting. Daphne has never looked like other kitties on her SS and I always wondered if a piece to the puzzle was not discovered yet.
I keep the SS updated and of course LL will be the first to know what happens next.
AS I SAID ABOVE, PLEASE DON'T DO WHAT I DID, IT DOES NOT FOLLOW PROTOCOL, it was done as a temporary thing for myself and because we have to skip two shots next weekend.
Oh and if Daphne wasn't amazing enough, SHE HAD THE 83 RIGHT AFTER THE THUNDERSTORM, that usually send her sky high.
I hope you won't be mad at me LL. I know I went off protocol, but my own health has been so bad, I am getting pretty desperate and Daphne really has been doing well for so long, I kind of just wanted to nudge a bit more...
Sorry this is a late post. Have a good night kitties and beans.