6/3,Chuck,AMPS 85,+3 59,+4 67,+4.5 60,+5 56,+6 66,+6.5 55,+7 63,PMPS153,+1.75 319,+3 371,+9.25 316

Status
Not open for further replies.
I decided to give him .5 tsp HC gravy. He acts like he hasn't been fed in DAYS when I get that stuff out.
 
Holy moly, Steph! I've NEVER seen so much dark green on Chuck's SS. I think you've been steering masterfully. :D Maybe another tiny bit of HC so he doesn't slip too far below that 60?
 
I love the numbers!! Just not the stress of not knowing where he's going.
I was also looking forward to sleeping in today! Chuck decided we should hang out instead!
 
Hi Steph,

Good job shooting, FWIW, the first half of the cycle will usually play out about the same when you shoot a reduced dose, and 0.5u, is not much of a reduction (in % terms) as Chuck is on 12u. Additionally the larger the dose, the larger the depot, so the depot of the 12u will still be driving the cycle somewhat.

It looks like he has been surfin quite nicely since the +3.25 gravy, (not much difference between 63, 66, 67. 65, 60.(basically staying flat)
You could have gone with just some LC, to keep him ticking over, but I don't blame you for reaching for the HC when he's showing off his extreme surfing skills. :eek: As the

Chuck decided we should hang out instead!
That's because he loves you:kiss:
 
I tried giving his usual 9 lives and then some friskies... Once he gets a taste of the HC gravy he acts like a food snob.
I'll try LC with a drop of HC gravy if he needs more. Maybe that will do the trick.
 
+5 56

It does make me wonder. I read on here that IAA is usually self limiting and will resolve in a certain time frame but can't remember how long.
I wonder about acro too because his nails seem to be thickening but "she'd" when I trim them. He doesn't use his scratcher or dig furniture like he use to... So I wondered if the nails were from that. Sometimes he will be purring away and I'll realize his mouth is hanging open a tiny bit. He doesn't drool but his little tongue will stick out occasionally too. He's done the tongue thing his whole life though.
The 7th will be 9 months on insulin.
 
I believe the IAA usually resolves in about 1 year's time so, you are getting close to that.

Is drooling a sign of Acro? I should read up on it. Bubba started drooling about 4 years ago when I would pet him and he still does from time to time especially before a meal .
 
I've read the enlargement of the lower jaw can cause the drooling in acro cats. I don't think it's a specific symptom or indication of it...
My civvie drools all the time. He will shake his head and shower you with his drool. It's gross lol but I'm use to it. He leaves a tiny wet spot where he sleeps too.
+5.5 64 looks like we might be surfing all day!
 
I've read the enlargement of the lower jaw can cause the drooling in acro cats. I don't think it's a specific symptom or indication of it...
My civvie drools all the time. He will shake his head and shower you with his drool. It's gross lol but I'm use to it. He leaves a tiny wet spot where he sleeps too.
+5.5 64 looks like we might be surfing all day!
Bronx (acro) was always a drooler too but it did get worse over time. Does Chuck make snoring sounds at times even when not sleeping?
 
Drooling can be due to tooth problems.

My civvie has "death breath". Vet did he could use a dental cleaning and Chuck could too. She wanted him closer to regulation before doing it though. I'm sure she would be willing now since his numbers have improved so much on lantus. I tried getting a "group discount"... No such thing. LOL I'm going to see if my local no kill sanctuary does them. Might be cheaper.
Seems like I save a dollar and then need to spend a million! I might end up at Cornell University animal hospital for the dentals and acro/IAA tests. I have a care credit account and they will add all the bills into one and give me longer than 6 months with no interest. I'm assuming they send the bloodwork off for you there... Need to make some calls.
 
Vet did he could use a dental cleaning and Chuck could too. Sh
that could account for the drooling.
Of course acro can cause some mouth/teeth issues too.
Try not to fret about it, and focus on all that lovely green he is seeing.

George needs a dental clean too, but I'm scared, BFG is an old guy, early ckd, diabetic (in remission), heart murmur, overweight......and over here the procedure would be done without anesthetist, no xrays, basically it would be my regular vet would be flying solo. No monitoring of kidneys etc after/ during procedure. So just don't feel comfortable taking him in, not while he's doing so good, even though I know that his teeth will eventually knock him out of remission.:( but just don't feel happy about getting the procedure done here.

When he's purring and licking his chops sometimes he'll snort kinda like a pig
LOL it makes me giggle when BFG does that.

Mind you he snores like a trooper:rolleyes:
 
His feeder just turned for his +6 snack and he isn't amused that it's empty. He doesn't need it... I think I will put half a tsp in for +8 just in case he decides to dip a little.
 
The vet told me I could work on the at home. Start brushing and if he will let me to use my finger nail to scrape off some of the buildup. Just make sure to scrape away from the gum line. Lol yeah sure. :smuggrin::rolleyes: He let her scrape it a little but at the vet he's a completely different cat.
He's decide it's nap time and I think I'll join him!
 
I put a drop of lc food (FF classics) in his feeder for half hour increments for the next 2 hours. Less than half an ounce total.
Shouldn't be enough to negatively effect his numbers but should help him continue to surf safely if he decides to dip again. I'm taking a nap!
Beautiful green streak... Should I stick with the 12 units or try 11.5 again? I expect a bounce but clearly my expectations are a bit off lately. :bookworm:o_O
ETA: my gut instinct is 11.5 but his SS seems to say 12... Maybe 11.75? I know it's a drop off a difference at this size dose but I rather tweak the dose than steer so much. He might end up with a bellyache from the gravy. He's the gassiest cat I know and he's already stinking up the house.
 
Should I stick with the 12 units or try 11.5 again? I expect a bounce but clearly my expectations are a bit off lately.
I've been thinking about that.......

Because we don't know what we are dealing with (ie Acro/Iaa or both), if it's IAA and the antibodies are breaking, they can race down the scale.
With Acro the tumor can pulsate and amounts of insulin can oscilate as that happens.

My gut tells me stick with the 11.5u tonight you seem to have been having to feed him quite a bit today (and he didn't move with the HC)
I wouldn't want the Depot to get too overfull and have to fight the numbers.
That all said, I don't have personal experience with high doses, and would feel more comfortable if some of our members who have experience with high doses take a look and offer their two cents worth. I might be missing something.

I'll send a message out.
:-)
 
I don't have personal experience with high dose cats either, but I tend to agree with Gill that maybe sticking with the 11.5 for the PM shot tonight would be wise. What a beautiful cycle today :D:D:D
 
+1.75 319! Bounce or huge food spike. :blackeye:
I think that's a bounce. Unless you've noted that he has huge food spikes usually.
George wasn't very carb sensitive, I would get about 30-50pt spike.

He will come down, it's not surprising he bounced after 18hrs in the green/blue range and he was in low greens too,
Awesome day today.:D:D:D:D:D
 
Without insulin and sometimes with... He will spike 300 points from eating his meals. Lately I think it's been about 100-150 depending on the day and if he's bouncing or clearing a bounce. Haha so basically it's not consistent.
 
Normally yes. Without insulin he shoots straight to outter space and stays there. If I got a fur shot on prozinc I would know by +3 or +4 and have to give a mini dose to stop the spike. (For anyone not familiar- this is not recommended. Do not inject another dose after fur shot!! I had a lot of experience and data to back up my dosing method and it was okayed by the vet)
 
Lovely green cycle today. :D:cool: Hindsight is easier. I was out of the house otherwise I would have suggested 12 units. Chuck likes to bounce and he didn't go below 50 day. It's OK to do a temporary reduced dose if you need sleep, but I would return to 12 units. And no shame in doing a temporary reduction to 11.5 units for a while if you want - I used to do small reductions periodically when I needed a break to sleep. But I expect he will need to eventually return to 12.
It does make me wonder. I read on here that IAA is usually self limiting and will resolve in a certain time frame but can't remember how long.
I wonder about acro too because his nails seem to be thickening but "she'd" when I trim them. He doesn't use his scratcher or dig furniture like he use to... So I wondered if the nails were from that. Sometimes he will be purring away and I'll realize his mouth is hanging open a tiny bit. He doesn't drool but his little tongue will stick out occasionally too. He's done the tongue thing his whole life though.
The 7th will be 9 months on insulin.
I wouldn't worry about the drooling. My civie drooled, Neko did not. Some acro kitties can have larger tongues or other soft/bony growths in their mouth, which Neko did, but it never caused drooling. I have heard some people comment on really thick nails as a symptom. I found with Neko due to her acro induced arthritis, that she preferred horizontal scratchers to vertical ones. Don't bother setting your alarm clock for the 12 months past FD diagnosis and expect the IAA (if Chuck has it) to break. I have seen less or more. Neko was around 9 months, but that was because she got SRT which impacted the cause for her diabetes.
I might end up at Cornell University animal hospital for the dentals and acro/IAA tests. I have a care credit account and they will add all the bills into one and give me longer than 6 months with no interest. I'm assuming they send the bloodwork off for you there... Need to make some calls.
Everyone has to send the blood out to Michigan State University for tests. The main question is what they charge on top of the MSU prices, shipping and the blood draw. Some vets charge a premium for the "favour" of shipping the blood for you. Some don't at all, so definitely worth getting a quote or two.
 
Hopefully he'll clear the bounce quick like the last one. I'm having a bad flare in my back pain today so it's ok with me if I don't have to poke so much. He missed out on a lot of sleep today too so he's dreaming away.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top