6/3 Bronx AMPS 46, +2 95, +6.5 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bronx's dad (GA)

Member Since 2016
Hi all! First time light green at AMPS, but almost 50 so only reduced by 25%. I know the rule is never shoot below 50 but all the R he had in the AM cycle yesterday is prob the reason for this light green. Whenever I have done a no-shot or BCS with a light green or low dark green PMPS, it never worked out and he would shoot up quickly. I am home to monitor and steer until +6 & will leave some higher carb food in the feeder if he is still green at +6 since his Lev nadir is usually around +8 to +9.
 
Last edited:
I would've stalled without feeding to make sure he was rising. Glad to see so far he's staying out of the deep end. Don't get complacent though, he can still come down once his food wears off. He was likely bouncing from the PM+11 R dose that dropped him from the 300's to the 50's on 5/31. I understand controlling the high numbers with R but I might try to use a lighter hand to avoid those kind of drops. Today is the 5th cycle since that drop and he could've started breaking the bounce which is something else to keep in mind. You're doing a great job but that's what I see from his SS which may or may not be accurate.

Maybe @Sandy and Black Kitty can take a look.
 
Even though Bronx is Acro much of the information available on the board is still very relevant. Below is the short explanation on bouncing. Sometimes they bounce higher/ harder from big drops rather than low numbers. It's found in the The Basics New To the Group Sticky . The other reference I use to read quite often is the
Where Can I Find link. Loads of information in there.

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Last edited:
How is Bronx feeling since his treatment? its been about a month now, correct? :bighug:
About the same so far, I think he is trending lower and get excited but then he hits me with a bunch of pinks. It has been exactly a month since his last treatment day. However his snoring sounds and eye tearing are almost gone which is great but he wasn't doing that as much before the treatment. I really think the Cabergolin may have started working a littl bit. We both love the golden paste...thank you! & have him off Gaba. Thanks for checking in Karen, how is Lily doing?
 
Last edited:
I would've stalled without feeding to make sure he was rising.
Me too. That's the only way to keep Bronx safe, especially after SRT. On 5/25 you held the dose of 20 units after seeing a below 50. For Bronx's safety, you should have reduced then. His new dose should be no higher than 18 units, maybe even less now. Post SRT, reductions can come fast and furious. Neko used to sometimes earn back to back reductions, 2-3 of them a week. Play it very cautious at this point of the game. As Karen suggested, do a light hand with the R and go conservative with the L dose as well. You may find at one point that you want even want to stop the use of R so you can see what the L dose is doing by itself.

It's OK to do a one time BCS or reduced dose after going below 50, like you did today, and it can even help reduce the depot which by now is overfull.

Great news that his snoring and eye tearing are clearing up. It took hardly any time for Neko too for the eye tearing (she never snored). Those are both signs that the growth hormone production is reducing because the SRT is working. The excess growth hormone is what causes the diabetes. Yet more evidence to use caution with the juice.
 
I'm glad he's doing well but even with all the years of experience, all the data I had on Gracie, with her being at a very low dose, and with her on levemir, I didn't shoot below 50. Please remember safety first.

I never had to stall more than 30 mins to have her get just above 50 to shoot. None of us wants to lose momentum but you have to keep them safe.
 
Paul - any reason you aren't reducing the dose? Bronx has gone below 50 more than once on this dose, he needs less juice. He's done with 20 units. I would go to 17 or 18 units tomorrow.
 
Paul - any reason you aren't reducing the dose? Bronx has gone below 50 more than once on this dose, he needs less juice. He's done with 20 units. I would go to 17 or 18 units tomorrow.
I just read this Wendy, did reduce to 15 an hour ago at PMPS but aft I shot and thought about it, I told myself I should've done 17 or 18 and now you confirmed what I was thinking! Will see where he's at tomorrow morn and either go up to 17/18 or stay at 15 if he is green again. The reason I didn't reduce this morn was that I am pretty sure the light green was from the heavy use of R before that.
 
Wow, I missed all the excitement yesterday! So glad to see the numbers coming down but, wow, they came down.

It's funny that with the high dose condition your learning curve has had to be different than kitties responding to lower doses of insulin. We had a similar thing with Bubba being a late nadir cat ( he nadired at +12 ) so I had to look at his cycles differently than the norm.

Hope Bronx stays in great numbers for you and hope you enjoyed the beer feast. Sounds like a great setting for one.
 
Wow, I missed all the excitement yesterday! So glad to see the numbers coming down but, wow, they came down.

It's funny that with the high dose condition your learning curve has had to be different than kitties responding to lower doses of insulin. We had a similar thing with Bubba being a late nadir cat ( he nadired at +12 ) so I had to look at his cycles differently than the norm.

Hope Bronx stays in great numbers for you and hope you enjoyed the beer feast. Sounds like a great setting for one.
It was a good fest with no lines at all and a perfect day for it!

Yeah, a lot of variables going on with the high dose & big depot, using R, & watching out for the SRT to start making an impact on his insulin needs. Don't want a huge depot if the tumor stops pulsing all of a sudden so I've been lighter on the Lev and heavier on the R lately. It's a good thing I get to work from home often to keep my eye on him.

Bubba is looking good OTJ!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top