? 6/3 Boris AMPS 319 - Vacation advice needed

learjetta

Member Since 2019
Well, Boris's numbers certainly have been all over the place. Given our incredibly busy weekend this past weekend, I guess I shouldn't be surprised, but I'm not sure that my original plan of reducing his dose to 1u is recommended at this point. He could end up running REALLY high.

Thoughts? Suggestions? We will be gone 6/8 - 6/13, and our 3 cats will be under the care of a paid pet sitter.

Thanks!

Edited to add: pet sitter will NOT be testing.
 
It looks like maybe 1.5 units would be a safe number since the petsitter will not be testing. Of course the next couple of days could give you more of an idea once you see where his numbers are. It's best to reduce at least the day before you are leaving to help drain the depot.
 
Thanks! I guess I’m worried his numbers will climb pretty high, and he had DKA back in April, so I really don’t want to see a relapse.

He was just on 1.75u last week, and he didn’t seem any worse than he is now. I’m a bit disappointed his numbers aren’t coming down. Hopefully removing dry food when we get home will help!
 
With DKA history, you want something in there. That 2 units seems to get him moving. I agree with Carla 1.5u seems reasonable.

The removing of the dry could be make all the difference in the world.
 
Last edited:
So with a dose of 1.5, you don't think I'll need to worry about incredibly high numbers? Man, this is the first vacation we are taking since he was diagnosed in April, and he's not well regulated. At. All.

I'm so worried I'm going to come back to a dying/dead cat. :(
 
His numbers will most likely be a little higher, but with the pet sitter not testing you need to be careful. You don't want him going too low with no testing.
 
We have returned, and I am now officially Melanie Genetti! :woot:

Boris's BG today at what I think was +6 was 384. He was getting 2u BID and was due for an increase, but we dropped it to 1.5u for the duration of our vacation. The pet sitter was visiting between 7:30 and 9:30 twice a day, so he wasn't on a solid schedule like he is when we are home. We are also removing dry food immediately, so will need to consider that as well.

I'm inclined to keep him at 2u for the next week while we remove dry food. Does that sound reasonable?

Thanks!
 
I am now officially Melanie Genetti!
:bighug: Congratulations!

I'm inclined to keep him at 2u for the next week while we remove dry
Only do one change at a time so you know how Boris' BG reacts to the change.

Will you be able to monitor closely with the removal of the dry food? There have been some that a food change significantly affected the BG numbers (much lower).
 
Congrats Melanie! Welcome back! How was the trip!? We’re you able to relax and enjoy everything despite being away from Boris!? I hope so!!

Sounds like he’s doing pretty good! You must be excited to finally be able to focus fully on his treatment without having to worry about a million other things! Looking forward to tomorrow’s post on Boris :D
 
Thank you! :)

Yep, we both work from home full time, so we will monitor closely. Gave 2u per pre-vacation dosing, and stopped dry food for Boris. I think I’ll keep him there for now and see how the removal of dry food affects his BG.
 
Congrats Melanie! Welcome back! How was the trip!? We’re you able to relax and enjoy everything despite being away from Boris!? I hope so!!

Sounds like he’s doing pretty good! You must be excited to finally be able to focus fully on his treatment without having to worry about a million other things! Looking forward to tomorrow’s post on Boris :D

I missed this last night... sorry about that!

The trip was amazing! Scott and I and 29 of our closest friends and relatives cruised from Baltimore to Bermuda and back on the Grandeur of the Seas. Our wedding ceremony was Sunday, June 9th, and was performed by the captain of the ship! Seriously, the trip was so amazing that I cried on the last night because I didn't want it to end!

Two days before we left we set up some Wyze cameras in the kitchen and the living/dining room so I could check on the cats whenever I wanted, and that alleviated most of my worries. I was able to see that Boris was behaving just fine, eating well, not drinking too much, and that he was being given his meds properly (after food, etc.). The cameras have "night vision" and will send alerts with a 12 second video clip whenever motion is detected, so I was notified every time the pet sitters arrived, which was helpful. I have a rental home and needed to be reachable by my tenant, so I paid for the internet package while we were at sea, and while not blazing fast, it let me keep in contact with him AND check in on the cats whenever I wanted.

Thanks for asking about the trip! It was great!
 
I missed this last night... sorry about that!

The trip was amazing! Scott and I and 29 of our closest friends and relatives cruised from Baltimore to Bermuda and back on the Grandeur of the Seas. Our wedding ceremony was Sunday, June 9th, and was performed by the captain of the ship! Seriously, the trip was so amazing that I cried on the last night because I didn't want it to end!

Two days before we left we set up some Wyze cameras in the kitchen and the living/dining room so I could check on the cats whenever I wanted, and that alleviated most of my worries. I was able to see that Boris was behaving just fine, eating well, not drinking too much, and that he was being given his meds properly (after food, etc.). The cameras have "night vision" and will send alerts with a 12 second video clip whenever motion is detected, so I was notified every time the pet sitters arrived, which was helpful. I have a rental home and needed to be reachable by my tenant, so I paid for the internet package while we were at sea, and while not blazing fast, it let me keep in contact with him AND check in on the cats whenever I wanted.

Thanks for asking about the trip! It was great!
Wow, sounds amazing!! I am so glad that you had such a great time and that Boris was so well cared for while you were away! Awesome!! It's very cool that you got married by a ship captain! how unique :joyful:

It sounds like you were able to make some really great memories, and more to come :)
 
Back
Top