6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86 more ? on testing frequency

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good evening everyone,

This is a late condo. Angie's pmps made me really sad and I couldn't give her the 0.1 IU dose. I had to go to her propper 0.25 IU dose. I just can't do it to her. I need to find some way of testing properly - even if it means getting sleeping tablets to ensure that I get proper sleep during the night. I may not need to sleep as long that way.

I'm making a vet appointment for her (a new vet so it will be educate a vet project take 3) because I am a bit concerned about the amount of gunk coming out of one of her eyes. It's increased a lot lately. I also think she might be mouth breathing. It's hard to tell because she's a bit of a snorer but she seems to wheeze a bit while eating. I'm worried that she might have a URI.

My thoughts are with Caryl, Jane, Jack, Alex and Karre and all the sick kitties. It's been a sad patch. Thank goodness that we can congratulate Zoey and Emily and it's not all gloom.

Yesterday's condo is here.

Grace
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 gone back to proper dose

That was quite a big drop. I'll test again in 1 hour. She skipped her second dinner - discovered it late. She ate it just after I tested her when I reminded her about it.
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 gone back to proper dose

I don't know whether thinking in terms of the big picture will help -- if you get the PM tests in now, maybe it will get Angie back in remission and then you won't have to test! I don't know if this is feasible for your schedule but moving Angie's test time earlier means that you'll be able to get more PM tests without losing sleep (at least most of the time).
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86

Hi everyone,

Once again I'm asking for help - I feel like such a needy person on this board! I'm sorry about that but I can't help it.

@ Sienne - I was thinking about the long term picture today as well and when I saw that pmps I felt that I needed to have another go.

I think that I'm also adding a whole lot to my health issues by getting so worked up about testing. If I can do it without as much anxiety then maybe I'll be able to manage better.

One of the stresses for me is that I don't know when I should be testing and when I can rest. I feel like if I'm not testing her every hour then I might be missing something. Is there a guide somewhere about when to test? I'd like to be able to set alarms so that I remember and relax in between.

I've spotted that she won't drop suddenly low in the first hour or two so I thought that testing before +3 might not be as important. I noticed that Marje said on somebody else's condo that +1 or +2 tests can indicate what the rest of the cycle will look like but I haven't done this enough to be able to guess anything. This is effectively just our 3rd week of testing with insulin - we had less than two weeks in between our beginning tight regulation and Angie going OTJ.

The other stress is that I'm finding each test to be a bit traumatic. I can't get enough blood without a few pokes each time and I get really upset and feel like I'm hurting her by poking so many holes in her poor ears. Angie isn't nearly as worried as I am - although she gets stressed when I get upset. I switched to holding the lancet a few days ago and I think that's better than the pen but it can still take three or four pokes. I'm warming her ears first. She's gotten easier to manage now that I show her what her treat will be once it's done! She's never been too difficult, she just pulls her head away and I'm scared that I'll tear her ear.

Any advice on any of those points would be really appreciated. I don't know how you all manage to do it so calmly!

Grace
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86 more ? on testing frequen

We suggest that people who are shooting a low number get a +1 and a +2 test. Your PMPS is not considered a "low" number. (We're usually referring to numbers below 100 but ECID.) Both Marje and I like a +2 or a +3 test as a routine test depending on the cat. If the +2 is considerably lower than your pre-shot it's likely you're going to see an active cycle.

There really isn't a need to test every hour. If you are seeing low numbers, then getting tests tests every 30 min. allows you the data to steer the curve. However, those times when numbers are in dose reduction range are the exception. How you test depends on your cat. Looking at Angie's SS, it looks like when her numbers drop, it's by +4. Getting a +3 and a +4 and deciding when to test beyond that may be helpful.
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86 more ? on testing frequen

Morning ( for me) Grace....
My girl is otj yet I'm still testing her pretty often ( at least once a day) since she was having many borderline numbers ever since she went otj.


I have found that it really doesn't bother them so much.... and you said that Angie is calm....
so maybe we just have to help you find a way to not need to poke so much....
ear_web1_zps0bf45a17.jpg

This picture always looks backwards to me but it's good for illustration. Those x's should be on the outside edge of the ear.
I find the most successful spot on mine is the spots between the edge and the pink x's....
and most of the time there is a blood droplet and I just can't see it.... so I have my reading glasses and sometimes my jeweler's glasses ( with a light)

Angie has dark ears too so you might be missing the tiny drop until you've poked a couple of times.

Do you have a good light...? a small flashlight you can hold in your mouth while poking or a headlight that you can strap on might make a big difference.
Also, what size drop does your meter need?
I have two meters and one of them needs a teenie tiny drop and the other needs a real drop.

Also you said you had switched to hand poking with the lancet. ( I'm not able to do that as Shadow will reach over and take off my arm) but I do keep my lancing device setting
on 4 ( and it has only two higher settings - 4.5 or 5)

Sounds like besides giving Angie a treat after her pokes, you need a treat too. :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86 more ? on testing frequen

You guys are the best - I think you have both helped a lot. I'll read that carefully tomorrow.

One more question (there's always more!)

I have an appointment that I can't miss tomorrow morning. I need to be out between +2 and +4. Should I give her extra food, give her 0.1 IU instead of 0.25, skip or something else?

Good night!
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86 more ? on testing frequen

it's always determined by your numbers...
this is the know thy cat part.

so ask when you get that amps....
even better if you get a +11 or +10 so you know if she is rising or falling when you get to the amps.
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86 more ? on testing frequen

(((Grace)))

Sienne has given you good info and insure it will help.

Two other things I'd like to suggest. One is my post on Testing and Shooting Tips. I've found that many members don't know the lancet has a bevel which must be pointed to the ceiling so the sharpest end goes in first. If you aren't doing that, it could make a bid difference.

Second...one thing that has gotten me through the stress of this is yoga and meditation. The calmer I am, the better it is for Gracie. I know you probably can't get out for a yoga class so I suggest what I do....it's a website YogaGlo. For a small fee each month (which is generally less than a one hour class at a yoga studio here), you can do classes in the privacy of your home from your computer. There are all different levels and the yogis are amazing....some of them world renowned.

They have all levels, duration, types....just check it out. There are some wonderful classes for when you are tired, need energy, are stressed, etc. no matter how exhausted I am, these help me...especially if I do the classes for exhaustion. There is a free introductory period....I believe it is a week of free classes and you can take as many as you want. Just a thought.

Sending you hugs and caring thoughts.
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86 more ? on testing frequen

Thanks Rhiannon and Marje.

Marje - I'll go through that tip link when I'm more awake. I used to do yoga and found it wonderful. You may be on to something there!

Rhiannon - there often isn't anyone who is willing to give dose advice on at my am and pm shot times so I need to plan ahead. Sometimes I'm the only registered user on!

Angie had other plans for this morning anyway and wasn't cooperating. I'm going to try again in half an hour. That will make her shot an hour later so I'll be home before her nadir. Very clever Angie!
 
Re: 6/3 Angie pmps=198 +3=95 +4=86 more ? on testing frequen

okay.
I've just noticed that "they" don't like to get too far ahead ....
it is hard to predict the cycles even when you think you've got your cat's pattern down....

I find it helps to pm one of them.... the one that is typically on around the time you would need help....
and say...
hey... would you come look at my condo in a few hours .... I'm going to need dosing advice....

that usually works pretty well....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top