6/3 - Alphyne - AMPS @ 304 / +2 @ 296 / PMPS @ 324 - no active cycles since 5/25

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
(previous) 5/29 - Alphyne - curve night! - PMPS @ 318 / +2 @ 321 / +4 @ 340 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Hi All. I'm wondering if someone can take a look at Alphyne's spreadsheet? (I know you all are hesitant to help me since I'm using a pet meter, but I'm also hoping since her numbers are so high, the same rules apply, regardless of the meter type.)

I posted a bit ago how her curve day was odd, in that she kept increasing, and didn't really have a curve at all.

I increased her dose on 5/30 based on that curve, but something just seems off to me. In looking back at her numbers, Alphyne hasn't had an 'active' cycle since 5/25. She stays high and flat at all times, and sometimes increases. She did drop below 90 on 5/23, but her reduction point is at 80 (not 90), since she never surfs. Maybe I should have actually reduced instead of increasing? Since then, she keeps going up. I can usually see activity within 7 cycles, if something is going to change.

I've read here and in the FB group that too much insulin can mimic too little, and keep the numbers high. Could that be what's happening? Could my girl be the odd duck that this is happening to?

Can someone throw me a lifeline? Thanks!
 
Plenty use the AT so dint worry about that. Tge combination of the fur shot and the is likely the cause of the high flat BG. The count until curve day starts the night after the fur shot so you have a few days before considering an increase. It’s only been 3 days. :bighug:
 
Tge combination of the fur shot and the is likely the cause of the high flat BG. The count until curve day starts the night after the fur shot so you have a few days before considering an increase. It’s only been 3 days. :bighug:

Thanks! She has just had nothing active, even at a lower dose, for so long that it's starting to freak me out. I feel like I just keep increasing...and so does she. I feel like her best numbers were at 1.25U, but she's heading in the wrong direction. I'll definitely ask for help again after the next curve, but I'm scared to death (right now) to keep increasing her...I feel like I'm making her worse. On 4/26, she had no glucose in her urine, which was encouraging, and now we are basically back to the same numbers we started with back in January. Thanks again! :bighug:
 
The count until curve day starts the night after the fur shot so you have a few days before considering an increase.

I've been doing this wrong and not restarting my count after a FS, so THANK YOU for this info, too!
 
Actually, I believe it is only with TR that the count starts over, although I too thought it was the case with SLGS, having seen it mentioned in both cases over the years. That's technically something for TR since it is already aggressive and you have "consecutive cycles", and doses aren't held as long. With SLGS, you'd just hold for a week, which gives you enough time to see how the dose is working.
 
I've been doing this wrong and not restarting my count after a FS, so THANK YOU for this info, too!
FWIW, you don't have to re-start counting after a FS - that's generally reserved for TR (which calls for "consecutive cycles"); SLGS does not have that same requirement. See this post from Marje about this topic - link - in summary, 7 days even with a FS is enough to see if a dose is working or not (and when in doubt, ask the board :bighug:).
 
doses aren't held as long. With SLGS, you'd just hold for a week, which gives you enough time to see how the dose is working.

I've been holding a little longer...10 or so days...so I can make it to the weekend and do some evening curves. :p I'll switch back to 7 days...maybe I'm just holding the dose a bit too long. Thanks!
 
Go ahead and look at my spreadsheet...high and flat for a long long long long time. Just have to be patient and keep increasing as needed!
 
Just have to be patient and keep increasing as needed!

It looks like you definitely know how I feel! :bighug: I think I get a bit nervous/frustrated since we had so many reductions at first, and now we are almost back up to the dose we started at. :nailbiting::(:nailbiting:
 
I've read here and in the FB group that too much insulin can mimic too little, and keep the numbers high. Could that be what's happening? Could my girl be the odd duck that this is happening to?
Hi, I was trying to understand your question on FB, but then Karen clarified it for me. Too much insulin might look like too little if you're not testing midcycle and only getting those preshot tests and not seeing what nadirs look like. You're doing curves and some midcycle tests so you have a good sense of where a dose is taking Alphyne. She just needs more insulin. I can't tell you how many times I've revisited doses with Ruby. You'll get there. :bighug:
 
Back
Top