6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +10=108 - double insulin dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone ~O)

Angie is in good form at the moment. :twisted: She hasn't had a fight with me in ages so I took it as a good sign for her health when she did last night. She's also begging for food again - it's been months since she's done that. :roll:

She was curled up in the little box on her cat tree at a test time and growled, hissed, swiped my hand lightning fast four times and then finally bit me. I got her out and hadn't received a scratch or dent from her. She makes her fury known but doesn't stoop so low as to leave a mark (unlike Jetzin who never understood "paws not claws"). She and I used to fight a lot - only ever with words though - I'd tell her to get off the table and she would growl and hiss at me as she got down!

I was sad that diabetes changed her personality - even though it changed it for the more tractable and quieter - because I took it as a sign that she still felt a bit sick.

I'm glad I gave her the insulin last night because her numbers are higher than they've been for a few days.

Recap from yesterday:
AMBG - 128
+2 ---- 77
+4 ---- 97
+8.5 -- 94
PMPS -- 110
+2 ---- 92
+3.5 -- 86

Today:
AMPS -- 140
+2 ---- 110

Yesterday's condo is here.

I hope you all have a lovely day. Good wishes and plenty of vines to sick kitties and sleepy people, who've been up all night monitoring.

Grace
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie AMPS=140 +2=110

It's great to see their behavior return to "normal". Wow, Angie is feisty!!
GraceAndAngie said:
I'd tell her to get off the table and she would growl and hiss at me as she got down!
:lol: :lol: :lol: We had a kitty that would give us some back talk when we told her to get down from the table but no hissing.
Thank you for visiting Zener's condo. "Appy" is short for appetite.
Liz
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie AMPS=140 +2=121 +6.5=63 +10=110

Angie's SS is to die for! You are doing a great job with her, Grace. Every time I look at her phot, I remember a torti we had....her face was split like that too...very gorgeous!

Gracies tiara is photo shopped :-D you can't see it because I cropped the photo but she has on a necklace that says "gangsta" :lol: :lol: :lol: however, I have to say, if I had a tiara....she'd wear it ;-)

Have a great night!
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +2=103 +2.5=81 - double insulin d

I split Angie's meals in two today and gave her food at AM/PM and +2s. Stupidly I reverted to habbit and gave her insulin after her first dinner and again after her second dinner. nailbite_smile I'm glad she's only on a 0.1 dose and her numbers haven't been as low as they were before.

It looks like I might be up for a while. I'm going to test half hourly.

Today's numbers:
AMPS -- 140, insulin 0.1 IU, first breakfast
+2 ---- 121, second breakfast
+6.5 -- 63
+10 --- 110
PMPS -- 122, insulin 0.1 IU, first dinner
+2 ---- 103, insulin 0.1 IU, second dinner
+2.5 -- 81

Yesterday's numbers:
AMBG - 128, no insulin, all breakfast
+2 ---- 77
+4 ---- 97
+8.5 -- 94
PMPS --110, insulin 0.1 IU, first dinner
+2 ---- 92, second dinner
+3.5 -- 86
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +2=103 +3=59 - double insulin dos

Please give her some HC gravy, now.


And, I don't mean to scare you, but how far away is the ER from your house?

If it were me, I would start making some extra strong coffee, and I would also call the ER to alert them that I may be coming in.

Do you have karo syrup or honey or some kind of syrup?
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +2=103 +3=59 - double insulin dos

Hi Dyana,

She was on 0.25 only a few days ago. Is that still the emergency? High carb and testing again now.

Grace
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +2=103 +3=59 - double insulin dos

She ate the high carb and is 58. She's been stable for an hour. I'm definitely not going anywhere - I'm testing every half hour and keeping an eye on her in between.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +4=58 - double insulin dose

Hi Grace :smile:

Are you feeding just the gravy from the hc? Don't want to fill Angie up too fast.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +2=103 +3=59 - double insulin dos

GraceAndAngie said:
Hi Dyana,

She was on 0.25 only a few days ago. Is that still the emergency? High carb and testing again now.

Grace
She's come down the dosing scale fairly quickly, and you've had lots of 0.10 and skipped shots since the last 0.25.
Just be prepared to stay up for quite a while, and keep testing. The high carb (and honey if you eventually give it) will wear off quickly. But you only want to feed her in small amounts so she doesn't become so full she won't eat, if you should need her to.
Use the 911 icon if you need to.
I'm only on for another half hour, so just want to give you as much warning and information as I can now.
Do you have lots of strips?
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +4=58 - double insulin dose

I have a new box of strips. I've just been talking to the ER vet. They are 20 minutes away. They're ready for me if I need to come in. They said to test half hourly and confirmed that I should give a teaspoon of gravy to her every half hour until her numbers are high. They said to keep testing regardless for 6 hours after the second lot of insulin (that's another 4 hours). Then to decide, depending on the numbers she is getting but perhaps stay up and keep testing.

I have a friend with me who is a nurse and will come to ER with me if we need to go and help out while in the car.

Luckily she will normally eat huge amounts of food if I let her so I hope she won't get full from the gravy.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +4=58 - double insulin dose

That sounds like a good plan. I agree totally with the vet. I'm glad you have someone with you, and a nurse to boot, to go with you to the ER (with glucometer and syrup (and napkins)) if need be.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +4.5=70 - double insulin do

Here is plan made between talking to Serryn and the HR vet. Please give me feedback if you think I should change anything.

Test every half hour.
Teaspoon of HC gravy every half hour if numbers are below 80.
Keep testing for 6 hours after second insulin, or for two hours after last HC gravy, which ever is longer.
Test for 8 hours after second insulin if numbers aren't above 100.

HR vet said that second dose effects usually last between 4-6 hours but can be up to 8 hours.

Recap:
PMPS - 122, 0.1 IU insulin, 1st dinner
+2 --- 103, ).1 IU insuin, 2nd dinner (realised immediately what I had done)
+2.5 - 81
+3 -- 59
+3.5 - 56
+4 -- 58, 1 tsp HC food
+4.5 - 70, 1 tsp HC gravy
+4.5
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +4=58 - double insulin dose

The plan sounds good.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +5=67 - double insulin dose

Thanks very much Dyana.

I have three tins of cat food with gravy but there isn't a lot of gravy in each one - mostly small chunks. If I do this for hours and run low, could I give her gravox gravy? It's first two ingredients are maltodextrin and maize starch.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +4=58 - double insulin dose

Grace, you have a good plan in place. I hope Angie has a safe morning and you don't have to use any of the plan. Sending safe surfing vines and prayers to you both. - mary and ollie
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +5.5=83 - double insulin do

She's 83 now at +5.5 (3.5 hours after 2nd insulin). I'm giving her half a teaspoon of HC gravy because 83 doesn't seem very much over 80 and I don't want to risk it.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +6=86 - double insulin dose

It's a very good plan and your ER sounds helpful!!

If you are low on gravy, you can add a a few drops of corn syrup, honey, etc. to about a teaspoon or two of low carb food. If it's not too late in the evening, can a friend pick up a couple of cans of HC food?
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +6=86 - double insulin dose

Hi Sienne,

Human gravy powder with maltodextrin and corn starch as the first two ingredients isn't the same thing? It's way too late to get more. I still have plenty of gravy - I've taken half from tin 1 and have two more tins to go.

Thanks
Grace ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +6=86 - double insulin dose

I stopped in to see how you're doing, and it looks like you are calm and have things under control. Good job!

Since Angie is surfing rather than dropping, I think you're ok with the HC you have. Keep the other handy as a backup just in case things change. I haven't tried human gravy but it seems like it should work if she'll eat it. Make sure it doesn't have onions or garlic, though.

Stay on top of things, but it seems like Angie is doing fine.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +7=83 - double insulin dose

There are several people who are going to be keeping watch on your condo. Like Libby, Jill, and Marje, we're going to be on and off the board. If you need to, use the 911 icon but it really seems like you've got this under control.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +7=83 - double insulin dose

Recap:
PMPS - 122, 0.1 IU insulin, 1st dinner
+2 --- 103, 0.1 IU insuin, 2nd dinner (realised immediately what I had done)
+2.5 - 81
+3 --- 59
+3.5 - 56
+4 --- 58, 1 tsp HC food
+4.5 - 70, 1 tsp HC gravy
+5 --- 67, 1 tsp HC gravy
+5.5 - 83, 1/2 tsp HC gravy
+6 --- 86, 1/2 tsp HC gravy
+6.5 - 101
+7 --- 83, 1/2 tsp HC gravy

I gave her more gravy because her numbers came down between +6.5 and +7 and thought that they may keep coming down. That's another two hours minimum of testing for me then.


ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +7=83 - double insulin dose

Hi Libby and Sienne,

Thanks so much for your help - and for keeping an eye on us.

I think we're doing ok - we've kept calm, kept her from going too low and she has been tolerating the testing admirably. The fright that I've given myself has kept me awake and alert properly - there is no danger of me falling asleep accidentally tonight!

I'll keep it up and use the 911 if the situation changes.

Grace (and nurse Tess, my helping hand and calming influence)
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +7=83 - double insulin dose

I have a question for tomorrow morning in case no one is on at AMPS. Do I give her the 0.1 IU if her numbers are normal? How low would they need to be to skip?

Thanks
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +7.5=86 - double insulin do

Grace

Lets see how she does today. One of us will post for you and let you know on the dose for tonight. If she drops below 50 at PS, you can't shoot. If you have the ability to stall and see if she comes up, then that's a possibility. But, depending on how she does today, we might give some thought to you skipping just to drain the depot....although it's not a huge depot with the little you normally shoot and even considering the extra today.

You're doing great....just keep testing because the HC can wear off and she can wobble.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +8=95 - double insulin dose

Recap:
PMPS - 122, 0.1 IU insulin, 1st dinner
+2 --- 103, 0.1 IU insuin, 2nd dinner (realised immediately what I had done)
+2.5 - 81
+3 --- 59
+3.5 - 56
+4 --- 58, 1 tsp HC food
+4.5 - 70, 1 tsp HC gravy
+5 --- 67, 1 tsp HC gravy
+5.5 - 83, 1/2 tsp HC gravy
+6 --- 86, 1/2 tsp HC gravy
+6.5 - 101
+7 --- 83, 1/2 tsp HC gravy
+7.5 - 86, 1 tsp HC food (I was hoping the meat would keep her going longer)
+8 --- 95
+8.5 - 95
+9 --- 94


Thanks Marje
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +8=95 - double insulin dose

WONDERFUL JOB GRACE!!! I like seeing that you're so calm and have a plan in place if things change. IMPRESSIVE!

BIG HUGS!!
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +8=95 - double insulin dose

I haven't given Angie any food since +7.5 and she's surfing at 94-106 since then (it's now +9.5). She's just over the 100 mark but it's so close that I'll stay up for one more test to get her to the 8 hours since last insulin mark.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +9.5=106 - double insulin d

I think if she continues to rise without food, I'd give her normal dose at next shot time. If she sinks back down, post and ask for help.

Great job, Grace!
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +9.5=106 - double insulin d

Wow, Grace! I just read this whole thread and have to tell you how impressed I am with how you were able to take control of the situation and stay calm. Quite a scare there, but you're doing everything right. I am glad you have a good vet and a good friend there to support you, and of course, the wonderful advice and support from FDMB. I hope that she comes up safely.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +10=108 - double insulin do

Hello everyone,

Thanks for checking in on us through the night and your wonderful support and advice. I have now learnt my lesson about entertaining guests, talking and looking after Angie at the same time. Bad Idea. Don't do it! It's 4am and I'm going to bed. She hasn't had any HC for 2.5 hrs and has been stable around the 100 mark.

I'll be up again in 2 hours to do her AMBG and post about whether or not to give her insulin. Then I'm going back to bed again!

Marje / anyone - How much of a rise would you want to see before I gave her insulin in 2 hours?

Recap:
PMPS - 122, 0.1 IU insulin, 1st dinner
+2 --- 103, 0.1 IU insuin, 2nd dinner (realised immediately what I had done)
+2.5 - 81
+3 --- 59
+3.5 - 56
+4 --- 58, 1 tsp HC food
+4.5 - 70, 1 tsp HC gravy
+5 --- 67, 1 tsp HC gravy
+5.5 - 83, 1/2 tsp HC gravy
+6 --- 86, 1/2 tsp HC gravy
+6.5 - 101
+7 --- 83, 1/2 tsp HC gravy
+7.5 - 86, 1 tsp HC food (I was hoping the meat would keep her going longer)
+8 --- 95
+8.5 - 95
+9 --- 94
+9.5 - 106
+10 -- 108

Good night (for 2 hours!)
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +10=108 - double insulin do

Grace

Why don't you give you and Angie a break and skip this next shot. It won't hurt her and you can both get some rest. She should get right back on track. Looking back over your night, I think skipping would be the best alternative.
 
Re: 6/3/12 Angie PMPS=122, +3=59 +10=108 - double insulin do

I see you skipped the AMPS shot ;-) I would try to get a +3 or +4 after eating her breffis to see if her pancreas pulls down her BGs any.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top