6/29 Sampson *curve day* AMPS 332 1 339 2 222

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn

Member Since 2015
For some reason my tablet wont let me do the plus symbol at the moment.
Had some Qs on my previous condo about understanding the data, bounces, and protocols.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pmps-436-curve-tomorrow.140168/#post-1445992

Most days I can't even get a +1 during the day. I leave at 6am and get home at 6-6:30pm so his shots are at the 6s. I also don't have a car and live an hour away so coming home on lunch is not possible. This will all change when I get a car in the next couple months but we will probably be regulated by then! Thats why I'm not completely sire what protocol to follow. I do want remission but not if it is risky when he is home alone all day

I did notice that he goes low at night, stays high during the day. Just wasn't sure how fast the bounce would clear, one of the stickys said it could be 3 days or more. So is it possible he is going low at night then bouncing the next cycle then by the next PM cycle he has cleared it and goes low again then bounces again? If I feed some low carb food at night should I add it to his raw? How can I tell how much? Or maybe I could get a +1.5 and if dropping quickly feed 1 teaspoon and keep testing every 30 minutes until the drop slows? How long do i do this for?
 
It is entirely possible to go low at night and clear it in a cycle. It can also take more cycles to clear a bounce. It's one of those ECID and a cat's pattern can change at any time.

If you look at my ss for Max it's a perfect example. What happened yesterday is probably a delayed bounce from a few cycles before or he bounced cleared bounce cleared or the food that is supposed to be lc is actually hc. I hope I'm not confusing you more.
 
Updated ss. Looks like he went down to 100s today. We will see if he bounces tonight I suppose.
 
Nice to see those 100's show up. :cool:

Here are your questions from yesterday - I'll try my take on them:
I did notice that he goes low at night, stays high during the day. Just wasn't sure how fast the bounce would clear, one of the stickys said it could be 3 days or more. So is it possible he is going low at night then bouncing the next cycle then by the next PM cycle he has cleared it and goes low again then bounces again? If I feed some low carb food at night should I add it to his raw? How can I tell how much? Or maybe I could get a +1.5 and if dropping quickly feed 1 teaspoon and keep testing every 30 minutes until the drop slows? How long do i do this for?

As Elise mentions, cats don't always do the same thing with bounces - they don't like to be consistent. Bounces usually last no more than 6 cycles and ideally they would bounce for shorter periods of time and not as high, as they get more used to lower numbers. But ECID. Neko just had a shortish bounce to a 31 and a 6 cycle bounce to a 64. :rolleyes: You just have to wait it out. And yes, it is possible for them to go lower at night and bounce during the day. Neko did that for months a couple of years ago. That's why we always encourage at least a before bed test - many cats go lower at night.

If you can't monitor and are worried, it's always a good idea to leave low carb (but not zero carb) food out. You'll have to experiment with food to see what works for Sampson. Unfortunately, some cats are carb sensitive, some aren't and you'll have to learn by trying out different foods and see how he reacts. Take good notes on feeding amounts and carbs and you'll start to see what works. There isn't one formula that works for all cats.

If you take a look at the Where Can I Find note, there are a couple of posts on food, one on feeding the curve and one on low carb vs. lower carb.
 
Since you're gone during the days, you might find a timed feeder really helpful. On that link that Wendy just gave you there is also a post on timed feeders. I found it gave me a lot of peace of mind to know that punkin would have food available to him when I was at work.

I would buy some low carb to leave out in the timed feeder for when you're going to be gone, and some high carb with gravy, just in case you want it.

There're some good tips in the first sticky post on following Tight Regulation while working full-time. Take a peek there and see if there are some suggestions that would work in your situation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top