6/29 Ming PMPS = 331, +4 = 364/ AMPS = 90, +4 = 187

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2397185/

JUNE 28
The new dose is working, yay! We did see our first lime green during shot time. I stalled half an hour and I JUST realized I shot half an hour early tonight... oops! I've gotten used to the 6/6 schedule.

We are also starting with the new liquid compounded pred tonight and giving 1 mg instead of 1.25 mg twice a day. I discussed with my vet about decreasing the dose.

Good thing I don't have work tomorrow! I might have a busy night because I shot early + Ming is getting a new lower dose of pred.

It's been hard for me to post daily because I honestly am emotionally and physically tired. I still update my SS of course! Nothing's going on with me - I think I'm just tired from life in general :rolleyes: I long to go on a road trip down to Portland like I do every year but I have no $$ Haha! I used all my vacation money for my big holiday back in December. :arghh:

And I'll probably recycle this thread again since I'm posting it 30 mins before the new day.
 
JUNE 29
AMPS = 90
+4 = 187

Looks like the ol' Ming is bouncing.

I'm glad she didn't drop lower after +9 last night because I fell asleep. He got a whole can of LC at +8 and +9 PM.
 
I know I shouldn't look at the dose amount, but y'know me... haha! I tested for acro earlier this year and got a negative but I didn't test for IAA. Should I investigate further as to why Ming needs such a large dose?

My three theories are:
1) the pred
2) his pancreas is absolute butts at doing anything lol
3) he's got pancreatitis ALL THE TIME! (which reminds me I should go get a fPLI test soon for him)

I'll be doing an ultrasound in October which is a year since his DKA event and since we switched to Lantus. It would be interesting to see what his pancreas looks like.
 
Nice little bit of drama yesterday! Glad he came up for you. Neko got me wide awake a couple times doing that in the morning.

Yes, the pred makes a difference, but not that much. Pancreatitis can also cause insulin resistance, but again, not that much. Of all the kitties over six units that I have seen here, that have been tested for high dose conditions, they have all tested positive for one or more of acromegaly, IAA, or Cushings. Having said that, we have also seen kitties test positive for one of those conditions and be on less than six units. The only magic about six units is that above that, as long as they are on low carb wet or raw, it’s high chance a high dose condition is at play. We have seen kitties go up to 5.5 units and turn it around. Having said that, many of those kitties don’t get tested, so we don’t know if there is some other condition causing the diabetes.

I think the initial screen for Cushings is pretty cheap, I know the IAA is a bit more pricy.
 
@Wendy&Neko I remember you mentioning Cushings a couple of months ago too but I think you were leaning against that then. I did some light googling then and did some now. And it seems like the symptoms for Cushing's can be mistaken for FD with some skin issues making it obvious. Ming doesn't have the skin symptoms but of course has the usual: large appetite and urination (but I've noticed I'm see smaller clumps these days and less frequent - still large as the cats in the sanctuary pee much smaller amounts). He's pretty big so its hard for me to tell if he's just fat or has a pot belly haha!

I'm just thinking out loud but it wouldn't hurt to test for Cushing's.
 
Not all Cushings kitties have the skin issues at first. I only suggested it cause I thought it would be cheap and easy to rule out. (I hope).
 
Back
Top