6/29 Lucy PMPS=347

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Lucy is sick and not eating.
I'm going to skip this morning's shot.
I was going to shoot if she was pink, but she's still yellow.

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=137 (0.5u); +2=185; +4=232; +8=191
PMPS=205 (0.5u); +2.5=187; +4.5=215; +5.75=203; +9=274

Today
AMBG=265 (skip, not eating)
PMPS=347

This new drug, Leukeran, is making her really sick.
I gave it to her at 6:30pm last night with ondansetron, and she was fine until around 9pm, but I knew she was uncomfortable by 10pm.
She vomited sometime between 1am and 3am, and she's been sick since.

I am going to call the vet soon, and try to make an appointment.
I want to bring her in for a shot of Cerenia, and also want to discuss pros and cons of continuing/discontinuing this drug with the vet.
I do have Cerenia tablets, but I think she'll vomit it out.
She was just retching though nothing came out.

I really don't know if this drug is worth continuing if it makes her this rotten.
She does have a bad case of IBD from the look of her CBC, but she was a happy girl.
And she was not losing weight at all.
She does have appetite issue, but she has been in a good mood.
It may develop into lymphoma if untreated, and I don't want that, but how good is it if I get a longer life out of her in exchange for good mood and decent appetite?
I don't know if it will get easier as the treatment progresses, but even if it does, maybe not by much.
Even if I change the dosing protocol, it will still make her sick.
I am seriously discouraged.

If I can get an appointment, I want to discuss other options.
Maybe increase the prednisolone, or try budesonite.
The vet and I initially avoided more steroids because of her diabetes, but higher BG is better than what's happening now.

I knew this might happen, but still this is so upsetting!
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

I called the vet office, and it looks like I can bring her in this morning.
I spoke with the early shift nurse, and she wasn't sure what slot is reserved for what, so she wanted to wait for a receptionist to come in before confirming the time.
Either way, it will be early enough, probably sometime between 9am and 10:30am.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

Good luck at the vet. Just an FYI, my vet gave me a vial of ondansatron in its injection form. It's much cheaper than the pills and there's no risk of Lucy barfing with an injection. You can use an insulin syringe but you'd probably need 2 syringes worth so bigger syringes are better.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

So sorry to hear Lucy is feeling so bad today!

I'm glad you're able to get her into the vet to discuss your options. I totally agree with you that her QOL is the most important thing, and if the new med is making her feel this bad, it's probably worth it to drop it and try something else, even if it means making the BG a little harder to control.

Sure hope they have something to offer you so Lucy can get back to the better feeling kitty she's been lately!

:YMHUG: Lots of hugs and vines being sent your way, Mariko
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

I got a 9:50am appointment.
1 hour and 40 minutes from now.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

Hi Mariko. I wrote on yesterday's condo. Good luck today.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

I'm sorry the new med is making Lucy so sick...poor girl. I agree about QOL...it's a balance, but a happy Lucy is what is most important. Sending tons of prayers that the cerenia kicks in and the new drug clears her system very quickly.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

Mariko,

I'm so sorry Lucy is not feeling well. I hope the vet can give her something to make her feel better very soon.

Sending feel better vines to Lucy and :YMHUG: :YMHUG: to you.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

Our vet gave us prefilled Cerenia syringes so we could give an injection a day for 5 consecutive days. Zener is on budesonide and we've had to increase his insulin by quite a bit, from 1.25u to 2.5u. Then we increased the budesonide dose (almost double) and we are up to 3.5u. Most days, he feels pretty good. Big hugs to you, Mariko.
Liz
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

Prayers for Lucy! Glad you could get her in to the vet today :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

Oh, Mariko, vines, vines, big wrap around you all vines from here. So sorry you and Lucy are going through this. Lots of light for your vet visit and hopes for Lucy to feel better soon.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

thinking you're still at the vets - sending our best feel-better wishes for sweet little Lucy. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

We are back.
She got sub-q fluids and a shot of Cerenia at the vet.

Here are things I discussed with the vet, and what she said about them.

About continuing Leukeran
= If it makes her sick and vomit, this drug is not for her.
= She's had many other cats put on Leukeran, but usually they do fine and don't vomit, and that's what she expected with Lucy, but Lucy is clearly saying she doesn't want this drug.
= If I have to load her with anti-nausea medication in order to continue this drug, she feels that disadvantage becomes greater than advantage at this moment with Lucy.
= The chances of Lucy developing lymphoma is there regardless of what we do.

About other options
= Theoretically budesonide works directly in the intestine and doesn't affect other systems (or something similar, she said), but in reality it does, and how it works is weaker.
= Since Lucy is already on prednisolone, she is more inclined to increase the prednisolone dose.

About diet
= She is more concerned about the low total protein than high white cell count, and novel protein may help a bit.
= I have kangaroo diet that I got custom cooked for Lucy together with Turkey diet, so we can see if it helps.
= She doesn't want to switch the diet yet though. If the intestine is already badly inflamed when the new protein is first introduced, it may be the way she'd always react from then on. (or something similar, she said, I think.)

So... we decided to discontinue Leukeran... for now.
I didn't want the vet to be just agreeing with me because she could see how stressed I was, so I even pushed and said "don't you think it's too soon to give up after only one dose.", and the vet replied that she wouldn't want to consider it even as an option now that we know how Lucy reacts to it.
Instead, we are going to increase the prednisolone dose, maybe temporarily or maybe not.
She is on 2.5mg every day now, but we will do 5mg and 2.5mg alternately. So today 5mg, tomorrow 2.5mg, and so on.
We will check her blood in 3 weeks, and if her protein and CBC values are better, we will introduce novel protein.
And then we may be able to taper off the prednisolone dose to what it was if the kangaroo diets help.

She expects Leukeran to stay in her system for a couple of days.
Her vet drug dictionary didn't say exactly how many hours, but she said this type of drug lasts longer.
If Lucy still doesn't want to eat tomorrow morning, I'll bring her back for another shot of Cerenia.
If she eats, but still seems off, I'll give her the Cerenia pill at home.

Lucy seems a little more relaxed now, at least she's sleeping with her head down and eyes closed.
She still doesn't want to eat, and I'm not going to push it at least until dinner time.
I am tired now. I'm going to take a nap.

Thank you so much for your visit and vines. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

that all sounds like a good plan - and it's good to have a plan!

we have had great success with cerenia - i hope it helps lucy perk right up.

feel better, little one. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

I'm glad that you have a plan. You do know that kangaroo is now probably out as a novel protein. Possible if you cut out the turkey and only use kangaroo it might still be okay. Novel protein is something that she has never had. It's hard to do since so many foods have multiple protein sources even when called chicken or turkey. It's possible thought. Since :smile: you had the food made they can do it for you :smile:

I'm sure the cerenia will have her feeling better soon.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING

Sounds like a very thorough visit and plan. Our prayers continue for a speedy recovery!!
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING >> BACK FM

Elise, Lucy has never had Kangaroo.
I got 2 custom diets cooked - Diet#1 with Turkey and Diet#2 with Kangaroo, and there's no other protein mixed & matched.
I have so far only tried the Diet#1.
Since it's closer to what she's used to (Wellness Turkey), I thought the transition will be easier, and I'm glad I didn't touch the Diet#2 Kangaroo yet.
Well... unless she stole a lick from Ginger's raw Kangaroo food, but I don't think so.
I always keep an eye when they eat.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING >> BACK FM

That's good. Someone who used to be on the FDMB and told me about this is using their kangaroo .Her cat has diabetes and likely IBD. The diabetes happened after the pred was started. Her cat is doing well on the Raine kangaroo and the diabetes is under control at l unit BID. Her name is Rita and her cat is Portia.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING >> BACK FM

Thank you for the update, Mariko. Many, many vines for you both.
Liz
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING >> BACK FM

Mariko, I am glad that your vet is so thorough and so understanding. We are continuing to send beautiful vines to Lucy. I hope the kangaroo diet will help. Chef Rusty is looking up kangaroo recipes, maybe for kangaroo soup.

Lots of hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING >> BACK FM

(((Mariko))) What an awful night for you and Lucy. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Tons of feel better and appy vines for Lucy. I hope the new med plan works for her and she gets back to feeling good again.

Both Neko and Theo think kangaroo is the solution to any problem.
 
Re: 6/29 Lucy AMBG=265 // SKIP - SICK NOT EATING >> BACK FM

(((Mariko)))

I am so sorry Lucy was so ill. I think discontinuing the leukeran is a good idea.

I had a friend whose cat had IBD and she was on prednisilone and it helped ok but didn't control it completely. When they started giving budesonide for IBD, she switched and couldn't believe how much better her kitty was. I'm sure it is an ECID but I just wonder if it might be worth a try?

Sending healing vines and prayers that she will start feeling better soon.
 
Thank you so much for your vines and prayers.

Lucy ate some this evening. :-D
She is still lethargic and has no energy, but at least her posture is more comfortable.
And she purrs when I gently brush her with a ZoomGroom - one of her most favorite things.
Her BG is high but I did give her 5mg of prednisolone around noon today, so not too horrible considering the combination of skipped shot, being sick and bigger dose of pred.

Marje - Thank you very much for the info about your friend's kitty.
I never thought about the possibility of budesonide working better or even in a different way until I read your post.
When the vet said it does raise BG and is less powerful, I just dismissed it, but it's possible that Lucy may absorb it in a better way.
I am fist going to follow the new prednisolone dosing because I've already started it, but if Lucy still keeps losing protein, I will go for budesonide next.
 
I'm glad she ate and seems to be feeling better, Mariko. Hopefully the increase in pred will help and the switch to kangaroo will seal the deal. Fingers and paws are crossed.
 
I'm sorry Lucy was so sick yesterday, but I'm glad you got her to the vet. I hope she's doing better this morning. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top