6/29 KT AMPS 287 Dakota 205 +4-168 New vet dentist

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good morning World! Welcome to 'Da SugarBoyz' home! Last Condo

KT
AMPS 287

Another yellow AMPS this morning - we're tired of all this yellow BUT I'm REALLY fighting to get him to eat much of anything lately so am really afraid to raise the dose much. If he doesn't eat during the cycle, he'll bomb. I'm now fairly convinced it's his teeth. I do NOT want my regular vet's dentist to do the work altho' their price is much cheaper than anyone elses - I just don't like how she handles cats. She's a HUGE 'dog' person and is wonderful with them but she just does not like cats...they're 'just cats, a dime a dozen'...Nope, NONE of mine are a dime a dozen - they're ALL worth a million dollars to me! More on phone conversation with 'new vet dentist' below.

DAKOTA
AMPS 205

Another yellow AMPS for Doc this morning too but it's ALMOST blue! He's now out in the whole house 24/7 - no more closed door at night. He would have been fine long before this BUT onery little red-headed LeoKitty tends to be a little shitten at night...I wanted to be sure Dakota knew that Leo was all bluff and play - just ignore him and he'll go play somewhere else. The first night was night before last - he LOVES to sleep with his beans, something Ronda (foster Mama that loved him SO much) couldn't do for him. About half an hour after we went to bed, here he comes slowly walking up between us - had to walk slow 'cos it's HARD to walk with ALL FOUR FEET trying to make biscuits! He laid between us for a while THEN when I turned on my side, he draped his big self over my side - back feet on one side, front on the other makin' biscuits like crazy and purring his head off....SO SO sweet. Then DH turned over on HIS side....yep, same thing. He did this off and on all night, wasn't so great for sleeping but he was just so darn happy we just couldn't stop him. When we woke up, he was still curled up beside us along with Leo at our feet.

Vet Dentist - I went thru all the vets within 45 miles of me and read training, feedback and anything I could find. I found one I really liked the sound of so called. Front office set an appt time for me to call him back - FIRST PLUS! I called at that time, he already had all the info I'd given the first lady and was READY to talk to me - SECOND PLUS! After we talked about the general approach for a bit, we then moved to medications used - Oncor, Bupe and Tramadol - THIRD/FOURTH PLUS! He strongly encourages 'Parents' be very involved in their animal's care which many others here don't. We then talked about cost for the procedure. The basic price is $300 then additions by tooth removed. He said he thought the absolute MOST any had ever been been was about $700 which was a full mouth extraction and skin grafts. KT certainly doesn't need THAT! He'll be able to give me a better idea when he does an exam - $50 (gulp...).

So...I'll be setting an appointment with Dr. Lawrence next week. In between, I'll have to apply to DCIN to help with the cost of this - I KNOW we can't do it ourselves.... :oops: :cry: It's not nearly as expensive as I've heard others paying but for us, it's a whole month's worth of food for BOTH pets and beans.... :sad:

BIG HUGS to all that visit today - today we hold close Ronda and Stephanie - friends needing lots of prayers right now.
 
Re: 6/29 KT AMPS 287 Dakota 205 New vet dentist

How cool that Doc wants to sleep w/ you! Tess stopped coming in a couple of years ago, after Dx.

Good luck w/ the new vetty dentist, he sounds great! I hope it helps KT.
 
WOO HOO!!! We have a BLUE DAKOTA!!!! We've been hitting the blue range 4 out of last 5 days! We're getting closer to that good dose!!! I actually think the other was blue too but I caught a food spike...

DAKOTA
AMPS 205
+4 - 168

Mr. KT is still sittin in the same yellows....but at least he ate a whole can of FFeast...

DANCE WITH US!!!
 
Hi Lyresa. Congrats on all the homework you did on the vet dentist in your area. It sounds as if it paid off and you found a good one. Hope it helps get KT back on track. Good to see Dekota back in the blue zone.

Have a great day.
 
Hi Lyresa
had to walk slow 'cos it's HARD to walk with ALL FOUR FEET trying to make biscuits!
Quote of the day!!! I love this :lol: :lol: :lol:


On KT: the only thing that concerns me in a major way is infection + not eating + not enough insulin and you know what all that can be. I can understand you being concerned about his numbers if he doesn't eat. Will he let you syringe him? If you don't feel comfortable raising the dose, I would be checking ketones twice a day, if you can. At least once a day. And I'd try to puree his food or whatever you need to do to get him to eat it.

The new vet sounds great and I hope he can do the dental soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top