6/29 Kit AMPS 58, +2 42, +2.5 53, +3 63, +4.5 61, +5.5 78, PMPS 137, +2.25 119, +3.5 92

The question might not matter if she keeps going down and earns herself a reduction. 20% food @ +2. It's the highest carb food I have, so if she keeps it up it's the honey or Karo syrup added to the food next
 
Its VERY early in the cycle and she may make the choice to reduce for you :rolleyes:. But if she doesn't take a look at:
(1) Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials:
"Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis​
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR."
The choice between the first and second bullet is YOURS. But sometimes we need a little more guidance, so:

(2) Reductions and Why We Should Take Them - specifically:
"And while it is not addressed in the protocol, if the CG is having a cycle where they are working hard to keep numbers up, it is wise to reduce the dose regardless if numbers have not fallen below the thresholds mentioned above."

Knowing your cat (carb sensitivity, onset, nadir, duration) and ability to monitor are also factors to consider.
 
Its VERY early in the cycle and she may make the choice to reduce for you :rolleyes:. But if she doesn't take a look at:
(1) Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials:
"Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis​
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR."
The choice between the first and second bullet is YOURS. But sometimes we need a little more guidance, so:

(2) Reductions and Why We Should Take Them - specifically:
"And while it is not addressed in the protocol, if the CG is having a cycle where they are working hard to keep numbers up, it is wise to reduce the dose regardless if numbers have not fallen below the thresholds mentioned above."

Knowing your cat (carb sensitivity, onset, nadir, duration) and ability to monitor are also factors to consider.
Yeah, it's that whole taking the three drops if they don't hold reductions well that trips me up. She doesn't take many reductions, and when we take them she seems to stick, I think?
She did drop more after the 15% I gave at +1.5, but she came up to 53 (which is within meter variance, so not a huge jump) with the 20%. I switched back to 15% for her +2.5 and we'll see where that leaves her at +3.
 
Holly Molly :eek: It's a busy morning in your household!
I hope Kit cat steadies herself after the gravy festival.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
She's like, hold my nip!

I'm happy to see overall better numbers the last few days, but why is it on the mornings I'm most tired?! :facepalm:

But I'm also glad I'm getting better at trusting my gut at things like, maybe get +1.5. Or, jump to a higher carb faster so she doesn't go quite as low.
 
Good meowning and what a meowning you had. I'm sure you woke up very quickly with these numbers.
Definitely looks like it will be a busy caturday with these beautiful numbers. Stay safe sweet Kitkat.

upload_2024-6-29_11-28-38.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-6-29_11-28-38.png
    upload_2024-6-29_11-28-38.png
    198.8 KB · Views: 134
Good meowning and what a meowning you had. I'm sure you woke up very quickly with these numbers.
Definitely looks like it will be a busy caturday with these beautiful numbers. Stay safe sweet Kitkat.

View attachment 70428
Super busy morning! She certainly likes the lower numbers on this dose. I can't be mad though, I'm preferring it to the numbers we were seeing. Someone who isn't a cat might need a cat nap this afternoon, though.
 
Super busy morning! She certainly likes the lower numbers on this dose. I can't be mad though, I'm preferring it to the numbers we were seeing. Someone who isn't a cat might need a cat nap this afternoon, though.

Not sure what the weather is like where you are but we're having a rainy and gloomy meowning here so it's purrrfect weather for cat naps, and not just for cats hehe
 
Its VERY early in the cycle and she may make the choice to reduce for you :rolleyes:. But if she doesn't take a look at:
(1) Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials:
"Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis​
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR."
The choice between the first and second bullet is YOURS. But sometimes we need a little more guidance, so:

(2) Reductions and Why We Should Take Them - specifically:
"And while it is not addressed in the protocol, if the CG is having a cycle where they are working hard to keep numbers up, it is wise to reduce the dose regardless if numbers have not fallen below the thresholds mentioned above."

Knowing your cat (carb sensitivity, onset, nadir, duration) and ability to monitor are also factors to consider.
Very good reminder, Angela. Thank you :bighug:
 
Whoa Alicia. Great work with your gal this morning.:eek:
Kit cat is really working this dose today.
Wishing you a safe day and hoping she comes up to some darker greens so that you can get a good nap in. :kiss:
It’s also pretty hazy where I am today, but hot, so could be good napping weather for some folks.:rolleyes:

I’m gonna try late this afternoon for a wee little nap to recover from last night’s, feeding fest through the night.

Wishing you a great Caturday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Whoa Alicia. Great work with your gal this morning.:eek:
Kit cat is really working this dose today.
Wishing you a safe day and hoping she comes up to some darker greens so that you can get a good nap in. :kiss:
It’s also pretty hazy where I am today, but hot, so could be good napping weather for some folks.:rolleyes:

I’m gonna try late this afternoon for a wee little nap to recover from last night’s, feeding fest through the night.

Wishing you a great Caturday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
She's certainly doing a thing. And it's tiring when it's early, but I'd rather have to deal with lows than her bounce drop cycles. This at least isn't as frustrating and I have a better idea of a plan.

It's a bit hazy cloudy here, and the weirdly warm day (high of 86) amid a series of mid 70s days I was loving. Tomorrow is only a high of 73 and I am here for it!

Good luck with your nap! ❤️
 
Kit's lab work for the urine culture came back - I've updated the labs. The only ones that I wasn't sure about

glucose strip 1+ (I presume this is because of the diabetes?)
Transitional epithelia - 2-3 (the paperwork says high, but there wasn't anywhere in the lab listing to put this?)

They did have to culture it since it was so dilute - they only found one organism that is listed - bacillus sp (non pathogenic).

This was the bit that amused me (I have a dark sense of humor) -
Renal Tech Prediction POSITIVE This patient's RenalTech status indicates that it will develop chronic kidney disease within the next 24 months with greater than 95% accuracy.
 
Back
Top