6/29 Jonesy amps 320, stuck with 4.5u; 211@+7; pmps 328-4.5u; 228@+5

Darcy and Jonesy

Member Since 2015
Happy Monday (It IS Monday, yes?!) :D

So I stuck with the 4.5u. I can't wrap my head around if he gives me a blue mid-nadir, that I I should be sticking with the dose? Isn't the goal to get his numbers down throughout the hours? Or if he is going into the blues for nadir regularly (which I know, I don't know . . . ) is that "safe enough" for him?

Please know, I'm NOT questioning or challenging the process. I just don't understand. How, if he's so high most of the time (pinks and yellows) is that still healthy for him if he IS dipping into the blues?

*stomping feet on ground having temper tantrum* LOL (One foot more gingerly than other ;) heehee)

@Wendy&Neko Can you explain, in layman's terms? Again, I just can't wrap my head around it :confused:

Totally off topic, as I can now get down to my basement, I'm sewing up a storm! I've always sewn "cat hammocks" for a couple of local rescues. One is a shelter that always has anywhere between 220-250 cats in their place. I'm constantly fighting with the shelter director (Lol) but we have this underlying respect for each other ;) As a LOT of the cats are housed in XXL dog crates, the hammocks make a huge difference for the space for the cat. So I'm sewing up a bunch of new ones for them. I know they get pretty beaten up. Not last year (due to my prepping to move) but the previous year I'd done up 50 "nicer" hammocks for them to sell at their Christmas Craft sale, then in the adoption center afterwards.

The other rescue is a "one woman wrecking ball" who manages two feral colonies and takes in kittens. She uses the hammocks in her cages too.

Here's hoping my 1950's sewing machine from my Mom can hold out for many more years! Ha!

Have a great day all,
Thanks



Sunday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ncrease-to-4-75-for-pmps.231581/#post-2590151
 
Some reading for you: Should I Increase the Dose?
And a quote from the SLGS method with parts highlighted:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.
 
Back
Top