6/29 Jake AMPS 324 Jake doing poorly - might be the end

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Member Since 2010
Sorry I haven't updated the SS in a few days. I've been checking his levels and they have been ok. I keep a paper chart on my fridge and I will update the SS as soon as I get a chance. I've been preoccupied with the fact that Jake is doing very poorly. He stumbles when he walks and falls over a lot. I've been syringe feeding but he has no interest in eating. I carried him to the box so he could urinate last night. The vet wants to put him on prednisolone or megestrate (ovoban). Any thoughts on this?

condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17627
 
Hi so very sorry that Jake is not doing so good will send him Prayers and Angels to watch over him I am new here and don`t know too much so I can`t help you but can offer support....LOL Kath & Trey :cry: :mrgreen:
 
No advice on the med's, just wanted to say I'm sorry Jake is not feeling well. I hope you guys can get this figured out.
 
so sorry to hear this sad news. I will pray very hard for Jake and I hope you and the vet can find a solution to help him through this.
 
((((Lydia)))) I'm sorry to hear this, please give Jake kitty a big hug from all of us. :YMHUG:
Sending lots of feel better vines for (((Jake)))
 
Lydia:

Is this from the heart condition? What's his BP? If it's cardiac, please PM Jess/Earl. She's a vet tech that specializes in cardiology. Also, and again if it's cardiac, is there a veterinary cardiologist you can get him to. In people, often it's a matter of tweeking the meds.

I hope there is something that can help Jake make a turn around. My thoughts are with you both.
 
Hi,Lydia!
So sorry that Jake is not feeling well!
Oooo,sweetheart! It's so hard when You have just to think of end.
You loved him and gave him all tne care and he knows that.
Hope and pray that he feels better and you find the comfort in whatever You decide to do!
((((((Lydia))))) ((((Jake))))
 
I'm not sure if it is his blood pressure. Typically his readings are around 150. The vet thinks he has a case of lymphoma but has not felt any lumps. Jake has been steadily losing weight for the past several months. He is down to 8 pounds despite syringe feedings of about 1 can per day. It just in the last 3 days or so that he does not greet me at the food dish. He moves from one bed to the next and shows no interest at all in eating. Yesterday when I got home from work I couldn't find him and I was so scared. I finally found him in the basement. He had come out from wherever he was when he heard me calling him and he was purring. He purrs as soon as he sees me. When I get him into the vet, we will check his blood pressure though he isn't on the amlodipine anymore. I stopped that because it affected his appetite so much. He perked up and showed interest in eating. There is no cardiac specialist here in my town, but there is one about 1.5 hours away and we will go there if my vet says it will help.
 
I went through something similar with George who was diagnosed with an intestinal tumor when he was 19yo. We went through ultrasound and biopsy. We had an additional year together before he crossed the Bridge. It's so hard to know if this is age or something more. I suspect the question is what tests need to be done and how invasive they are. You know we will all offer whatever input you may want or need.
 
I know and I appreciate everyone's help and support so much. Jake is too fragile to go through a biopsy that is for sure. He can barely stand up. I may put him on ovoban. It is an appetite stimulant and anti inflammatory. The vet uses this in hospice situations and I did this last year when my cat Frisco died from cancer.
 
Prayers for Jake are going out. Also sending healing vines and comfort to you. I hope the vet can find something to help Jake and that you have more time.
 
Lydia, I am so sorry that Jake is doing poorly right now. My heart goes out to you because I know that feeling all too well. I went through a similar situation with Maddie, who only crossed over this past April 9th. She also had kidney issues, but she was not diabetic. She lost so much weight so quickly and her US showed thickened intestinal walls, but nothing definitive. Vet wanted to do invasive biospy and she was just not in the shape to undergo a surgery. So we did put her on Pred which increased her appetite and seemed to make her feel better. I got 18 more months with her before she finally got so skinny her body began to shut down. My feeling with my own crew is that if the cat is not doing well, I try whatever tests and measures are uninvasive and least stressful to the cat in the hopes of making them comfy for just a little while longer.

Sending my own form of GLOW to Jake...for whatever might be best for him...and to help you through it all.
 
Sending Our Healing Prayers to Jake--Please come out of this dear boy, and Lydia, who is the best Momma bean around--
Hoping he will snap out of this--Millions of Hugs from Us~!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Thank you for all of your kind thoughts and support. We are going to the vet tonight as soon as I can get home. I hope the vet has some good ideas to make Jake comfortable and give him a little more time.
 
Dear Lydia, I know how hard it is to arrive at the place where you are now. You will make the right decision and it will be because Jake will let you know what that decision should be. Our kitties know what we are feeling: they are as in-tune with us as we are with them and they want to help us as much as we want to help them. I hope that you will have more time together. Let Jake be your guide.
You and Jake are in our thoughts and prayers.

Ella & Stu
 
(((Lydia - JAKE))) You are in my thoughts and prayers. Snowflakes, white light, healing vines and Reiki on its way to you. I hope Jake feels better when you get home. Good luck at the vet.
 
Re: 6/29 Jake AMPS 324 Jake

I am so sorry that Jake is feeling poorly....but maybe the vet will have some suggestions for you tonight.
The appetite stimulant might be good as you said...I hope that you can come up with something that will make him comfortable. It is so great that he purrs and comes out to greet you...awwwww...so sweet!
Will keep Jake in my prayers and look forward to news if you can update later...(((Lydia & Jake)))
 
Sending oodles of healing thoughts for Jake and big hugs for you.

Beaarprayers.jpg
 
Sorry to hear Jake isn't doing so well. Your in our thoughts - sending vines and a blizzard of snowflakes your way...

Feel better, Jake!
 
So sorry to hear Jake is so weak. Sending âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§ You are a great Mamabean and are doing all you can for him. He knows it! cat_pet_icon WE are all praying for the best for Jake and you. ((((((((((Lydia))))))))))
 
A blanket of snowflakes and a bunch of vines are being sent to Jake. I am so sorry to see your report on him today. He doesn't feel well, poor Jake, and I know you are just so sad. I hope the vet visit gives you some hope.
 
I'm adding to the snowflakes and vines for Jake. I hope you can find a good solution for him, and keep him with you for a long time. ((((Lydia and Jake))))
 
{{{{Fuzzy hugs}}}, kitty love and snowflakes from Myla and Purrcie. Purrcie says "Hey Jake, hang tuff buddy, we have mice to catch and parties to attend!"
 
Thank you so much for all of your kind thoughts. Jake received a dexamethasone injection, fluids, and an anti-nausea injection (to stop his vomiting). He is more active since being home from the vet, but very weak and wobbly. I still carried him to the litter box and syringe fed him A/D. We are also starting Jake on megestrol every other day. (Another name for that is ovoban and it isn't routinely prescribed anymore because it can cause diabetes and other problems. Jake probably wouldn't live long enough to worry about the side effects and the appetite stimulation and anti inflammatory properties it offers will help him). The vet also wants to put in a feeding tube in his jaw or somewhere around his mouth rather than stomach. Not sure this is a good idea. We made it another day and Jake is resting now in his bed. I had a photographer come over on sunday and do portrait photos of him and the other cats. If I get those back soon, I will post so you can see how handsome Jake looks in his photos.
 
I hope with all my heart this will help your boy Jake sending prayers and room full of Angels to watch over him LOL Kath :mrgreen: :YMHUG: o:-)
 
Awwwwww, Lydia....you are caring so much for Jake and he appreciates it so much, Im sure!
When Latte had her initial dex shot + cerenia (thats probly what he got yesterday), it helped her a lot and got her on track. Are you also starting prednisolone? Not familiar with the other medication your vet prescribed. May want to ask them for more cerenia (the anti nausea shot), to help him out..if other anti nausea meds are not working.

Most importantly, continue to enjoy every moment you have together- no matter how short or long (Im hoping for the later!). Cant wait to see the photos!

Continuing to send piles of snowflakes, and miles of vines for you two!
 
I am sorry to read about Jake. Times like these can be so difficult. Out thoughts and prayers are with you. I know between you and Jake that you will make the right decision for him. He will let you know. Take care, and I hope Jake feels better soon.
 
That is GREAT that you had the photos taken...what a GREAT idea!! Can't wait to see them!! :mrgreen:
Excellent!!! :thumbup
I was happy to hear that Jake was more active after the injections at the vets....you are taking such good care of him.
I know it must be difficult to syringe him all the time, but that is less invasive. As long as you think he is getting enough nourishment....
The feeding tube is something I can't weigh in on.... It would be easier on you, but it still has its complications too. I hope someone with experience on this will post an give you their thoughts.......
:YMHUG:
Thinking of you both and hoping that you enjoy your day together....
 
Thank you so much for all of your kind thoughts. I agree about the feeding tube. I think that is just too invasive at this point. He is still able to be syringe fed.
 
Hi Lydia. How is your baby boy doing this morning? Sending a blizzard of snowflakes your way and healing vines for Jake and many hugs for you.
 
i am not a vet but my first thought was whether this is neurological. your mention about blood pressure made me wonder about it even more. have you talked with the vet about that at all? do you have any specialty clinic nearby that might have a cardiac or neuro specialist?

re the feeding tube, if the vet thinks jake is stable enough to handle the procedure i'd think it is a good idea. there are plenty of people on the board with experience with feeding tubes so you could get more info from them.

i know many diabetic cat owners and their vets worry about steroids because of the diabetes but i am a very strong proponent of them (with cleo i just increased her lantus dose to keep her in a decent range). my cat harry has ibd and at some point he was looking so scraggly and sick (he used to be a major groomer and always looked great) that we put him on prednisolone and it made a WORLD of difference. i thought i was going to lose him, coz he started hiding and just not acting right until we got him the prednisolone. we switched to budesonide to target his GI tract specifically but pred works systemically. it made him so strong. i very very highly recommend it. i'd also recommend injectable pepcid if you decide on the pred. it helps protect their stomach from the steroid. both prednisolone and injectable pepcid are not expensive and they've been very helpful to harry.
 
Blankets of snowflake vines from us to. ((((((((((((((((Jake)))))))))))))))))))))

chriscleo's post was good.
I would get him the pred, It will make him feel better even if things are bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top