6/29 Hep AMPS~209 PMPS~171

Status
Not open for further replies.

jan and Hep and sara (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good evening LL,
6/16 condo
Well Hep has been out in the house for a week now and it's going very well with my other pets. It was nip and tuck that first day or 2 I let him out of the room. My Beagle/Bassett mix got clocked in the snout. The dog Chucky was trying to smell this strange new kitty and Hep was a little scared everything being new and all. When he got him in the nose Chucky barred his teeth and it was a stand off. I was there and put a stop to it. Chucky's nose hardly bleed at all thank goodness. I immediately cut Hep's claws which he isn't fond of at all. I had to wrap him in a towel kitty burrito style but I was successful. I forgot to do that first. Now they sleep on the same bed etc. Hep also did a lot of hissing/growling at the other pets that first day. I separated him again that night. Didn't want anything happening while I was sleeping. Now things are very good. He and my cats aren't bonded at all but there is no fighting. It's been a busy week.

He had been on 2u bid at his previous owner. I started him over on 1u and I have reduced it to .5u bid. He was giving me double digits. Even had a 27. I had a suspicion he was on to much insulin before. He's doing great. Looks a little better. Three p's in place. He had been losing hair on his back legs and stomach and even that looks like it's starting to grow back.

Have a great weekend! :-D
 
I was wondering when we'd see another Hep condo! It sounds like the integration is going really well -- with the exception of the one swat on the nose.

I'm wondering if Hep could use a bit more insulin. He's been doing really well. You may want to hold this dose a bit longer but I'm guessing he's going to need a bit more.
 
I don't know. I see that 36 from last night. Are you going to take a doseshave or reduce the dose because of that?
 
Morning Jan ~O) ~O) ~O)

It's great to see a Hep condo. It sounds like he's doing great, and integrations is coming along. It is always a plus when they reach the no hissing phase and can accept one another. YAY!!! Wow too on the numbers - a 27? and a 36? Good idea on the reduction. I think he looks great. :cool: oh my on the claw trimming, burrito style. Probably a good idea though too, save a few noses... a few arms.... ;-)

Have a great day today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top