6/29, Frodo, amps 149, hypo during night

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth Ann and Frodo

Member Since 2015
Well, Frodo did it again: 4 cycles at a new lowered dose and he went hypo and needs another reduction.
We cut from 2.5 on 6/25; I cut to 2.0 for 2 cycles and then thought I should have gone with the protocol and cut to 2.25. So back on to 2.25, figuring I should be able to hold that for a few days. He was reading rather low (65) at pm time last night, so I reduced it to 2.0, figuring that would be a temporary cut. Big surprise at pm+3 last night: 38!! After only 4 cycles at 2.25 dose, and the "temporary" cut. (It could have been "not enough blood" for the meter, except that he read low -51- a couple hours later, after some hicarb.)
Needless to say, he got Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, and he's just fine.
I'm a little spooked, though. This kind of thing has happened before, recently. I think I've reduced the dose to one that should be safe for a few days, and his system decides that the dose is still too much insulin. Within a couple of days! A little difficult to stay on top of it. But good in that he must be producing more of his own insulin for this to happen.
 
Good catch last night. It can sometimes take a few days for the shed to drain when it is overfull. 2u looks good for now, but you may need to go up again. That's the dance.
 
Did Frodo show any symptoms of hypo last night? Or just the low number? Good catch by the way. Looks like his pancreas is starting to sputter.:D Frodo has shown that 2.25 is too much and the depot can last 4-6 cycles so that was likely what you were seeing. His spreadsheet is starting to look really good. :)
 
No symptoms other than he was quite hungry when he got the Gravy Lover's and ate in a hurry. He's been a little reluctant to feed since the infection 10+ days ago, and I'm hoping he will eat better now the antibiotic is finished. Last AB dose was last night, so any appetite effects should be ending. I really hope he hasn't developed an aversion to FF Classics.
 
The reason that Wendy asked about symptoms of hypoglycemia is that it's really not "hypo" if symptoms aren't present. That's not to say you shouldn't be cavalier about low numbers but, it's low numbers versus symptomatic hypoglycemia that's happening. When I saw the subject line of your post, it's immediately what I went to because symptomatic hypoglycemia is a medical emergency.
 
Highly recommend you get a +2 when you shoot green.

Also what Sienne said, my blood runs cold when I see the 'h' word and really what we have here is cause for celebration - go Frodo :D

Kitties can come down the dosing scale pretty quickly if they're on a mission so stay alert :)
 
Hi! Very nice numbers and a kitty who means business. Don't forget that Lantus is a "depot" insulin, so even if you worry about a low reading and therefore give a lower dose, the shed will still be at the higher level. It takes a few days for thing to even out whenever you change the dose.

Good job, Frodo. Keep your mamabean on her toes!

Ella & Rusty
 
Good catch on the low numbers! I'm glad all is well now with Frodo. He's lucky you were monitoring!

My only observation is that he hasn't bounced yet from the 38. That *might* suggest that he's been that low enough recently that his body is counting that as normal. He still might bounce - sometimes kitties have a delayed bounce. But it's something to just be aware of, not that you need to "do" anything. I'm just mentioning it.

Looks like he's doing really well - his ss is becoming downright lovely with all that green!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top