6/29 FCC amps 412, +3 317

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
Hi,

I am attempting to transition to TR today and will do more tests. I know I need to get some more in during the night. Are +3, +6, and +9 still the most important test times during his AM cycle?

If I only am able to test once per cycle (not including pre-shot) sometimes what would be the most important time to do so?

It is possible I will be gone for a few days this weekend and FCC will stay at home with my partner who is not as comfortable doing BG tests as I am. I will not go if it is an issue.

With feeding several small meals throughout the day how do I judge what is enough food at insulin time? I know I need to remove his bowl 2 hours before, but I never want to shoot when there's not enough in his belly.

Thank you.

ETA - is there a best time during his cycle for me to make his daily Post?

6/28 FCC general dosing question | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Last edited:
It’s good to post when you get the amps number. Cats typically onset at +2 so it’s good to get a test then. If it’s lower than the preshot but not by a lot and not lower than usual you can test around +4-6 if the +2 is lower than the preshot it means it might be an active cycle requiring more tests. If a lot higher just get a test around what might be nadir. The +2 is often like a crystal ball or clue to how close you will need to monitor. That being said my boy onset between +2 and +3.
 
It’s good to post when you get the amps number. Cats typically onset at +2 so it’s good to get a test then. If it’s lower than the preshot but not by a lot and not lower than usual you can test around +4-6 if the +2 is lower than the preshot it means it might be an active cycle requiring more tests. If a lot higher just get a test around what might be nadir. The +2 is often like a crystal ball or clue to how close you will need to monitor. That being said my boy onset between +2 and +3.

Thank you. It's helpful to know. I've looked at so many numbers and have also been very kindly supplied with breakdowns, but because I still don't really understand what his body is doing or how he will react I continue to be confused. I know a lot of this is just getting to know how insulin affects FCC and what his particular cycle looks like. It feels as though that will take some time and will have many hiccups along the way. I think I understand better now how valuable it is to understand his particular cycle (if I can).

I have been reading all the posts in that link and I think that I am still having a hard time with information overload. It is getting a little better as the panic subsides somewhat. I would never be able to do this without the support of people like you and all the others who are populating this forum.

Thank you for your patience. I am going to keep asking me questions. Sometimes they will probably be stupid and sometimes they will be things I should already know. It is frustrating to not absorb everything I am reading, but amazing all those things are available.

I am still struggling with what to do this weekend and think I will make a general post about it. I think I need a better understanding of the bigger picture and how things would be affected if I left FCC with my partner.

I really appreciate the time you have and are taking with me to help me understand what to do and why.
 
Back
Top