? 6/29 - Darwin: PMPS - 40??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tasha & Darwin

Member Since 2017
Not sure what to make of this?! Darwin has actually been feeling better than he has in a while today - he was just chasing a reflection from a dish (one of his favorite activities which he hasn't been doing), and has been more active this afternoon than in weeks. I'm not sure if I should believe this number?

He hasn't been eating as well as I would like because he is resisting my attempts to coax him into eating canned. I stopped trying yesterday because he was refusing to eat at all, and then last night and this morning I at least attempted a few kibbles of Young Again (which I am hoping to switch to), and he won't touch that either, so he only ate a very small amount of his normal kibble this morning.

He is eating his normal kibble right now - should I retest in 20 min?
 
We suggest not feeding and testing again in 20 minutes. Did you try a second strip to be sure it wasn't a wonky one? I just looked at his ss. Having just started insulin he's earned a reduction to 1.75. Feed him whatever he wants and skip the shot tonight.

I suspect he was started on too high a dose and might need a bigger reduction but let's see what happens.
 
We suggest not feeding and testing again in 20 minutes. Did you try a second strip to be sure it wasn't a wonky one? I just looked at his ss. Having just started insulin he's earned a reduction to 1.75. Feed him whatever he wants and skip the shot tonight.

I suspect he was started on too high a dose and might need a bigger reduction but let's see what happens.

I kind of panicked a bit, and just went ahead and fed him. I should have checked a second strip. He ate all of what I offered him, which was quite a big meal. I wonder if he was just hungry from refusing to eat much this morning?

I'll speak to my boss, and see what he thinks about it too.
 
I often panicked myself when that happened at first. In any case 40 is too low to shoot for anyone and especially the first few weeks. Still check again in 20 to see if it brought him up. Feed him his normal amount of food and keep posting his test results.
 
Last edited:
If you are feeding dry food, that means following the Start Low Go Slow method for dosing. SLGS suggests not giving insulin below 90. Even people following Tight Regulation don't shoot below 50. Congrats on the reduction down to 1.75 units.

Even though you aren't giving insulin tonight, I would still test him again to make sure he came up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top